User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Red Lion, Birmingham

95 Warstone Lane
Birmingham
B18 6NG
Phone: 01212339144

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Red Lion

Really good boozer - both modern feel and traditional feel - decorated to a high standard.

Central bar splits a front bar and a back lounge.

Bathams amongst the beers on.

Recommended.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2OWZD7W

On 10th August 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 697 recommendations about 691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Red Lion

Another decent pub in the Jewellery Quarter. 4 ales on although I didn't look beyond the Bathams bitter! As Train man says below the price was way over the top at almost £9.00 for 2 pints! It was a good pint to be fair but you would need to re-mortgage your house for a session in here!

On 24th December 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1087 recommendations about 1044 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Red Lion

£4.45 for Bathams Bitter? They have got to be joking! We didn't stick around for the new barrel to go on and, at those prices, won't be back to try it.

On 3rd July 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Red Lion

This 2 roomed pub is quite nice and a comprehensive review is below. The ales today were Butty Bach, Knock On, Bathams Best Bitter and Moonshine by whoever.

On 25th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3390 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Red Lion

This smart two bar pub is run by the Urban Art Bar group who also operate the excellent Lord Clifden, just a five minute walk away. I popped in here early on a Saturday evening and found the place doing a roaring trade with both bars packed and a good, mixed clientele. You enter into a short passageway with the front bar to the left and the rear bar through a door at the end. The front bar was so busy I gave up trying to get to fight my way in, but did have time to note a few limited seating options around the perimeter, a dartboard and a juke box. The rear room has a Saloon Bar feel to it, with the angular dark wood servery on the front wall, button backed banquettes around two sides and a few other tables with low stools plus some limited, but much needed, vertical drinking space. A fireplace stands on the end wall with an elaborate mantle whilst beautiful cut glass Banks's Brewery mirrors cover the rear wall and part of the left hand side. The doors have some fine frosted glasswork with a modern lion motif picked out and one such door led out to an elaborately tiled rear corridor which connected back to the front bar as well as the toilets and garden. A TV screen in the rear room was showing muted live football coverage with a selection of clichéd Christmas tunes playing over the sound system and there was a large group of young lads in all wearing ridiculous 'ironic' Christmas jumpers, it being that time of year.
There were four ales on handpull at the bar - Salopian Firkin Freezing, Phoenix Christmas Kiss, Lion Heart GPA and Batham's Bitter. I'd never actually had a pint of the latter before, so I jumped at the chance and enjoyed a good pint served in fine condition by the friendly bar staff. I didn't eat here, but I did see some of the food coming out of the kitchen and it looked fantastic.
I really enjoyed my time here and thought it was a great example of a thoughtfully modernised traditional pub. Had things been a little quieter, I would have liked to settle down and maybe try a few more of their beers, as I suspect this is the sort of place you could easily lose a few hours. Another fine pub to include on any crawl around the Jewellery Quarter.

On 19th January 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Red Lion

Old style bar and lounge serving 4 real ales and "craft keg".

On 1st August 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2736 recommendations about 2679 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Red Lion

A traditional twin-room pub, with a compact public bar at the front and a comfortable lounge to the rear. Refurbished sympathetically, with a few modern decorative features from owners UAB. Background music. Reasonable-looking menu, with plenty of specials on the board too. Rear patio beer garden. Two handpumps on each counter (with additional clips helpfully displaying what is available in the other one), dispensing Santa's Dark Side and Pud (£3.70) from Naylors, Kingbird(?) and Butty Bach. Well worth seeking out.

On 17th December 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Red Lion

One of two Urban Art Bars in Hockley, this one is neatly done out in Victorian style with two bars round a central servery. Furnished traditionally with beaten copper topped Britannia tables and red leather covered bench seating. There are two pulls in each bar but with different beers in each, a handy stand with appropriate pump clips shows the choice in the other bar. The keg choice is the same more interesting line as found in the Lord Clifden but the casks are different. As with the Clifden decor comes from the same style of modern art prints, Churchill with a mochican being an example here.

On 16th September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Red Lion

The Red Lion is situated a short walk down warstone lane from the clocktower.
Once inside the pub has two seperate rooms,the bar is at the front,this room is square shaped and had bench seating and small stools which faced the bar,the tables were copper topped and the floor was tiled.
There were two TVs showing BT sports on mute.
The lounge is to the rear,this is a plush looking room that is carpeted and had red leather bench seating.
There were four real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Bathams bitter which was a very nice drink,the other beers were Wye Valley Butty Bach,Slaters Top Totty and a beer from Growler brewery.
The pub does food and a group of women had what looked to be a nice full English breakfast.
I found this to be a decent pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 17/8/2013

On 17th August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gary Reading left this review about The Red Lion

Small and a bit dirty. Uncomfortable.

On 21st April 2012 - rating: 2
[User has posted 7 recommendations about 7 pubs]

Page: 1 2