User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

The Queens Head, Stourbridge

111 Enville Street
Stourbridge
DY8 3TQ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Delboy 20 left this review about The Queens Head

Nice BCA pub just outside Stourbridge with the usual wide range of beers on. Guests included Beowulf Wolf, Backyard Blonde, Oakham Citra and Salopian Shropshire Gold. The two we tried were fine. The only surprise to me is that we were the only customers!

On 18th April 2022 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1360 recommendations about 1287 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Queens Head

Follows the BCA blue print to the letter - even having three times as many hand pulls on as punters.

How do they keep the turnover.

Little really to say - its traditional, there's lots of beer, the prices are keen, there are nice snacks, the landlady is friendly and knowledgeable.

I chose well with my Burton Bridge Golden Delicious.

On 21st February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 968 recommendations about 960 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Queens Head

This pub is run by Black Country Ales with their familiar model of lots of ales, listed on a video screen behind the bar. There are 12 hand pumps, with two ciders and nine real ales at the time of my visit (see photos). When things go well in these pubs, it is superb: my half of the rarely seen Worthington White Shield was in excellent condition - only the second time I've had this beer on draught. My not very copious notes made at the time say, very economically, "proper pub". That was probably the beer talking, so I'll be back another time to do this one again, just to make sure, plus a few others on the road towards Wollaston and in the south-western suburbs of Stourbridge. Well, someone's got to do it.

On 17th February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3081 recommendations about 2897 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Queens Head

I had vaguely noticed that Black Country Ales had opened a pub in Stourbridge but hadn't realised that it was only a short distance from the Batham's Royal Exchange. It made it an obvious target when I came here for the annual Batham's XXX chase.
I got here around midday and it opened just as I finished taking pictures.
The friendly landlady told me that it was formerly known as the Queensbury. It's been well refurbished by the new owners and consists of an L shaped room with a wooden floor to the right and carpeted to the left. There is a dart board and TV (silent) to the right.
The twelve hand pumps had a couple of ciders, the three regular BCA ales and seven from just about anywhere. I went for Clouded Minds Luppol (£3.20), Intrepid Odin (£3.60) and Bluestone Hammerstone IPA (£3.30) all of which were first class. I liked this one a lot and would definitely return. It gets a strong 9.

On 11th December 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Queens Head

Now owned by Black Country Ales, the main room is warm and comfortable, carpeted one end and had two good log fires on the go. The bar is opposite on entering, twelve handpumps in a line with all the beers listed on a monitor above the bar back. Saturday offered Pig on the Wall plus BFG from Black Country, Broadoak Rum and Raisin (cider), Newbridge Solaris, Fixed Wheel Start Gun Stout, Driftwood Spars Blue Hills, Fixed Wheel Golden Bicycle, Exit 33 Mad Skills, Britt Brewery Brew Britannia and Bespoke Brewing Money Old Rope. one unclipped. None of these were vaguely familiar to any of our group so we dived in with lucky dips and all four chosen were spot on.
Regular seating at benches and standard chairs, pleasant background music, much from the 70s, this is the sort of place you could get very settled in for a good session.
There is outdoor seating to the rear side, not on this occasion as it was 2C outside and sleeting, beyond to the rear is a long narrow building available for hire either as a function room or a skittle alley.
The pub looks to be a community hub too and runs darts, crib and dominoes teams. The dartboard was busy on Saturday afternoon. We enjoyed our stay here, another great Stourbridge pub.

On 21st January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1694 recommendations about 1668 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Peculiar left this review about The Queens Head

Recently acquired and refurbished by Black Country Ales, the interior now seems very welcoming. Layout not changed from the previous descriptions, you are faced with twelve handpulls as you walk in, with a screen above the till showing what's on each pull along with a brief description, strength and price. Only a few in when I visited, had a pint of Fireside which tasted nice, if a bit flat towards the end.
Worth a visit if you're in the area.

On 27th July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 96 recommendations about 91 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Queens Head

This pub is a short distance from the Royal Exchange and out of the two pubs, this seems to be where the younger crowd congregates. The bar faces you as you enter, with a room to the left, which has a pool table. Jukebox music playing during our visit and lots of people drinking keg. There were two handpumps on the bar, dispensing Joules beers, but only one in operation. The pub was quite stuffy and needed a bit of ventilation, as there was the pungent smell of trouser coughs.

On 9th October 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Queens Head

An interesting, detached pub consisting of two buildings sitting slightly awkwardly next to each other. Formerly the Queensberry, the pub has a small beer patio to the side. The buildings are in white painted brick - the larger of the buildings is a cottage style pub; having a central entrance flanked by two bay windows, but also has a small Dutch gable on top. The smaller building is at a slight angle and protrudes showing they were never intended to be one property.

The interior has what is now a single room running through both buildings. The decor is cream and wood panel, with a wood floor and white ceiling - the place looks tidy. The smaller building has the games area, which has a pool table, dart board, a TV (which had the footy on) and the jukebox (playing varied music at a decent level). The main building is simply the bar room, with the serving bar facing you on entry. Several mirrors (Burton Ale) decorate the walls, but there are no real pictures. The service was fine and the clientele seemed to be locals. It was quite busy, we struggled for standing room.

Beer; usual tap stuff with both Banks's MILD and M&B MILD. There are three handpulls, one wasn't used, the others had Joules Slumbering Monk and Pale Ale on - but in fact, they weren't on - the Blonde was on instead, which was decent.

A decent enough little place, with different real ale to other places and pub games. I would visit again and enjoyed the stop off.

On 23rd February 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Anonymous User left this review about The Queensberry

The pub has now reverted to its previous and ubiquitous name of the Queens Head. The Queensberry took its name from the boxing gym at the back of the pub.

On 13th April 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 0 recommendations about 0 pubs]