User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 19th January 2020) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Queens Arms, Birmingham Central, Birmingham

150 Newhall Street
Birmingham
B3 1RY

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Queens Arms

Entry in the 2017 Good Beer Guide but omitted in the 2018 Guide.

Well maintained interior and exterior.

Wye Valley HPA in average condition.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2pxONu4

On 22nd March 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 617 recommendations about 611 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Queens Arms

As noted, the exterior is an ornate affair. The inside is made up of a L-shaped room with what amounts to a little snug like area to the left of the bar. There are indeed 2 banks of 3 handpumps, which, if my junior school educators were doing their job correctly makes, erm, a few in total. I had some local brew called Piffle Snonker which was quite nice.

On 25th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3378 recommendations about 3295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Queens Arms

Nice old style exterior. Central bar serves 6 real ales.

On 1st August 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2656 recommendations about 2600 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Queens Arms

A particularly eye-catching exterior, particularly the grandiose tiled Mitchells & Butler sign on the corner. The staple-shaped interior comes as something of a surprise, though, since the bar and further seating area to one side have been thoroughly remodelled and refurbished at some stage. However, there are still some interesting features, including the upstand lamps on the bar counter. The decor is relatively simple, but does still enhance the feel of the place. As usual, a decent choice of different styles from less common brewers was available from the two banks of three handpumps on this visit, including a fine pint of First Chop TOC (The Other City) Pale at £3.85.

On 26th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5898 recommendations about 5898 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Queens Arms

Traditional pub between the City Centre and the Jewellery Quarter, refurbed in last few years.

Large bar along far wall as you walk in & drinking area follows it around in a thin rectange shape, trendy maroon walls & there is Sky Sports, but really its a place to talk, drink & eat. The food is a little procey, eg £8 for a burger and there are 3 real ales Purity Mad Goose, London Prode & what was I think a rotating guest, in this case Golden Sheep.

Its an an ever improving pub

On 6th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Queens Arms

I've walked past this pub a few times and been impressed with the large Mitchells and Butler 'Gold Medal Ales' sign and Queens Arms stone above, but had never ventured inside. It turns out I was missing out on a smart, modernised pub with a strong commitment to real ale. You enter into the main bar area which has exposed floorboards and the servery along the back wall. The bar counter is dark wood with a brass hand rail and three tall lamps spaced along its length. The bar back has a Queens Arms mirror and an integral clock taking pride of place top centre. A row of high tables and stools and standard tables and chairs run underneath the modern obscured windows which have a crown motif on them. To the left of the bar there is a compact recess with a TV showing live Spanish football with the commentary turned on and several rows of chairs all pointing at the screen. I didn't get a good look here, as the match was proving popular, but I did note several portraits of the Queen on the walls. To the right there is a slightly larger area with standard, bench and curved banquette seating options, the latter displaying some bold striped upholstery that wasn't really to my taste. The walls are painted a deep shade of red and decorated with those annoying 'Keep Calm...' style posters that seem inexplicably popular these days. Two more TV screens were showing the same football match this side of the pub, but without the sound. I also noted a book swap and collection of board games on a shelving unit.
The ale range was pretty interesting, comprising Barking Mad AOFB, Tickety Brew Table IPA, Wye Valley HPA, Purity Ubu, Tyne Bank Peloton Pale and Stancill Blonde - the latter costing £3.85 for a pint and being in excellent condition. Each handpull had its own handwritten tasting notes attached which I found very helpful when faced with a number of breweries I'd never previously encountered. A few people were eating when I arrived and I noticed a large mirror listing an extensive sausage menu on the right hand wall.
This place promises a traditional street corner local on approach but delivers a popular, modern ale house which I think just about retains enough of its former self to please the traditionalist and was certainly pulling in a lot of younger drinkers and diners on a Saturday evening. I quite liked the place and it's well positioned for a drink if you're on your heading between the city centre and Jewellery Quarter, so I'm sure I'll be back.

On 17th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2394 recommendations about 2394 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Queens Arms

A lovely exterior, retaining almost all of its opulence especially the M&B cornerstone. Sadly, large chunks of the interior were long-ago stripped out but a little bit of character remains, such as the uplighters and the nice wood bar with inlaid clock. Staple-shaped interior with a mix of modern seating and fabric banquettes. The dark green and burgundy paintwork looked quite nice. Mute Sky Sports News on the TV with Mumford and Sons (arrrrrgh) on the stereo. Board games spotted. Initially quite excited by the bar offering; six ales with a pretty good mix of the local and the eclectic. My initial choice of Table IPA from Ticketybrew was vile. Swapped (after retrieving the barmaid from her date with Mr Sheen) without fuss for a flat and unimpressive Stancil American IPA. Other ales included Wye Valley, Three Tuns and one from Cornwall I didn't recognize. Disappointing really, I expected much better.

On 13th November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3960 recommendations about 3948 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The Queens Arms

I can't give you a detailed description of the interior - I got caught up in conversation with an ale enthusiast and the barmaid (it's mixed blessing, this pub visiting). What I can tell you is that the handpumps on the bar offer 4 ales and 2 ciders and at good quality, too, if my pint of Purity Ubu is anything to go by. At a high price, as well, though - I don't know what the locals make of beer at £3.70 a pint.

Music was playing, but at the right volume (which is to say, background, not dominating the room). Food is also offered, at lunchtimes and evenings.

A desire to see what else Birmingham had to offer dragged me away somewhat sooner than I'd have liked. The Queen's Arms justifies a longer visit, I think.

On 9th October 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 276 recommendations about 267 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Queens Arms

The Queens Arms is a nice looking pub that is situated midway between the city centre and jewellery quarter.
I liked the look of the Old M&B signs on the corner.
Once inside the pub has a single L shaped room,it is bare boarded and had a mix of tall tables and chairs and normal tables and chairs,i sat on the bench seating to the far right.
There were six pumps on the bar,all in use,i had a drink of Holdens bitter which went down very well,but very expensive at £3.60 for a pint,the other beers i noted were Wye Valley HPA,Taylor Landlord,a lager from Growler brewery and two real ciders.
There were two TVs showing BT Sports and there was a good selection of board games which i like to see in pubs.
The pub was empty on my early Saturday dinner visit.
I really liked this pub,this is the sort of pub i could settle in for a long session.

Pub visited 17/8/2013

On 17th August 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Queens Arms

Well kept traditional pub serving four ales on our visit. A very attractive looking victorian exterior and once through the door, I thought the decor was a bit bland. Needs that Victorian charm put back into the place. There was a very tempting menu of trad butchers sausages of all different varieties. Also serves steaks etc, so may eat here next time. I went for the Wye Valley HPA and Holdens Golden Glow. Will return.

On 24th July 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2934 recommendations about 2934 pubs]

Page: 1 2