User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 17th November 2019) with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Royal Exchange, Stourbridge Central, Stourbridge

77 Enville Street
Stourbridge
DY8 1XW

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Royal Exchange

Fine old terraced Batham's pub with a central alleyway with the bar off to the left and a small lounge with a fair amount of additional external seating further back as you emerge into the rear courtyard. Quite traditionally furnished in the front room but slightly smarter and more modern in the other (although the 'background' music here was a bit louder than I expected in such a place). Just the regular Bitter and Mild (£2.45) of course, but this is ample reward for the aficionados.

On 9th September 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Royal Exchange

An old style traditional pub with a public bar and rear lounge, both accessed from side doors via an open link corridor which also serves the toilets on the opposite side. We were in at around 6pm on Saturday and there wasn't a seat to be had, the atmosphere was lively and enjoyable. Various posters indicate the pub as a community hub, there is a vague Irish slant, I understand the landlord hails from Ireland, signs give distances to various towns over there.
A bit of a time warp with white stucco walls, artex and terrazzo style flooring, pewter tankards on hooks, banknotes on the ceiling beams and shelves of whiskey boxes, framed newspaper cuttings feature the pub and local characters. I spotted a nice old framed OS map of Victorian Stourbridge. A dartboard in a front recess looked unusable without a major furniture reshuffle.
Just Batham's Bitter and Mild on, the bitter was excellent, a fine drop indeed. Food looks to be limited to cobs and pork pies, a decent enough fix while drinking however I don't know if full meals are served at other times.
An excellent characterful proper pub. They don't make them like this anymore.

On 21st January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Royal Exchange

This was the only pub on my visit to the Stourbridge area that I had been to before, admittedly back in 1983 and once a few years before that.
I doubt that it has changed much since then although I don't remember the garden at the back. For me this one, the Vine at Brierley Hill and the Lamp at Dudley are the three classic Batham's pubs.
Unusually with this one the only entrance to the bars is from the central corridor. The public bar at the front seemed rammed so I opted for the quieter back bar. Batham's Mild or Best were on offer, I went for the Best (£2.55) which was in superb condition. Despite the choice in and around Stourbridge, I can't imagine coming here and not revisiting this one.

On 3rd August 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Royal Exchange

A typically painted exterior Batham's pub. We entered the main bar to the left, which was busy with an older locals crowd, all drinking Batham's bitter. Also to the rear was a separate lounge and bar area, which was only accessible from the courtyard. The manager has Irish roots, so there is lots of Irish memorabilia dotted around. I fancied a crusty cob, but unfortunately on this visit they were soft baps, where the tomato had ran into the bread and made them soggy. The barmaid advised me that the Mild wasn't at it's best and to stick to the bitter, which I thought was a nice touch.

On 9th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2903 recommendations about 2903 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Royal Exchange

This is a Victorian terraced Bathams house, with a patio area at the back. The exterior is in a split yellow and toffee kind of colour, with brown paintwork. The pub has a bay window with etched glass and entrance is via a central corridor that takes you to the patio area. The bar and lounge are off to the left.

The interior has a couple of rooms. The bar is first to the left. It is slightly L-shaped to accommodate the dart board at the end. It has cream artex and brown split walls, with a white ceiling and a reddish concrete floor. There is a brick chimney breast with a little furnace fire and red bench and stool seating. Strange bits of ephemera are dotted about, including bank notes from the world. The lounge is a little room at the back. It is in half white and half cream patterned paper, apart from one tartan wallpapered wall, with a white artex and fake beam ceiling and there is a red patterned carpet. There is a curious picture of a tiger on the wall. They do the usual pork pies. There isnt a TV and there was no background music. Service was fine and the clientele mature locals mainly.

Beer; usual tap stuff with Batham's Bitter and MILD on handpull, which was sublime.

A fantastic place and one to which I have already returned to. It was very crowded on my first visit and i caouldnt get into the bar, hence a return - strictly for research purposes of course!

On 2nd April 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about The Royal Exchange

This is a fantastic traditional local’s pub owned by Batham’s Brewery, it is part of a row of terraced houses which were built around 1850. The building has a central passageway which leads to a patio area, half way down the passage on the left is the door to the small public bar, this has a small bar counter across the left wall, red leather bench seats, brewery etched front window, dart board in the front left corner, various old paintings and maps on the walls and beams which have an extensive collection of foreign currency pinned to them. As you enter the patio area at the end of the passage there is a second room entered via the patio on the left, this is a small snug with a tiny brick counter served from the public bar, timber beams and only a couple of tables. The patio has half a dozen picnic tables and lots of potted plants.

Regular ales are Batham’s Bitter and Mild with the seasonal XXX on in the winter. Tried both regular ales but it’s a Batham’s pub so I shouldn’t have to tell you that the beer is well kept (GBG 2011).

Another brilliant traditional Batham’s pub, has a classic local working mans pub character to it. Pork pies and crusty cobs are available from the bar. Pub car park is on the opposite side of the road but it’s a short walk from the railway station and there is a bus stop outside. I’ve visited several times over the years and the beer is always spot on, a must if you’re in Stourbridge for any reason.

On 8th September 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Royal Exchange

Very small locals bar, its a basic beer drinking place, not really comfortable, but nice for quaffing Bathams.

On 28th March 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1267 recommendations about 1244 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve Thorpe left this review about The Royal Exchange

I made a visit on Saturday 29.08.10 and can confirm the pub is still as good as ever

On 30th August 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 130 recommendations about 126 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Peculiar left this review about The Royal Exchange

Bathams pub, large bar and small lounge. Decent sized beer garden. Well kept beer and a range of cobs with unusual fillings

On 13th March 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 92 recommendations about 87 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve Thorpe left this review about The Royal Exchange

And the Bathams Mild is superb! Be sure to make a visit, it;'s off the ring road just out of town - the number 293 bus from the bus station stops outside

On 23rd July 2007 - rating: 10
[User has posted 130 recommendations about 126 pubs]