User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How much? with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Railway, Birmingham Central, Birmingham

Hill Street
Birmingham
B5 4AH
Phone: 01216437167

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Oak Tree (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Railway

I am pretty sure when i went in this pub in the mid 80s it was called Sam Wellers.
Once inside the bar faces in a decent sized oblong shaped room which runs the width of the pub,the floor is carpeted and there is comfy bench seating and chairs for seating.
There were two real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Doom Bar,which was a decent drink,the other real ale was GK IPA.
I thought this was a pleasant and comfortable pub to have a drink in.

Recent visit 15/7/2017

On 27th October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Railway

Fairly standard pub. It does sell real ale but only one was one today, Lion. While its not brilliant its ok of an afternoon. Only the front bar was serving in the afternoon.

On 30th September 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3325 recommendations about 3244 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Railway

Large split level interior that wraps round the bar. 2 real ales and food served.

On 28th July 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2576 recommendations about 2520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Railway

Formerly the very unappealing Bright House, but the Cask Marque sign finally tempted me back in again. The furniture in the two large bars and intermediate seating area on different levels seems much the same, but a separate area on the Hill Street side looks to have been brightened up a bit. Background music, and a much less edgy atmosphere than I remember from days gone by. Now does food, albeit from a standard unbranded M&B (Oak Tree) menu, and real ale, again just Greene King IPA (£2.25) and Landlord, but all rather better than it once was.

On 17th January 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5622 recommendations about 5622 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Railway

This is a 1960s redevelopment pub, sitting under a casino, and built on the site of a Victorian pub called the Acorn. It is brick and glass, and fairly dull. Formerly the Bright House, those of us that come of age in the 80s remember this far better as Sam Wellers - indeed, i spent some of my formative years here; being turned down by many a lady with shoulder pads and big hair. Anyhow - it hasn't really changed in design. As you enter, there are seating areas to the left and right, with the serving bar to the right. As you follow the room around, you go up a couple of steps to find a couple of pool tables, but where once the young gathered to listen to the resident DJ on weekends - and it was nostalgic to see the DJ booth was still there. This area has its own serving bar area too. There are TVs, which were showing sport and the music was general and at a decent level. The place now does food - a basic budget menu. The decor is brown flowery wallpaper and coffee walls and there are lots of photos and 30s railway posters on the walls as befitting the theme. The service was fine and the place busy enough with a mixed clientele. Beer; usual tap stuff with Greene King IPA and a decent enough Moles' Molecatcher on handpull. A lot more tidy since the refurbishment and a place to pop into for one, especially as you can see through the window what is on as you pass.

On 27th November 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Railway

Walked past this pub on many occasion with the impression of it being a tad on the downmarket side, so once through the doors on this visit, I was pleasantly surprised. The pub is large and comfortable and had a good relaxed atmosphere about it, so I believe they're doing something right. What with John Lewis moving in across the road and the New Street station refurb, this pub is defo on the up. We went for the Moles Brewery Mole Catcher. Staff were very friendly.

On 18th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Bright House

Called into The Railway as it is now known as the sign outside said "eclectic real ales" and I had never been before, and it was massive inside. I went in from John Bright Street entrance and the Hill Street entrance was downstairs. It is massive inside, with 2 pool tables, music was playing and there were sports TV's. Food menu. The real ale we tried was from Sunny Republic and served well enough. Bombardier and another ale on too.

On 4th August 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1293 recommendations about 1183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Bright House

Update June 2013:- Now rebranded 'The Railway' following the first stage of the New Street Station revamp and the opeing of the Southside entrance to the railway station almost opposite.

It still has the feel of being down a bit of a back street as the redevelopment opposite continues and its not exactly upmarket, but its had a bit of a revamp inside, with the left bar now kitted out with American diner type soft bench seating, the right hand bar having new floor & wallpaper and the upper bar open to the public at all times with service & having 2 pool tables and DJ area.

It looks like there is the possiblity of 3 real ales to come, though only one during my visit - Pedigree - which was cold but nice enough.

Also a back entrance to the upper bar open on John Bright Street, opposite Brewdog.

Always a nostagia trip for me here and glad to say altogether on the up.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Formally Sam Wellers and adorned with the phrase 'Brum's No1 pub' for many years, this used to be a very trendy night spot adjoining the bars & clubs on John Bright Street. All the rest of the pubs have closed and most are now flats after the emphasis shifted to Broad Street half a mile away, and situated on a bust centre road with nothing else around has meant a swift decline and its No1 no longer! The decor is unchanged and its had little money spent on it in recent times.

Now advertising food and cask ales it is at least trying to make a comeback. Two large rooms on different levels, the lower level is given over to dining on the left and 80's decor bar area. The higher level, leading onto John Bright Street now has the two pool tables from the lower level , the small dance floor is still there and music playing, designed to be the 'trendier' side.

The beer, Marstons Pedigree and EPA is actually ok and better than it has been for some time, though the pub still remains dated. Its likely to be a prime spot in the future however, directly opposite what is going to be the modern, much smarter and appealing New Street Station entrance when complete.

On 5th June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1207 recommendations about 1184 pubs]