User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Halifax Crawl - 21 June 2024 with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

The Waterfall, Cradley Heath

132 Waterfall Lane
Blackheath
Postal town: Cradley Heath
B64 6RG

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Waterfall

Nine years on! Recognised the place as soon as I clapped eyes on it. There’s been an overhaul inside though when it comes to décor – a horrible mint green colour, aligned with dim lighting which made for a muted atmosphere on a grey, drab December day. The two rooms inside remain; a lounge which is now primarily set for dining at the front and a public drinkers bar at the rear, showing some second-tier game between two teams nowhere near our region which everyone was ignoring. The whole place is tight and awkward to navigate, also incredibly draughty despite the coal fire, to the extent that I kept my coat on where I was sat. At the bar was a selection of Holdens and a guest in Bathams Bitter. Being an idiot I eschewed the Bathams in order to try what I assumed to be the Holdens Xmas beer “Noddy Holdens” which whilst fine on the condition front (NBB 3) was a yucky alkaline thing with as much Christmassy vibes as Noddy Holder’s Y Fronts. None of us really got much out of this place, feels like it’s drifting; I wouldn’t see the need to go out of my way to tick this one next time.

October 2012
Perched on a steep hill (glad I was on a bus!) with great views over the valley. This is a traditional local with a good selection of ales, mainly sourced from the locality and cheap to boot. There are nine in total, split between the two bars (so look for the blackboard before ordering!) with Holdens (who own the pub) having the biggest number. My Olde Swan Bumblehole was a bit middling but the Bathams Bitter was in majestic form and the Enville Ginger was a good drop too. Real cider was also available, unusual for the area. The interior is split into two rooms separated by a corridor that is home to a variety of interesting objects d’art. The front bar has a couple of ‘areas’ either side of the bar decorated in a loungey style with carpets, framed pictures, hanging jugs and proper fires. The rear room is more of a public bar which has a dartboard and a bar area festooned with old pump clips plus a lovely timepiece attached to the bar canopy. Basic food is offered and cobs are available for snacks. Really enjoyed this one, another ‘must-visit’ Black Country pub. Rated 9

On 30th December 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5239 recommendations about 5222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Bracey left this review about The Waterfall

Popped into this little Gem whilst having my break, it was like walking into another world, there is so much to see inside. The bar staff were friendly and chatty and made you welcome like you were a local. A very nice range of Beer and shelf drinks, and the Cobs have the thickest cuts of meats and cheese on them. Very clean and well laid out.
Since my 1st visit I have recommended so many of my friends to go and visit, and I will definitely be going back regularly.
PUT THIS PUB ON YOUR MUST VISIT LIST, YOU WONT REGRET IT.

On 3rd November 2020 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Waterfall

Very busy locals pub with a range of beers in 2 rooms with regulars from Holdens Bathams and Enville plus around 4 guest beers. We enjoyed our Jennings Cocker Hoop.

On 21st November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1339 recommendations about 1222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Waterfall

Popular pub on the side of a steep hill with great views over the Black Country.Modern decor with lots of bleached wood. Good selection of beers including ,Holdens , Bathams and other guests.

On 18th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Waterfall

A delightful pub on the way up Waterfall Lane from the Dudley Canal to Bleackheath.
The terrace at the front has benches where you can sit and enjoy a spectacular view across the black country as a group of cheery bikers were on our summer evening visit.
Once inside the front room appears to be dedicated to food so we adjourned to the back bar. This is a comfortable, traditional room decorated with various sporting memorabilia and equipment and served by the central bar. As so often in this part of the world, friendly and easy conversation is easy to come by usually starting with ale as the subject.
The welcome was warm and came from two friendly and attractive barmaids who advised knowledgeably on the beer.
Available on our visit was: Holden's Golden Glow, Bathams Bitter, Enville Ginger, Burton Bridge Skyfall, Kelham Island Pale Rider, Sarah Hughes Dark Ruby Mild and Derby Quint Essential. A very good selection across styles with a few stronger options and all that we tried was very good indeed.
A lovely, traditional pub which I'd very happily revisit.

On 8th July 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 680 recommendations about 679 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Waterfall

I didn't come here on a bus as they are infrequent so I was glad to break the journey up what seemed an interminable hill. As mentioned below, it's a friendly two bar Holden's local boozer.
The pub looks rather older than the surrounding buildings so I wonder if it was once a rural pub as it is not really in anywhere but stuck on the outskirts of at least three different West Midland suburbs. Unhelpfully the brewery list of their pubs links it with their Swan at Cradley Heath but they are a long way apart.
I didn't see all of the ten beers but there were four Holden's beers, Special, Golden Glow, Ay'It and Scary Face. Guests spotted were Batham's Best, Sarah Hughes Ruby Mild and Enville Ginger Ale. I went for the Holden's Special (£2.90) and Enville Ginger (£3.10) both of which were in good nick.
It's a shame that they can't find a place for the mild here, maybe there's not the demand for it in the more suburban areas.
Although not the easiest of places to get to this one is well worth the effort.

On 3rd November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Waterfall

First an admission - arrived here on a coach with frankly no idea exactly where in the Black Country conurbation the Waterfall is located (apart from being on a steep hill, which hardly helps...). However, leaving that aside, this Holdens house has just about everything one might hope to find in a proper pub. Solid but attractive frontage. Traditional two bar layout, with a comfortable lounge area to one side (albeit with a step up to catch the unwary). Lots of nic-nacs about the walls and ceilings. Some tasty food. Excellent selection of beers from local breweries, including a fine pint of Golden Glow (£2.63). Overall, now that I know where it is, I will try to return as soon as possible for a proper visit. Thoroughly recommended.

On 28th October 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 8164 recommendations about 8164 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Strongers . left this review about The Waterfall

The Waterfall is a Holden’s pub that I visited early on a recent Friday afternoon. There are two bars and in the rear bar there is a dartboard and a plasma screen that was turned off in favour of some crooner hits. I only wandered through the back bar as I spent my visit standing in the front bar where I enjoyed a nice pint of Holden’s. I counted nine hand pumps that, along with the Holden’s brews, were also drawing offerings from Bathams, Enville, Pardoes and some guests. The kitchen is open from midday until 14:00 and from 18:00 until 20:30 during the week, all day Saturday and from midday until 16:00 on Sundays.
This isn’t that biggest pub and the presence of 16 PubsGalore pub crawlers, along with the locals, gave a very cosy feel. There were no free tables so it was a bit of an effort to eat the curry and chips that had been laid on whilst I held my pint, but I persevered!
There is a small beer garden up a few steps out the back and to the left of the pub is a large car park.

I really enjoyed it in here and I find it depressing that I may never visit again as a crow would have to fly 260 miles from my front door to enjoy the atmosphere and friendly welcome that I witnessed.

On 18th October 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 5329 recommendations about 5297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Waterfall

I really enjoyed my visit here, as this is a proper traditional pub serving great beer and also good food. Three regular ales here and three guest, the Holdens Golden Glow was top class. I didn't count all the jugs and tankards hanging from the ceiling in the front lounge, but there was quite a few.

On 8th October 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3417 recommendations about 3417 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Waterfall

Situated halfway up a steep hill with fine views of the Lickey and Clent Hills and the Wrekin in the distance,this Holden's house has a sign outside advising that "every day is a beer festival" and this is spot on as their nine handpumps offer a wide selection of the best ales from the Black Country.Besides a selections of Holden's,there was Bathams Bitter,Olde Swan Bumblehole,Enville Ginger,Sarah Hughes Dark Ruby Mild,a guest from Burton Bridge and a real cider.
The two room layout was very authentic with a lounge at the front with a banquette around a real fireplace and a raised section to one side.The rear bar room around the corridor had a cosy atmosphere and there was a very warm welcome from behind the bar,with excellent chips and curry sauce for us pub crawlers.
Worth the steep walk up from the canal,I aim to return for a much longer stay next time I'm in the area.This is a pub not to miss.

On 6th October 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2775 recommendations about 2775 pubs]

Page: 1 2