User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

The Plough, Birmingham

21 High Street
Harborne
Postal town: Birmingham
B17 9NT
Phone: 01214273678

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Delboy 20 left this review about The Plough

A bit on the expensive side as others have noted. More geared towards food but with a few ales on it is worth popping in for one. Only one though at these prices!!

On 16th April 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 928 recommendations about 897 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Plough

As a reviewer has pointed out it looks like a traditional pub from outside. Inside is a bit different. There is a central J-shaped servery with 5 handpumps serving 2 Marble beers, a Purity, the said Butty Bach and some brewery called Urban Huntsman, however there is another servery to your left which has a selection of fizzy beers and was covered in food. There are basically 4 areas to sit. And as Mr Mapp found out it is quite expensive.

On 26th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3367 recommendations about 3283 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Plough

£4.30 for the Butty Bach.

Let that sink in. We are near Bearwood, not Mayfair.

To top it all, it wasn't even a full pint. With the only other entertainment people watching and working out want Halluomi was, I took my untapped App to record the event.

To be fair, I got a response later offering me a free pint. So decent service.

Packed to the rafters with diners.... I'm not really sure this is my type of place. Although to be fair, having come out of the Harborne Stores, I am probably confused as to what my sort of place is.

Some photos at bit.ly/1OLHiaR

On 16th November 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 590 recommendations about 585 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Plough

Looks fairly traditional from the street, but thoroughly modernised inside and extended at the back. Very busy on a Thursday evening, with a generally young clientele and many groups eating. Fair-sized patio beer garden to rear, partly under cover with laid-back piped jazz and an outside bar (not on use at this time of year). Five of six handpumps in operation, each with hand-made clips, with a decent selection of Wye Valley Butty Bach (£4.30), Mad Goose and Pure UBU from Purity, Purple Moose Glaslyn and Brains Awakening on offer. Not likely to appeal to everybody, but its popularity speaks for itself.

On 16th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Plough

Pretentious bar that thinks it is in trendy area. Fair selection of beers but at exorbitant prices,£3.80 a pint!It was packed on Saturday evening with lots of diners, who obviously don't mind paying £12 for a pizza.

On 16th June 2013 - rating: 4
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Plough

Not my cup of tea this one. Or should I say cup of coffee as when I walked in I thought it was a coffee shop. There were even cup cakes on the bar! Maybe am missing something here. The place was busy for a Monday afternoon - lots of 'I want to be seen' sorts of people. Didn't stay for a beer but they did have on Wye Valley, Purity and one from Brewdog.

On 1st November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2905 recommendations about 2905 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about The Plough

A modern free house with a quirky coffee shop style to it. The interior has one room on two levels, as you enter the bar counter is immediately ahead in the centre of the room, the front of the room is on a lower level with brown leather bench seats, a modern gas fire in the left hand wall and a tiled floor. The bar counter is on the larger second level and has an orange ceramic tiled bar back with glass jars full of sweets on shelves, the left hand wall at the front has several mirrors of different shapes and sizes, the back left wall of the room is rough wood planks from floor to ceiling with an interesting chandelier made from deer antlers, this area gave me the impression of a stereotypical north American hunting lodge! At the back of the room are large patio doors which lead out to a partially covered beer patio with various types of modern furniture.

Regular ales are Purity Mad Goose and Wye Valley Butty Bach with a single changing guest beer usually from a brewery in the West Midlands or neighbouring counties, on this visit it was Warwickshire Lady Godiva (Cask Marque and GBG 2011). I had a half of all three and they were well kept but a bit pricey in my opinion.

This place is definitely aimed at young fashionable professionals, the exterior looks fairly standard but the décor is a real eclectic mix of styles. It was quite busy on my visit which shows that either there are a lot of locals with plenty of money or it’s good enough that its prices are not putting people off. I personally could not afford to be a regular at this pub but I would visit again if in the area as the beer was good.

On 14th February 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Plough

If you're prepared to put up with the prices here it adds a great contrast to Harborne. Ultra modern refurb of a traditional pub, although it would be awful if all trad pubs ended up like this, I think it works. Excellent lighting, lots of clean wood lines overall its a nice feel, if not a little cosmopolitan.

2 real ales, but its very foody, and there is not a lot of room at the bar so it was hard to get served on a Friday lunchtime.

On 14th June 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1267 recommendations about 1244 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Plough

A detached corner brick build, with a light grey render and patio at the rear that has big red glowing pots, as this place, as Ian Taylor says, is very trendy now - the complete opposite to the Harborne Stores

The interior is open plan around a central bar with Marmite jars for decoration. The main area is on two levels and is a mix, though leaning more to the foody feel. The decor is light grey, and goldy flowered wallpaper, with wood panel, various prints, paintings and other ephemera. There is Sky TV. The service was very friendly, the clientele had the younie professional feel - the students were in the Green Man!

Beer; tap stuff with continenal lagers - no MILD funny enough! On handpull there was Butty Bach, Ubu Purity a nice Doombar and i had seen Enville Ale in on a previous visit. A nice touch was getting a half in the old tankard glass.

My sympathies are with traditional places, so i struggle with the interior, but the beer choice and service meant that i coped with a little more ease than i nornally would - many will like this place, but it was the most expensive drink i had - more for half than a pint in the Stores - a sacrifice i could live with.

On 27th February 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Taylor left this review about The Plough

Very trendy bar and aimed at young drinkers. You will need large wad of cash to spend on drinks. I ordered half pint of Sharps Bitter which comes as £2.40! Food are incredibly expensive! I will not return.

On 4th February 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 75 pubs]

Page: 1 2