User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Old Bulls Head Inn, Dudley

1 Redhall Road
Lower Gornal
Postal town: Dudley
DY3 2NU

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Old Bulls Head Inn

This pub was not originally on my agenda for the day but my route took me straight past it and as it was advertised as the Black Country Brewery Tap I took the immediate decision to scrap the visit to the Red Cow which involved a detour and come in here instead.
Inside it's a comfortable carpeted lounge bar with the bar facing and a TV screen showing footbore at the far end plus a dart board near the entrance.
I got the impression there was probably another room but didn't investigate.
On the bar there were eight hand pumps with one unused but to be fair the staff were working on the beer choice while I was there.
The beers available included the usual three Black Country ales, Pig on the Wall, BFG and Fireside, Sadler's Hop Bomb, Country Life Devonshire Piglet and a Hartshorn Porter. As it was the Brewery Tap I went for the BFG which was in very good condition. The main thing that put me off this place was the muzak which seemed to be made up of easy listening from the 1960s and awful Xmas tracks. I was almost tempted to ask them to turn up the TV!
Despite this it is the home of Black Country Ales and as such is definitely worth a visit.

On 15th December 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Old Bulls Head Inn

Nice old pub very traditionally decorated in brown tongue & groove with cream walls above, furnishing is traditional as well with benches and cast iron based tables, a couple of which have built in crib' boards. One end of the long front room is raised to provide space for darts, fruit machine, a big screen and occasional live music. There is another bar at the back with a pool table and and bench seating. A Black Country Ales pub (the brewery is behind the pub), there are four pulls in the front and three more in the back bar selling their range in excellent condition. Out the back is a posh shelter and the pub is home to a large soppy dog.

On 16th September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Old Bulls Head Inn

The Old Bulls Head is the tap of the Black Country Ales Brewery so it seemed rude not to pop in whilst visiting the Fountain over the road. This is a good sized single room pub with a bar that supports four or five hand pumps that were drawing BCA brews. Sky Sports is advertised, but the large plasma screen was airing a muted daytime antiques program during my late Friday afternoon visit a month ago.

It wasn’t very busy, but I enjoyed my fleeting visit and would have no problem returning.

On 2nd November 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3587 recommendations about 3566 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Old Bulls Head Inn

Very much a fleeting visit, unfortunately, so not much time to note much apart from the rather austere red-brick facade and four handpumps serving three 'house' Black Country Ales (with BFG in good form) plus a guest. Surprisingly quiet for an early evening, and (despite other positive reviews) I didn't find the atmosphere especially welcoming. However, having said that, I would certainly re-visit when next in the area.

On 31st October 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Old Bulls Head Inn

Andy's spot on when he says these Gornal people are spoilt rotten as this is another gem of a pub within spitting distance of the Fountain. This is a very welcoming and friendly pub, serving very well kept BCA's.

On 8th October 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Ven left this review about Old Bulls Head Inn

I can't add much to what Soup Dragon has said about the tap house for Black Country Ales.

This was my first visit. I found it comfortable and the gaffer was friendly. An added bonus is that it is just a two minute walk to the Fountain - spoilt rotten these Gornal people! I'd be more than happy to make a return visit .... or three.

On 28th November 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 240 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Old Bulls Head Inn

A great, large, detached brick build, with patio area and the brewery tap for the Black Country Ales. The Brewhouse still stands.

The interior has two rooms, a bar with a large screen TV and pool table and a lounge, mainly in white and wood panel - though there is a bit of salmon there too! There is also darts and when we have visited on Sundays, there seems to be a singer tuning up - we just happen to leave before they get on - not taking the mick there. There are a few pictures, most advertising the BCA drinks, but there is a collection of novelty tea-pots! service has always been fine, the clientele maturer based.

Beers; taps stuff ith the BCA handpulls of Fireside, Pig on the Wall MILD and BFG - there is always a guest on as well. The BFG was fine.

Always worth a visit, i always feel comfy here - another quality Gornal offering

On 22nd February 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gerald Scrivens left this review about Old Bulls Head Inn

A Bostin Black Country boozer. Wonderful down to earth brewery pub. An old 'drinkers' house where they still play darts and dominoes and have real ale and sandwiches. The 'home brewed' beers are to die for!! Also has live music on various nights.

On 1st May 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 47 recommendations about 45 pubs]