User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Lockdown 3 with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Trocadero, Birmingham

17 Temple Street
Birmingham
B2 5BG
Phone: 01216436107

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Oak Tree (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Trocadero

A pub I pop in quite often to catch some of the match on the TV. Always a choice of beers. Hop Back Summer Lightning was on for my last visit and it was a good pint. Can get packed on match days.

On 12th August 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1088 recommendations about 1045 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Trocadero

Although not particularly obvious from a distance, this M&B establishment has some fantastic exterior detailing when viewed closer up (particularly the ground-floor façade, but it is also worth looking higher up too). However, the interior is something of a disappointment because the various rooms comprising the original layout have been partially opened out and greatly altered to leave a range of seating and standing areas. Typical, semi-traditional, town centre pub furniture and decor. Five handpumps on the counter, offering Greene King IPA, Tribute, Purity Pure UBU, Rooster's Fort Smith and Hop Back Winter Lightning (£3.10) on this visit. Overall, nothing special as a place to drink, but it is certainly worth a look as a building.

On 21st February 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Trocadero

Identi-pub to The Windsor around the corner. Exactly the same real ale selection today. Its alright.

On 23rd September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3390 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Trocadero

A really nice exterior that the interior doesn't quite live up to. 5 real ales and food served.

On 28th July 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2745 recommendations about 2688 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Trocadero

This is a Grade II listed building, which as described has a very attractive looking front façade. I found the pub to be upbeat, with good service from their welcoming staff. Three handpumps in use, I went for the Purity Mad Goose, which was fine and prices were average.

On 17th July 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Trocadero

This is a fantasic, if slightly garish looking terraced town centre pub. It is Georgian in style with the upper half having sash windows, moulded cornice, slighly projecting wings and exaggerated ashlar blocks. The lower half in in a yellow saltglazed tile, with the pub name in mosiac. Columns and pilasters give the look of a Victorian music hall - brilliant in the days of such dull architecture.

The interior is, in general one big long room that is near partitioned by an archway to separate what is effectively the bar from the dining area. The front part has most of the serving bar to the left when entering. The decor is cream and chocolate, with cream ceiling and wood floor at the front - the dining bit has some patterned wallpaper walls too and a carpet floor. There is a nice marble fireplace here too. Old photos of Brum are on the walls and there are a few refinements like chandeliers and theatre style curtains here and there. There are several TVs dotted about with Sky Sports on and the music was charty stuff, but at a decent level. The place does a general Marston's menu, which whilst i haven't had, was recommended by a mate of mine. The service at my last visit was really good and the clientele a mixed city crowd really.

Beer; general tap stuff with Peroni - though the MILD has gone, with an OK Liberation IPA, the dull as ditchwater Marston's EPA and a Pedigree that had just ran-out on handpull.

A great exterior, a so-so interior and generic beer and food. I pop in every so often and will continue to do so as the service is fine and it is usually en route to other places.

On 19th November 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Trocadero

The comments of Roger Button below are still relevant. It looks like a grand traditional pub from the outside, something perhaps lacking in this very central area, just off New Street. However, I expect it has got better, there are a few features inside, such as the glazed roof at the front of the bar, but its a little bit more boring than you would imagine, light wood boards up to a dado rail and then floral wallpaper with the odd mirror.

The front window now opens up to the street in good weather, and there are various stools and normal pub chairs around tables.

They now have Taylors Landlord and Bombadier as real ales, which were good. Food menu appeared good value for the City Centre, some cheap 'favourites' and things like chilli for £4.

Overall I thinks its improving, but with a little way to go, and hopefully will continue in that direction because it could be a special Brummie boozer.

On 30th June 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Taylor left this review about The Trocadero

Only ever visited it once but for right reasons. It was the pub that I saw England win the Ashes in 2005. I had a tear in my eye and everyone raised their glass to honour England cricketers. Seriously I cant remember what do it look like as I was pretty drunk at that time! Will visit it again when sober

On 4th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 75 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Trocadero

Trying to find a traditional style pub in Birmingham City centre when you have a few hours to kill is more difficult than I had imagined so when my eye first caught the elegant mosaic façade of the Trocadero, I was mildly excited at what delights the pub would offer. The first impressions were not good. No Ales for starters, just run of the mill kegs and lagers many of which were on cheap promotions making it a place for quantity drinking rather than quality drinking. The pub appears to have been extended in both width and length at some stage since its days as a fire station. The rear is probably the most interesting with its sofas, chessboard tiled fireplace and mock Tudor vaulted ceiling.
The rest of the pub is a diet of multiple TVs, game machines and mixture old modern art and old local pictures. Overall, a bit of a disappointment and my search for the definitive classic pub in Brum city centre must wait for a future visit.

On 7th August 2007 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]