User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Most seen bands with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Spotted Dog, Birmingham

104 Warwick Street
Digbeth
Postal town: Birmingham
B12 0NH

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Al Bundy left this review about The Spotted Dog

A three roomed pub which is passing itself off as an Irish bar. Lots of Irish bumpf dotted around and Gaelic footy on the telly. A number of real ales on but fairly bland selection was a disappointment. A locals sort of pub and I'll leave it to them.

On 12th August 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Spotted Dog

A traditional pub with very well kept beer, fabulous staff behind the bar and the pub hosts an array of different music events throughout the week which are all free of charge. We called in on a Sunday evening when there was a String Quartet performing in the side lounge, after that a small group of musicians performed with their brass instruments. Other nights include a jazz night, Blues night and a traditional Irish music night. Three beers on handpump on our visit Castle Rock Harvest Pale, AJ'S Ales Lets Get Kane'd, Mallinson's Transpacific IPA. We went for the Harvest Pale which was in top form.

On 27th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Spotted Dog

Ah - the Spat runs over from BITE to Pubsgalore!

So does my review - Nice decor and a lovely pork pie!

Some photos of my Digbeth Pub Crawl at - http://bit.ly/1NuhI8Y

On 23rd August 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Spotted Dog

Side-street pub in a semi-industrial area, with a fine interior still retaining three separate rooms in a 'J'-shape around the servery. Irish decor but more of an ale-house feel. Extensive 'Smoke Room' covered patio beer garden to the rear. Four beers available from seven handpumps scattered around the bar counters: Castle Rock Harvest Pale, Jennings Cumberland, Oakham Citra and a fine pint of Holden's Mild (£2.10). Well work seeking out.

On 24th January 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Spotted Dog

An undressed brick built corner pub, possibly 1930s?, which is Irish themed - not amazing as it's Digbeth!There is a nice two-level rear beer patio that has fires if needed. The pub has its opening hours on a board outside and on a web page - but take no notice, it seems to open as and when, especially Saturday afternoons!

The interior has two rooms - a small little bar room that has rugby and other memorabilia covering the walls, along with an old gramophone in the corner. There was a TV, which wasn't on. The room we were in is an L-shaped room and was laid out with tables with candles in bottles - so i assume its the dining area. The walls were in a terracotta colour and wood panel. There were cartoony pictures on the walls along with various ephemera dotted about. There was a TV and a nice fireplace. The service was fine and there were a few others in, most outside

Beer; tap stuff, with Jennings Cumberland Ale, Castle Rock Harvest Pale Ale and a decent Ansells MILD on handpull.

A decent pub and one always on the cards when were tour Digbeth

On 18th July 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Spotted Dog

Wanted to visit this 2011 Good Beer Guide pub, but forgot to check opening times, and it was shut. Opens at 7pm Sun - Thurs, 4pm Friday and 12 noon Saturday according to GBG.

On 21st October 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Spotted Dog

A real Brummie Irish bar, very traditional puyb, usual benches/chairs but an extra bit of TLC here. Excellent place for a pint, service was very welcoming and friendly.

3 real ales - Ansells Mild, Cumberland Ale & Adnams Bitter - very well kept

On 24th August 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about The Spotted Dog

Why no reviews of this pub? It has a couple of changing guests real ales, and a constant Ansells Mild. These are always well-kept and I always make sure I try at least one of them whenever I come in. However, and bizarrely for my taste, I love the Guinness here. Guinness should be standard everywhere, but the Spotted Dog has the best Guinness I have tasted outside of Ireland. The interior is large and open plan, yet strangely dark. The atmosphere is friendly and the staff efficient. I have never seen this pub empty. Highly recommended.

On 27th June 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]