User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with AlanH on the Pub Forum

Old Royal, Birmingham

53 Church Street
Birmingham
B3 2DP
Phone: 01212003841

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Oak Tree (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Delboy 20 left this review about Old Royal

I have visited here numerous times over the years. Attractive pub well described below. Always seems to be busy. My pint of Hobsons was in good nick. Worth a visit.

On 27th December 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1049 recommendations about 1010 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Old Royal

This corner pub has two very attractive facades with plenty of decorative detail (albeit rather hidden by scaffolding on my latest visit). Inside, the 'L'-shaped bar has been heavily refurbished but some older features such as the coats of arms in the main windows and what looks like an old bar-back on a side wall. Silent sport on the TVs. Mostly older clientele. Standard unbranded M&B menu. I found Landlord, Black Sheep Square 1 and Adnams Fat Sprat from three of the six handpumps, which (while hardly exciting) was better than last time.

On 28th April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Old Royal

A fine looking building with a corner turret occupying a strategic corner plot as these Victorian edifices tend to, inside there is a functional L-shaped carpeted space with mostly regular seating but including some of those bucket chairs which will not allow you to drape your coat over the back. Arched leaded windows, decor includes all sorts of artefacts on display on various shelves but mainly on the Royal theme, framed prints of members of the Royal Family through the years. Also Royal family trees on display, not that I know much about this stuff having never been a history student I found it interesting. A splendid feature tiled shelf inside is possibly one of the high points inside.
There are two banks of three handpumps, on offer was St Peter's Golden Ale, Young's Hummingbird and Landlord. Three not on, two unclipped one reversed looked like the delightful GKIPA.
A decent pub but the interior does not do justice to the exterior.

On 18th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Old Royal

A nice looking pub from the outside and nice enough inside. An L-shaped bar had 6 handpumps serving 3 real ales today. Had a few rugby bores prattling on about line-outs, left flank backs, scrum centre fly tackle hookers and other rubbish.

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3383 recommendations about 3300 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Old Royal

Interior as described by old boots below. 5 real ales and food served.

On 2nd August 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Old Royal

Seemed to be a very tidy and traditional-run sort of pub, with no gimmickry, and much the better for it. Guest beer was Maxim's Lambton, very drinkable and reasonably-priced.

On 23rd July 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2195 recommendations about 2146 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Old Royal

Certainly an extravagant exterior but inside a fairly functional drinking space, carpeted throughout and furnished with tables and chairs with a few leather armchairs. Basically a big square room with a square servery with two serving faces. Six pulls of pretty mundane beers from Greene King and Marstons, I had an Exmoor Gold but it still tasted a bit of Pedigree. There's a neat art nouveau style sideboard affair or maybe former barback to one side and the decor is a random selection of portraits and photos of members of the houses of Tudor, Hanover and Windsor. There are three large screens to view those Royal occasions.

On 25th June 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Old Royal

Have to agree with Gill the exterior to this pub is stunning. Quite a large pub this one with mixed clientele. Nothing really to write home about when it comes to their selection of ales. Marstons Pedigree and EPA was about it. Wouldn't go out my way for a return visit.

On 26th July 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Old Royal

Loved the exterior of this pub. Very grand style. The busiest pub we were in early Wednesday afternoon. Bar service was prompt though, and we were advised there was seating upstairs should we need it. 6 handpulls featuring beers from Marstons, Fullers, Harviestoun, and Timothy Taylor. Marstons EPA went down very well here. Would like to visit again when not packed to have a proper look round.

On 21st October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Old Royal

A grand fontage to this pub, you may expect the elegance of some of its neighbours in the Professional Quarter, but its not the case. Its has more of a local feel than the grandeur of same the Old Contemptibles or the Joint Stock. There are less suits in here, more jeans and jumpers and there was racing on the tv rather than any background jazz.

It does have some charm, like some of the glazing, the beer is ok, but the pub is best described, as review below, as 'solid'. Its worth a visit, but there are also other probably better pubs in the locality.

On 5th July 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]

Page: 1 2