User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

Prince of Wales, Birmingham

118 Alcester Road
Moseley
Postal town: Birmingham
B13 8EE
Phone: 01214494198

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Prince of Wales

A must do in Moseley. A proper old pub with a proper bar. Add to this the 10 handpumps and you can't really go wrong. Amongst the beers on my last visit were Purity Bunny Hop and Mad Goose, Tribute, Landlord, Bishops Farewell, Tina plus 2 ciders.
Well worth a visit.

On 28th August 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 866 recommendations about 837 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Prince of Wales

A proper pub, but one I have somehow managed to miss until now. You enter the premises with its simple, yet attractive façade, to find a fine old-school bar with an imposing dark-wood bar-back. The furniture is basic, and the decor relatively plain, but the place was buzzing on a Thursday evening. Further back, you can see an impressive central tiled corridor, with features such as the main staircase and a two side rooms demonstrating the heritage interest here. Equally important, there was a fine selection of real ale - ranging from the Fixed Wheel Chain Reaction (£3.80) to Titanic Plum Porter and Thornbridge Jaipur - and two ciders from eight of ten handpumps.

On 30th July 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 5639 recommendations about 5639 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Prince of Wales

An excellent pub at the end/start of the Moseley to Kings Heath crawl. 10 handpumps on the bar on this visit with far too many beers to recall. The initial front entrance is where the servery is though there are 2 rooms and a corridor to the rear. Thoroughly enjoyable place.

On 10th March 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3348 recommendations about 3264 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Prince of Wales

An attractive looking pub from the outside. Once through the doors, you enter a large lounge with bar and a open fire to the left, which was lit on our visit. Beyond this, there was an oak panelled room with an open fire and another small room across the corridor. Lots of heavily glazed Victorian tiling to admire along the rear corridor. The patio area at the back of the pub is huge, consisting of the large covered seating area, cocktail bar, wine cellar and bottle bar. The staff told us this area is jammed every weekend.
Twelve handpumps in operation, two of which were ciders. I went for the Purity Mad Goose.

On 18th November 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Prince of Wales

A well known Birmingham pub, being located in trendy Moseley & home to authors and the like.

There is a fine interior, lots of tiles with a large bar in a central position in the building. The pub has taken advantage of its home in Moseley, the exterior has a large permanent marquee, there is a cocktail bar, cigar hut and wine shed, patio heaters and a lot of space for benches. Very cosmopolitan and arty, sometimes this type of place forgets about beer, but not here, the range and quality is superb.

A fine institution of Birmingham

On 30th June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1225 recommendations about 1202 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Ven left this review about Prince of Wales

I liked this place. A main bar area at the front with lino flooring and a coal fire. Two smaller snug sized rooms to the rear, one of which has a small bar in the corner. The corridor to the toilets is an impressive tiled walkway.

There were 11 handpulls: St Austell Tribute; Hook Norton Old Hooky; GK Abbot; Oakham Bishop's Farewell; Sharp's Doom Bar; Timothy Taylor Landlord; Thornbridge Jaipur IPA; Holden's Bitter; Old Rosie Cider and 2 with the clips turned around. There were also the usual offerings of Carling, Stella, San Miguel and Guinness.

just a short hop on the once-every-4-minutes 50 bus route from Moor Street (opposite Moor Street station) or Bradford Street in Digbeth (by the Anchor). I think I might have to pop back some time. This has been a Good Beer Guide entry for at least the last 3 years.

On 23rd December 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 240 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Prince of Wales

A terraced white rendered town pub, with flower baskets and a great rear patio area that even has a sofa area for those that like their settee so much they want to take it to the pub - oh, and dart board as well!

The interior has three rooms, as well as a fantastic green ceramic tiled corridor. The main room was in a mix of pink, cream and red striped wallpaper and had a TV, on which the cricket was being shown. There was good service from the waistcoated staff. The first side room, where we went, is a small white and wood panel room, with some old local photos on the wall - the pub featuring and a stag's head on the wood panelled and tiled fireplace. There was some curious looking chest as a feature and of course the old bell pushes were evident. The third room is anathma to someone like me, but there for the modern brigade. It is in crimson, grey and has a white ceiling. There are sofas, comfy chairs and pouffes, with a fireplace, arty pictures and a mirror or two. Most people appeared to be outside - there were a few in the main room and just us miserable ones in the back - nobody was using the sofas. The place did food but we didnt eat.

Beer; tap stuff with Purity UBU and Mad Goose, Abbots, Brakespear Bitter, Jaipur IPA and a decent St Austell Tribute on handpull. Ironic, a good choice of real ales, just most not to my taste.

a super place that seems to have something for all. Along with the Fighting Cocks, it is a must do in Moseley town centre.

On 9th August 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Stephanie Migot left this review about Prince Of Wales

The pub has really hit its stride now, and is serving up a variety of real ales in rotation. Not only that, but the after-work specials of stew or casserole are a real treat, especially in cold winter weather. Still has an excellent atmostphere, for regulars and visitors alike. Definitely the best traditional boozer in the area.

On 4th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Horton left this review about Prince of Wales

Must admit I had more than a few misgivings about visiting this place but went on a friends recommendation. He was right & I was wrong. Excellent choice of excellent real ales. Several rooms, large garden at the rear. Hog roast on day after my visit (18/07/08). A Victorian pub at its best, very good and interesting wall tiles. Friendly atmosphere which if they had a jazz band would be similar to the house in Mos Eisney in Star Wars but without the violence. Liked the place despite a 60 mile journey home. One bar lady looked like a younger version of Lesley Garrett, but she didn't sing & probably won't be there when you visit & visit you must. On street parking only in a busy area, go by bus No 50 from Brum centre.

On 19th July 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 148 recommendations about 148 pubs]