User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 31st May 2020) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Greyhound Inn, Alderman's Green, Coventry

Sutton Stop
Longford
Coventry
CV6 6DF
Phone: 02476363046

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve of N21 left this review about The Greyhound Inn

We diverted here from the M6 for a lunchtime stop on our way to Shrewsbury and it did not disappoint. Unchanged from Pubsignman’s review some seven years ago this is a splendid pub.
We managed to get a table in the first room on the bar side, mainly because most other people were in the well appointed restaurant room to the left which was full. But for a couple of sandwiches we preferred the bar side anyway which has true pub character compared to the separate dining room.
Four ales on in the shape of Bass, GK Abbott, Sharps Sunset Red and Arkells Big Hit.
I went for the Bass first and a fine pint it was.
Good knowledgeable and friendly service levels were experienced and when I returned to the bar and asked the guvnor what the Sunset Red was like, the reply was that he found it disappointingly thin and provided a taster. He was absolutely right so I went for the Big Hit instead.
This plus a couple of top notch thick cut sandwiches made this a very pleasant journey stopover and i whole heartily recommend the Greyhound if you find yourself in the area.

On 23rd October 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Greyhound Inn

Perfect pub - found at the end of the Coventry Canal Art Trail.

Former canal cottages knocked together. Inside - packed solid - difficult to move around and get to the bar and toilet. Plenty of staff on, so queue's not too bad.
Low ceiling with plenty of pub paraphernalia. Outdoor seating available to admire the busy canal junction with plenty of architecture.

Beerise, I saw Black Sheep and went for that. Served in a Bass Glass, so may have missed that. Excellent pint - in GBG 2019 - and the food was even better.

Excellent experience.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2y2xkxw

On 1st October 2018 - rating: 10
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound is a lovely Grade II listed building in a picturesque location on the Coventry canal, near Hawksbury Junction. The pub is rightly popular with the boating community, but on my visit it was full of football supporters who can enjoy a 20-25 minute walk along the canal to get from the pub to Coventry City’s Ricoh Arena. It’s also very easy to reach by car from Junction 3 of the M6, should you fancy breaking your journey, although you would never guess this from the peaceful setting.
The pub has a nice rural, traditional feel to it and retains some interesting features such as the brick fireplace that serves two parts of the pub. The interior wraps itself around three sides of the servery, with the fourth side in the adjacent dining room. The front of the pub has tile flooring, half paneled walls and a fair amount of exposed brickwork, with some high backed settles along the front wall punctuated only by a small bookcase. As the room curves around the servery towards the rear of the building, you pass a small, cosy booth on the right hand side. The rear of the room is in a similar style to the front, with long banquettes and a few small tables. The décor incorporates a lot of brewerania including a number of old enamel brewery advertisements. There is also an inevitable boating theme, with a life ring, oar and steering arm all visible from where I was sat. They were also selling hand painted canal stools bearing an image of the pub. In the rear section there was a TV screen showing the Grand Prix to a couple of customers and the radio was playing throughout my stay at a reasonable level. I didn’t explore the dining room, although it’s suffice to say that it was packed by lunchtime and I noticed a few people were taking advantage of the bright weather to sit on one of the many benches outside the front of the pub. Food is served all day, including hearty breakfasts from 10am on Saturdays and Sundays. I tried one of their baguettes with side salad and some crisps, which cost £5.50 and must be the largest, most well filled baguette I’ve ever encountered.
Beer wise, there were four ales available – Bass, Marston’s Pedigree, Theakston Mild and Burton Bridge Damson Porter (£3.10). I managed to sink several pints of the latter which turned out to be a very drinkable and moreish. The barman who served me was very friendly and remembered what I was drinking, despite the pub being very busy.
I knew almost the moment that I walked into this pub that I was going to enjoy my visit and nothing in the intervening hours that I spent here changed that feeling. This is a lovely, welcoming pub of the kind you always hope you will stumble across and it is well worth making the effort to get here.

On 18th October 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2446 recommendations about 2446 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ga Andrews left this review about The Greyhound Inn

13th September 2012, This is a great pub to head to via the canal. It is very welcoming and what a proper pub should be. They had Pedigree and Bass (which my Dad seems to think is rare thing, well for us southerners!) Mellow Yellow, a very bitter beer, Rugby Victorious,a great thirst quencher, Theakston Mild and a chocolate stout that sadly ran out on our visit.
It was very busy for a Thursday afternoon, we enjoyed a great lunch of Spag bol jacket potatoe, a really good steak baguette and a local ham sandwich, which was very thick handcut slice. All for either side of £5. The plougmans on offer sounded huge for £6, you would get cheese, ham, pork pie, pickled egg and crusty local bread! Shame we had to head back to the canal boat, could have stayed there all afternoon.

On 29th September 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 64 recommendations about 58 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound is a well situated pub on the Coventry Canal overlooking Hawkesbury Junction with plenty of benches outside to sit and watch the boats go by.
It's also, and deservedly, a long time GBG listed pub and has achieved a number of local CAMRA awards.
Externally the pub fits in with the historic canalside location in traditional black and white paint scheme. Inside, there's a seperate restaurant area to the left with all the tables laid out for dining while the bar area wraps around a central bar with lots of higgledy piggledy tables and a real fire which serves both the left and right of the bar area. The whole feels cosily cluttered and will appeal to those interested in historic pub interiors.
The restaurant menu is extensive and ranges from 3 course meals to light snacks. Our main courses were substantial and decent quality and the restaurant was reasonably busy even on a cold Tuesday evening.
The bar was also busy and we struggled to find a seat. Beers offered were the regular Bass and Pedigree along with Theakstons Mild, Church End Low Rider and Byatt's Regal Gold. The latter two are local and it's worth being observant as the Regal Blonde handpump was hidden in the restaurant with the only indication it was available in the bar being a pump clip on one of the bar beams. Both the Bass and the Regal Blonde were in very good nick.
A friendly, traditional and picturesque pub serving good ale and decent food. I'd recommend it.

On 9th April 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Greyhound Inn

Excellent old canalside pub on the outskirts of Coventry, everything you would expect, tiled floor, bare brick walls, occasional beams, horse brasses, real fire.

Not over comfortable, but there are cushioned benches and the whole experience makes it comfortable enough and warm.

Friendly service, the choice and quality of the real ales is superb.

On 4th April 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Greyhound Inn

Very friendly and historic canalside pub with a good selection of real ale including Highgate Dark Mild,London Pride ,Ped and on my visit a golden ale from Sadlers which went down a treat.Attractive interior with a lounge now given over to diners and a bar which wraps around a central serving area.Good views over Hawkesbury Junction where boats make the tricky turn from the Coventry Canal to the stop lock at the start of the Oxford Canal.Much chortling if a boater cocks it up.Food looked good with a large variety but didnt try it due to concentration on a liquid lunch.

On 8th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ga Andrews left this review about The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound- Freehouse
Gem of a pub, highly recommended by other boaters for its food and ambience. The pub sits nicely on Hawkesbury canal junction. Described as being decorated with canal and rugby memorabilia, with an immense collection of Toby jugs, in my canal guide, I have to say I was disappointed, I could only see a few pictures of recent rugby achievements, and no Toby jugs. This could be because it was a very busy pub, with lots of people in it and also the food was served in another room which I didn’t go into. Food wise I recommend that you book a table in advance. There was however lots of interesting knick knacks.
Great Real ales served including Dark Mild, Pedigree, Cobliegh’s ‘Buzzard’ and Dr Morton’s Snake Oil’.
This pub is about a 15 minute walk from bridge 4 on the canal towpath, I’m sure there is a shorter route via the main road! 22/09/09

On 4th October 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 64 recommendations about 58 pubs]