User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore 10th Anniversary Crawl with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Vine, Brierley Hill

Delph Road
Brierley Hill
DY5 2TN

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Vine

I always wanted to visit this pub after reading about it in an Out in Brum magazine. It defo lived up to my expections from the Victoria interior and the superb Bathams Mild and Bitter. An absolute must visit in the Black Country.

On 8th October 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Vine

The Vine (AKA The Bull and Bladder) has a special place in my heart as this was the pub at which I first discovered real ale as a fresh faced student in 1975.On my first trip I turned immediate right into the Public Bar,and on exclaiming how great the beer tasted the locals warmed to this invasion of their space by callow youths.Nothing has changed in the intervening years,the Public Bar still has the single strip fluorescent tube ,a gaggle of friendly locals most now considerably younger than myself,and some of the best ale around.
Take a look around the interior, unspoiled by progress and a fine example of it's kind.
An institution in which I would be happy to be incarcerated.

On 18th July 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2068 recommendations about 2068 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Vine

The fantastic Bathams brewery tap is an unreconstructed Victorian 'corridor' pub.
I didn't venture from the front bar which was full, atmospheric and traditional.
Just the Bathams Bitter and Mild on but no more was needed and accompanied by quality scratchings this was a satisfying lunchtime stop.
An absolute must visit.

On 18th July 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Vine Inn

The famous Bathams brewery tap with the Shakespearean inscription “Blessing of your heart – You brew good ale” running along the top. A cream coloured building with a central corridor leading to two rooms to the left and two bars to the right, further on are more rooms in what appears to have been an outdoor yard at one time. Apparently these rear rooms were once the brewery offices. The corridor is decorated with tiles showing the brewery symbol of a bull's head. On entering the main front bar all eyes turned briefly on the stranger who ordered a pint of mild and a pork pie, excellent value at £2.95 for both. Excellent quality too, of both beer and pie. Décor is plain old pub with traditional brown furniture, a bit rough round the edges perhaps but lived in and the pub was busy with happy punters in spite of it being a cold wet night.

On 16th December 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2277 recommendations about 2108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Vine Inn

An institution in its own right, the pub is a lot larger than the picture shows. It is a detached Victorian brick building, in half French mustard colour and half lighter colour (too dark to tell), with fantastic painted signing.

The interior is a nesting of four rooms, two either side of the central red tiled and cream passage that leads out to a patio area. The rooms were decored differently, but i only popped my head around the door in all but the main bar - i did not a dart board in one room. The bar is in white and brown. It has various pictures and ephemera on the walls, from newspaper clippings to photographs. There is coloured glass and a nice wood bar. The service was fine, perhaps as i wasn't in a Wolves shirt (big Baggies flag on display) and the clientele mixed, friendly and lots of them! Had a pork pie, which was class, to accompany my beer.

Beer; tap stuff, with the superb Bathams Bitter and MILD on handpull.

I could stay here all day, it is an excellent place and a GBG fixture. It is the brewery tap for Bathams. A must visit.

On 2nd December 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Vine Inn

On 24th November 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Anonymous User left this review about The Vine Inn

Another bostin Black Country pub! Always busy.

On 15th April 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 0 recommendations about 0 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


William Harrison left this review about The Vine Inn

Yes. A must. If you can see The Corn Exchange across the road, keep on the side of the street you're on and come here. Don't wear a Wolves shirt though - there's generally an Albion flag flying from the roof.

On 28th October 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 29 recommendations about 29 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Horton left this review about The Vine Inn

AKA 'The Bull & Bladder', a local institution. Very popular, good beer - it should be as it's brewed next door. Basic if not to say simple fayre. 4 rooms (the bar, at the front of the building, the lounge, at the rear: and 2 side rooms). Car park on the other side of a very busy road so great care needed when leaving. Near to the monsterous Merry Hill Centre. The XXX special Xmas ale brewed just in November is superb, very strong & dangerously drinkable.

On 14th July 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 148 recommendations about 148 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Peculiar left this review about The Vine Inn

Batham's brewery tap, serving mild, bitter and lagers. Popular pub, busy at lunchtimes with food served and with drinkers in the evening

On 21st June 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 92 recommendations about 87 pubs]

Page: 1 2