User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with hondo on the Pub Forum

The Old Windmill, Coventry

Spon Street
Coventry
CV1 3BA
Phone: 02476251717

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Old Windmill

Superb pub in a historically important street.

Oozing its age inside and out - with the inside a very pleasant experience of individually panelled nooks and crannys.

Several real ales on - at least 5 - most with hand written signs. Hogsback TEA caused confusion as barstaff thought I wanted a cup of tea!

The sort of pub that is a living museum with plenty to explore.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2P0EwkX

On 1st October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 697 recommendations about 691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Old Windmill

A pub full of oldness comprising many small rooms, classic sort of place. Sadly rammed on the night I was there and with some pretty rude customers.

On 26th April 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Old Windmill

Lovely olde worlde pub close to the shopping centre down a street of medieval buildings overshadowed by the giant Ikea at the side!

Lots of lovely small rooms & tiny bar area, many beams to hit your head on.

Beautiful building serving 4 -5 real ales.

On 27th February 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Old Windmill

The interior of this pub has a labyrinth of rooms to choose from. The downside for me was there was only one local ale on out of 6 handpumps, which was a stout from Tunnel Brewery and on such a hot day it didn't interest me in the slightest. Had to settle on a Theakstons Old Peculiar, other choices were TT Landlord, Old Speckled Hen etc.

On 18th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Old Windmill Inn

The Old Windmill is a wonderful multi roomed pub on the historic Spon Street and is thought to date back to the 1580’s.You enter into a flagstone corridor, from which a number of rooms can be accessed and which eventually reaches the bar area. The bar was originally located in what is now a snug at the front of the pub and it’s intriguing to learn that the area between the current bar and the toilets was, until the 1980’s, a central open courtyard. There are rooms to suit all moods, from the lively bar area buzzing with a mix of locals, tourists and ale lovers, to the dark, almost mysterious front snug with its pleasant fireplace and range. The rooms on the right hand side of the pub are interconnected and the largest seating area can be found on this side, opposite the bar. The majority of customers were sat in here around the impressive central fireplace. There is a brightly lit room at the front left, which is carpeted with some nice wall panels, a lit fire and a tiny serving hatch. At the back of the pub is the room known as the brew house which is quite well hidden and still has some brewing equipment on display. Music was playing at a fairly loud volume which distracted from the traditional feel of the place a bit, but in the busier, noisier rooms it wasn’t too intrusive.
On the bar there was a choice of Wytchwood Hobgoblin, Oakham JHB, Morland Old Speckled Hen, Greene King Abbot Ale, Sharps Doom Bar, Taylor Landlord and Theakston Old Peculiar. I plumped for a pint of the Old Peculiar which was absolutely spot on and a timely reminder of what an excellent beer this can be. A lone barmaid coped well with a steady stream of customers and service remained prompt and friendly.
If you’re visiting Coventry, it’s worth having a wander down Spon Street to have a look at the lovely old buildings that give you a sense of what the city must have looked like before the war. The Old Windmill is a survivor and you’d be doing the city a disservice if you didn’t go and check it out.

On 18th October 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Old Windmill Inn

Nice old-fashioned pub than somehow survived the war damage and subsequent city rebuilding. The layout comprises a number of small rooms with traditional furniture and decor. Six of the seven handpumps were in operation, offering Hobgoblin, Doom Bar, Old Speckled Hen, Old Peculier, TT Landlord and GK Sun dance (£2.90). Overall, well worth a visit. (NB - Review dates from October 2011.)

On 24th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Old Windmill Inn

Located on ‘Medieval Spon Street’ as the tourist literature and signage likes to call it, along with a number of other pubs and bars, this is a GBG-listed traditional pub with quite a bit of character. There are a number of small rooms off the central corridor which leads into the larger main bar area (check out the leaded windows in the ceiling), to the right rear of which is another small room though this was full of pub clutter. The large seat at the rear of the main bar is either ex of a Hansom cab or has been well-made to look like one and I was pleased to plonk myself down here with my beer. Ale-wise, it was a fairly safe selection given there were seven handpulls. I went for Theakstons OP first which was a bit flat (end of the barrel?) followed by TT Landlord which was a lot better. Prices here felt a little higher than the other Cov pubs I did that day. The staff and clientèle during my flying visit were quite a rock/alt crowd which probably accounted for the enjoyably eclectic music being played, though they didn’t strike me as being overly friendly. There was also a large real fire on the go, which made for a nice touch on a wet and gloomy evening. I was also quite taken with faux-Medieval seat covers found on the banquette seating by the fire. Oddly the toilets were exceptionally clean, bar some weird hairy black mould flourishing all over the pipe work. Unless this is a Goth’s science experiment, why not wipe it off, given that the rest of it was all done to a high standard? Weird.

Whilst I found the ambience at the Town Wall Tavern better and the ale selection at the Whitefriars superior, this is still a worthy visit and isn’t a million lies away from the train station.

On 24th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Old Windmill Inn

As a building. BF's use of the word 'gem' is more than fitting for this timber framed and now white rendered pub that is in the GBG 2010. Once detached it is now sort of an end terraced build and has been extended at the back to incorporate the former brewhouse into the pub itself - see Gill's pictures.

The interior has a central corridor with snugs off to either side. Half way down, on the left is the serving bar and the room opens out into what was the brewhouse. The decor in the snugs is fine old wood panel. We sat in the first on the left which has a small tiled fireplace and a white ceiling, the one to the right had a red/black chessboard floor and also had a white and wood beam ceiling. There was another little area with a settle in it as well before the bar area. The service was fine, there was no TV that i saw and the background music was quiet. The clientele was small, which surprised me. There was some brass ephemera dotted about as well.

Beer; tap stuff with Sharpe's Doombar, Timothy Taylor Landlord, Timothy Taylor Golden Best, Wychwood Hobgoblin, Spekky Hen, UBU Purity, Theakston's Old Peculiar and a decent Greene King Mild on handpull

A lovely building and, as BF says, despite a lack of microbrewery offerings, i could stay in here all day assuming someone would help me find the station to get home. A delight.

On 12th December 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Old Windmill Inn

This is a real gem and a must visit on any tour of Cov.Wonderful Elizabethan interior with low ceilings and several seperate rooms and alcoves.To the left of the front door is a room with a tiny bar access,real fireplace and three tables with chairs where a book share and review scheme operates.On the otherside of the corridor is an alcove space for one table and chairs and a passage way to another small room looking out over Spon Street.The bar has two sections with a total of 7 handpumps with a "lounge "area with muzak speakers(rock orientated) which are mercifully absent from the rest of the interior,making conversation possible.Towards the back as Gill describes is a former brew house with settles.The ale on my visit was Purity Gold,Hobgoblin,TT Landlord,Doom Bar,Cottage Full Steam Ahead,Old Peculiar and Old Speckled Hen,so limited microbrewery offerings and a selection dominated by nationally avaliable beers but no problem with the ale quality on my visit .Food seved lunchtime Wed to Sat but the focus here is on wet sales,popular with pub crawlers.The beautiful interior mercifully spared by the Luftwaffe is worth spending some time in.

On 9th August 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Old Windmill Inn

Just added some photos taken on my April 2007 visit to this Good Beer Guide pub that is still in the 2010 edition. Lots of intersting drinking areas, including a room that has incorporated an old brew house. Good ales served too.

On 9th July 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]