User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

White Horse, Birmingham

2 York Street
Harborne
Postal town: Birmingham
B17 0HG

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about White Horse

Excellent Ostler's real ale pub just off the High Street, with a traditional two-room interior and a front patio terrace. You enter the main bar, with further seating at the back, but there is also a compact lounge off to the left. With seven cask beers and a cider from the two banks of four handpumps on the main counter, and another from one of the seven on the bar-back round the corner, the choice was tempting. However, I went for the 'house' Terry's Gold (£3.20), brewed out the back of the kitchen somewhere.

On 23rd November 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about White Horse

Probably still the best pub in Harborne. Certainly the best ale choice although for some reason I didn't note them on my last visit. I have never had a bad drink in here and I always call in when I am in the area. Well worth a visit.

On 16th April 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1049 recommendations about 1010 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The White Horse

A cracking little pub just off the main Harborne drag. A 2 roomed pub with the main room L-shaped and a snug to the left. 12 handpumps in total with 2 banks of 4 in the main room and 4 in the snug. There were 6 ales and a cider available today. There is a telly at either end of the servery telling you what ales are available. Wooden floored throughout and there was no smell of bleach today.

On 27th January 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The White Horse

Hey cleaner leave those floors alone! I was quite looking forward to my visit here, but unfortunately when entering the pub at about 4.30 all as I got was the smell of strong bleach. I even went in the snug to escape it. I tried a couple of ales but the smell was tainting my taste buds, so had to bail out. I tried the Church End Grave Digger and Pardoes Original which were very well kept. They also have a ships cat like the Welly, didn't catch it's name though. Will call again on a dirtier day.

On 2nd November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about The White Horse

This is an excellent free house dating from 1861 which has retained the feel of a traditional local’s pub, the interior has two rooms, a large public bar on the right and a small snug on the left. On entering the pub you will first see the public bar which stretches from the front to the back of the building, it has a bar counter along the left hand wall, timber beams, an electric fire at the back with a large flat screen TV above and a second TV on the back left wall, both were showing football. Above the bar was another flat screen TV which was displaying a list of the beers that were on with their strengths and colour. The small snug has a tiny bar counter in the back right hand corner which links to the other counter in the public bar, there were only three tables and fabric bench seating, on the walls were old photos of the area and several modern paintings by a local artist which were for sale. At the front of the pub is a patio area with a couple of picnic style tables. In the snug was one of the pubs three resident cats who was curled up asleep on a chair, so have a good look before you sit down anywhere in this pub!

Regular ales are Green King IPA, Abbot Ale and Wells Bombardier with up to seven changing guest beers and a cider. Some of the guests on my visit were Sharps Doom Bar, ABC Aston Mild, Arkell’s Summer Ale, Two Towers Birmingham Special Ale and Beowulf Dragon Smoke Stout (Cask Marque and GBG 2011). I made a comment to the barman about the wide selection of beers available and he informed me that they try to always have a guest Mild and Stout or Porter.

A great real ale pub with traditional décor and character, the electric fire and modern paintings were a little out of place but I think the paintings were being sold to help a charity which is obviously very commendable. I haven’t had the opportunity to visit Harborne before but this is the first pub I would choose to go to if I were to visit again as I liked the building and the beer range was interesting and well kept.

On 14th February 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The White Horse

A very traditional pub just off the high street, its has not been updated or spoilt inside, the two rooms have been knocked into one and surround the central bar.

There is a flat screen TV showing the 9 different real ales, ala The Wellington in Birmingham City Centre. The best beer quality I tried in Harborne, though the service was miserable!

On 14th June 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The White Horse

A nice little cottage styled white rendered detached pub, with small patio, just off the High St

The interior has two rooms, a small lounge and a long bar, which opens up into a seating area with a fake fireplace! The decor is brown, white and a toffee colour, with mainly wood floor. There is a mix of some strange arty pictures and some old photos and memorabilia. There is Sky TV in the wood panelled seating area. The music was mixed and at a decent level, the service was good, the clientele a little more to the mature side.

Beer; tap stuff and 12 real ale handpulls(incl a cider or two). There is a screen with all the beers on graded according to colour, like the Wellington in Brum. Also like the Wellington, it isnt that cheap. The Holden's Golden Glow was excellent mind you.

The best of the Harborne pubs - i agree, though there is some competition. I have already returned since writing this report. A must.

On 26th February 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Taylor left this review about The White Horse

Easily the best pub in whole of Harborne. Wonderful small pub but dont let size of pub turn you down. Around 8 real ales on sale. No Carling or usual bitter brands. They have resident cat walking around, will not stop miaow at you until you gave the cat a food. I had pint of Hanson's Porter which is OUTSTANDING!Friendly people nodding or saying "All right?" as I walked in and I felt at home already.

Truly brilliant pub and deffo will return.

On 4th February 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 75 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Des McGarr left this review about The White Horse

Became a free house in September 2009. Now serving typically 10, up to 12 real ales. Early days, but looking very promising. Well worth a visit.

On 29th November 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Horton left this review about The White Horse

Good basic pub just off Harborne High St. 3 or 4 good quality real ales in sparsely furnished house. Frequented by savvy students at Birmingham University. This is my pub of choice whenever in the area. Parking nearby in council car park. Just off main bus route out of Birmingham to Harborne.

On 14th July 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 148 recommendations about 148 pubs]