User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Reviewing milestone with Delboy20 on the Pub Forum

Yard Of Ale, Birmingham

134 New Street
Birmingham
B2 4NP

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Owen O'Neill left this review about Yard Of Ale

The interior is very dated and horrible by current standards, but I would hate to see it change, because as people have said it serves as reminder for the horrific events during the troubles.

On a brighter note if you arrive early for a film at the Odeon next door but one it's super to drop in for a quickie.

On 11th July 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 11 recommendations about 11 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Yard Of Ale

Undergorund pub in central Birmingham, there are lots of fake black beams here, but I think it works is is a little different to the other pubs in the City Centre. Comfortable and usually 3 real ales on its worth a try. If the beer quality and choice continues to improve it could end up a very good pub.

On 5th May 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Taylor left this review about Yard Of Ale

I used go in there in my younger days. Underground pub and best remembered for events in 1974. Gets very cramped and you may experience long waiting service for your order. Definitely not for faint heartened and wheelchairs users. The reason I stopped going there is I grew tired of waiting for my turn and far too cramped.

On 4th February 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 75 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Yard Of Ale

Underground pub, with fakey beams etc, accessed by a flight of stairs from New St. and useful for a quick stop off before the train. A visit will make you appreciate the horror of 1974.

Used to pop in a fair bit - even had a work leaving do here once, but they took the MILD out and i couldnt be bothered anymore. A first visit in a while saw a few real ales on, one of which was a stronger MILD, Merrie Monk, which was decent enough. I think it may reappear on the stop off list again.

On 10th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Yard Of Ale

Somewhat shabby cellar bar within the main pedestrianised area. Fake beams, worn carpet, slightly musty smell. Could have been used as a set for “Life On Mars?” Has 6 handpumps but only 4 were on. These were Brakspear Oxford Gold, Ringwood Seventy Eight, Marston's Merrie Monk and Wychwood Rye Smile. I had a pint of the Merrie Monk, it wasn't very good, not bad enough to be sent back, but it was getting close. Another negative was that there were 3 guys stood at the bar all a bit pissed and one of them just wouldn't stop swearing despite a large number of females present. Having someone loudly shout “You F**king C**t” every couple of minutes is really not needed. I can think of lots of other places to stop off on my way to the station, so I don't think I'll be bothering with this one again.

On 9th July 2009 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2862 recommendations about 2782 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Horton left this review about Yard Of Ale

City centre basement pub on New St. Became famous for all the wrong reasons in 1970's when known as 'The Tavern in the Town'. Not a very nice place then and it hasn't changed.

On 14th July 2008 - rating: 2
[User has posted 148 recommendations about 148 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Yard Of Ale

An underground pub in the bustle of New Street near the train station. Don't be fooled by the name, they don't serve any ale never mind yards of it, it's all keg. Nice looking bar though that concentrates quite heavily on food. They advertise live sports on Sky and there are about 6-8 TV screens dotted around so you should always be able to see one. They could probably do with having the ability to split coverage between two channels though, we went in to watch the Eng v West Indies cricket and every screen was showing Aus v SA tri-nations rugby. Not one to make a special visit for but handy for the train station.

On 8th December 2007 - rating: 5
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Yard Of Ale

Situated in the basement of a rather dull modern shop and office block, it is easy to walk past. The interior is a decent enough attempt to recreate a Ye Olde Worlde pub using black gnarled beams and pillars that are either very good reproductions or salvaged from some other now demolished building of considerable age. They work well against the white walls and the modern brickwork also blends in to good effect. Despite the attempts at tradition, they fall a bit short of the mark when it comes to actual delivery. No Real Ales on offer and not even a token Yard of Ale glass on display. There are multiple screens for footie watching and various fruit / quiz machines are dotted about. I have certainly experienced far worse places and with its snugs and well planned layout, it is actually quite cosy. With a few proper beers this could be a fairly decent pub and given the apparent lack of competition in the immediate area, the place is certainly worth knowing about. One sad fact is that in 1974 when it was known as the Tavern In The Town, it was a target for IRA bombers and 11 people lost their lives here. Have a pint for them.

On 12th December 2006 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]