User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 24th May 2020) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Sacks of Potatoes, Birmingham

10 Gosta Green
Birmingham
B4 7ER
Phone: 01215035811

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Al Bundy left this review about Sacks of Potatoes

A pleasant pub in the University. Unlike the nearby Costa Green this doesn't have the feel of a student bar. U-shaped inside its has 9 handpulls (I think) of which 3 were used for real cider. A traditional looking pub. I liked it.

On 11th August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Sacks of Potatoes

Right by Aston University, but a proper pub rather than just a student bar. Partly opened-out, with various different seating areas on slightly different levels in an overall 'L' shape. Anonymous furniture and decor, but it also has some tables out front and a small rear terrace. Various food offers and weekly programme of events. Six real ales - including two each from Wye Valley and Holden's (Dark Mild and Golden Glow, £3.10 less 10% Camra discount) plus Shropshire Gold and Oakham Citra - and three Lilley's ciders on handpump.

On 7th October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Sacks Of Potatoes

One of two pubs situated on the Aston University campus, this is by far the more traditional of the two, with none of the trappings of student pubs except, perhaps, for a reasonably priced menu. The pub has a clearly defined multiple room layout which has now sadly been opened out into one long, lopsided U-shaped room with a large seating area to the left. In the centre of the pub is the L-shaped servery with its dark wood counter, pub mirror bar back and attractive stained glass canopy. The front section opposite the bar is bare boarded with some high tables and stools under the beautiful stained glass windows which looked particularly good in the bright Spring sunshine. Lots of nice framed photos of the local area have been displayed to good effect in this space. To the left there is a carpeted open area next to the bar with a few tables and standard chairs and a nice nook to the rear with a single table under a shelving unit housing a wine bottle display. Further to the left you'll find a raised seating area which is obscured from the bar by a nice mirrored partitioning screen. Plusher seating options can be found up here, with well upholstered stools and smart banquettes under modern wallpaper and some fancy art works. An arch leads through to a nice front lounge with a large inglenook fireplace and views out across the campus. To the right of the bar is a cosy looking lounge with more comfy seating and some interesting pictures on the walls, set on a lower level to the main bar area and I think this might arguably be the best spot to grab a seat for a quiet pint. A map of the UK was hung near the bar and showed where many of the breweries featured in the pub are located, although the geographical accuracy of this is certainly up for debate. A TV screen was showing muted news coverage and a dreary soundtrack played throughout my visit, which detracted from the overall feel, as did the countless blackboards detailing food, drinks and events, which gave the place a bit of a corporate feel.
The map next to the bar hinted that some good brewers are represented here and the line up on this visit backed that up with Salopian Shropshire Gold, Taylors Landlord, Black Sheep Bitter, Woods Pot O' Gold and Kelham Island Pale Rider all available and Oakham JHB due to come on. I had a very enjoyable pint of the Shropshire Gold and was very pleased when the barmaid prompted me for a CAMRA card which entitled me to a 10% discount.
This is a pretty decent pub in a highly unpromising location . There are lots of nice features here and the place maintains a broad appeal without to much compromise, making it a very good option should you find yourself in this, otherwise underserved, part of the city.

On 18th May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2446 recommendations about 2446 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Sacks Of Potatoes

Unusually sited amongst the modern building of Aston University is this traditional Victorian gem overlooking a green.
Some traditional touches remain such the exquisite leaded, stained glass windows at the front, Victorian style wallpaper, original arches and fireplace and plenty of dark wood. It makes for a comfortable place for a pint and food is also popular with the only drawback for me being the various muted screens showing rolling news and providing an unwelcome distraction.
The welcome was friendly and chatty in typical Brum style and a 10% CAMRA discount offered without question. There was an interesting mix of customers on our Saturday lunchtime visit with student and locals all enjoying a pint. Mind the soap dispenser in the Gents though as a squirt in the eye from it led to exclamations of 'Merde' and 'Putain' from one user who may not have been local.
Six handpumps had on only three beers alongside three coming next signs. Those present were Salopian Oracle, Backyard Blonde and Silhill Blonde Star. All good with the Oracle standing out but all around 4% and pale so the choice was limited.
I liked it here a lot, would happily return and would be more generous on the score if all six handpumps were offering a wider range.

On 21st April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Sacks Of Potatoes

In the middle of the buildings that make up Aston University ,my visit was during their holidays and there was a good collection of the Villa faithful in for a prematch drink on my Saturday lunchtime visit.Open plan on three different levels,the lower section to the right of the entrance seemed the most convivial ,while the raised rear has brick arches and leather bound seating around a front window.Stained glass has been retained in the upper window lights and a traditional pub atmosphere has been maintained.The flatscreens were on mute,showing Sky News.
The six handpumps were offering Betty Stogs,Grafton Silhouette,Byatts Urban Red,Wye Valley HPA and Sarah Hughes Dark Ruby Mild,a decent range of styles and strenghts.All the ale sampled by the crew was in good nick,and service was friendly and chatty.Fully deserves it's 2014 GBG listing.
I would have no trouble returning to this pub,and you can also get something to eat from the pub grub menu.A very solid boozer quite close to the Digbeth branch Canal

On 6th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Sacks Of Potatoes

Basically a U shaped open plan pub with a raised bit thrown in, it's almost on the campus of Aston University behind the old fire station. 6 handpumps with beers from smaller breweries in good condition, the pub is a GBG regular. Victorian style decor with big silent screens. I wonder what it's like in term time?

On 16th September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Sacks Of Potatoes

Large corner pub with a central bar and a raised area mainly for dining. Enjoyed our Sat visit, when the pub was fairly quiet. Lots of sunshine pouring in though the large leaded windows emphasising the red glass panels. Tried the Wye Valley 101 and Lymestone Brewery Einstein both were top notch. It's a bit more sensible here than it's neighbour down the road.

On 9th October 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gary Reading left this review about Sacks Of Potatoes

Great pub, reminds me of my student days. Always a good atmosphere. Good decor

On 21st April 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 7 recommendations about 7 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Sacks Of Potatoes

Change of ownership here in 2010, now under Stonegate control, whose pubs/clubs seem to be a mixed bag. Its kind of hidden away in Central Birmingham, almost part of the Aston University complex, but a bit of a jaunt from the City Centre. However, it is well worth the trip!

Not somewhere I would have searched out, I thought I'd give it a try having found it listed on the Birmingham Camra site.

Its an excellent street corner traditional type place on split levels and seems roomy, traditional but smart. There is a central bar, leaded windows, traditional padded bences and stools/seats. A couple of TVs showing sport, though there was back ground music playing on my visit. Tables spill out onto the hard lanscaping/street and a patio to the side. Don't expect conversation from the barman though!

All round traditional and comfortable feel. A great find.

6 real ales and the quality was excellent.

Busy, but not overly so, mind you my visit was on Easter Sunday, so out of the Uni season.

On 26th April 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Sacks Of Potatoes

A detached corner brick building, with a facade in Green and white render, with a patio

The interior is mainly open plan around the central bar, with a small room i didn't go in just by the door. The decor is a mix of light and dark grey walls, white ceiling, with coloured window glass and a few old photos on the walls. There was Sky TV and the service was ok. The clientele was mixed and not studenty, considering it is opposite the Gosta Green and right by the University, however, there were a few drunks. We ate here and the food was fine, but the pub isn't all given over to food.

Beer; tap stuff with no MILD, there was Spitfire on handpull, so this remained untouched, the Black Sheep wasn't on, but there was a decent enough Harvestoun Bitter & Twisted.

It is a basic enough kind of pub in the student quarter, far superior to the Gosta Green over the road, hence the tutors get drunk here and the sprogs over there!

On 5th January 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]