User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
PuG Tools with hondo on the Pub Forum

Lamp Tavern, Dudley

116 High Street
Dudley
DY1 1QT
Phone: 01384254129

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Lamp Tavern

Had a bit of a tour of Black Country pubs organised for me on my birthday. The Dry Dock was going to be checked out but is now flats. This was a mile on and when I saw it was a Bathams, they was no choice.

Beer - exceptional. If I remember right, it was £2.40 a pint.

A classic looking pub inside, all wooden partitions.

Friendly bar staff.

A great pub.

On 11th August 2017 - rating: 10
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Lamp Tavern

I didn't mind this pub and considering a couple of others on the way here it probably seems better than it is. That said it is a decent pub. Bathams beers are still to the fore and the pub is friendly enough. The walk out to it is just about worth it.

On 1st July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3419 recommendations about 3332 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Lamp Tavern

On my Saturday lunchtime visit it was quieter than the Vine a few miles away, but just as good a pub to visit. My previous two visits here many years ago were in the evening when it was pretty well rammed.
The Batham's best at £2.55 was superb and wasn't as sweet as I remembered from the past. The Mild was also on sale. This place and the Vine are museum pieces (in a good way) that are must visit pubs.

On 3rd March 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Lamp Tavern

This traditional Bathams pub had a good atmosphere on our early Friday evening visit. We sat on the left as you enter the pub and enjoyed the Bathams bitter. To my disappointment there was no mild on, still their bitter was top notch. Not to be missed when in Dudley.

On 9th September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3006 recommendations about 3006 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Lamp Tavern

Visited September 2009

The Lamp Tavern is a traditional two-roomed Bathams pub situated right at the very top of Dudley High Street. In fact the address is slightly confusing because you have to cross the busy main road where the High Street seems to end in order to reach the pub.

The public bar is U shaped and traditionally furnished, but with distinct drinking areas either side of the entrance. An impromptu sing - a - long had just got under way on the evening of my visit. At the back is a more sedate and comfortable lounge, which is pleasant enough, but seemed rather featureless to me. Further behind, accessed via a Batham's tiled corridor, is a music room, also used for functions. Unusually, there's also a cottage - The Lamp Cottage - which is available for Bed and Breakfast.

The Batham's Best Bitter - £ 2.15p again - was in good form here and tasted rather more distinctive than at the Bull and Bladder. The pub is a GBG regular.

It's well worth the steepish haul up the High Street to visit this pub.

On 14th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Lamp Tavern

A lovely little Batham’s yellow rendered cottage-styled pub and eatery, with black paintwork, leaded and etched windows, hanging baskets and a beer patio at the rear. It now has B&B accommodation in undressed brick behind the pub. The place has live music evenings and acoustic nights.

The interior has a couple of rooms for general use, served by a central serving bar, as well as a function room for hire. The lounge is an L-shaped room at the rear. It is in cream and ivory patterned wallpaper, with red carpet and seats, along with white and beamed ceiling. It is partially set-up for dining and has a couple of tiled fireplaces and old local photos on the walls. The bar is a U-shape with an entry corridor between the two wings. The décor is a yellow patterned wallpaper and wood panel with some brown salt glazed tiles in the corridor. There is a part exposed brick fireplace and a white ceiling. Again, old photos decorate. There is a dart board and a TV, which was showing motor racing. The service was OK and there was a mixed and busy clientele.

Beer; tap stuff with the usual and exceptional Batham’s MILD and Bitter.

A great pub, even if, perhaps not the best of the Batham’s pubs. A must if in Dudley.

On 17th May 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


an_ ecumenical_matter left this review about Lamp Tavern

Me mate had a bash here. Stayed the night. Smelly bogs,excellent Bathams,friendly staff but an overall air of disorganisation throughout. Would call if in the area but wouldn't go out of the way to visit.

On 10th January 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 38 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve Thorpe left this review about Lamp Tavern

Bathams pub offering both the Mild and Bitter. Well worth the walk from the town centre

On 31st December 2006 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 130 recommendations about 126 pubs]