User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Is the Coronavirus affecting pub trade? with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

The New Inn, Birmingham

74 Vivian Road
Harborne
Postal town: Birmingham
B17 0DJ
Phone: 01214263373

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Leased (Marstons)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The New Inn

Decent Marston's pub, with an attractive, traditional bar formed from several smaller rooms (although the counter isn't usually staffed) and a larger bar / restaurant further along. Beer garden at the far end. Three real ales available on this visit: EPA, Wainwright (£3.65) and Hobgoblin (with reversed clips for Razor Back and Saddle Tank also noted).

On 18th February 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The New Inn

A half decent pub. 4 handpumps on the bar with fairly standard beers on today. Purity beers were still on and that was probably the best of the rather dull selection, the others being national beers today.

On 26th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The New Inn

Chosen as the starting point of a 4 pub crawl in Harborne.

May have peaked early.

Tiny front bar, with a sign asking to punters to go in the main bar. At least four real ales on and I went for an Ubu Purity, which was the best example of this brew that I have ever had.

Nice interior - main bar set out more for food - but a nice little drinking area in the small bar around a fire.

Recommended. Apart from the rather loud Robbie Williams swing album.

Some photos at bit.ly/1OLHiaR

On 16th November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The New Inn

26/02/2013: Revisit here and it is now much changed and is a Bitter & Twisted Group Steak House. On the negative side this means if you are just coming for a beer you have to find space in the (now not 'comfortable' but) pokey front bar & side area. However, it does still possess character and walmth and feels more relaxed than a number of the other bars in the area.

01/11/2012: An excellent pub at the end of the high street, far enough away from the main drag of Harborne not to be spoilt, but still a well kept establishment.

The front bar, along with the middle bar are rather small and cosy, whiklst the lounge at the back is a lot larger. Its very comfortable and I would say a fine old pub. Good, friendly service there are four real ales from the Marstons stable. My Ringwood Boondoggle was very well kept.

On 26th February 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The New Inn

A proper traditional pub a couple of mins walk from the high street. It has a small front bar, snug and a large lounge and also it's own bowling green. Friendly staff and locals alike. Banks Bitter and Banks Mild were brill, will defo call again.

On 1st November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The New Inn

A nice white rendered corner pub, with beer patio. I remebered when i popped in that i did so last as my friend's best man just before his wedding down the road some 16 years back.

The interior i think had three rooms; a bar, lounge and a little snug, where we sat. The lounge i think was in white, i just had a glimpse, the bar was in white and wood panel, the snug in blue, with blue leather seats, a nice tiled fireplace, mirror and a couple of arty pictures that at least didn't spoil the room. There was a TV in the bar, with the rugby on and the place was busy with a mixed clientele. The service at first seemed a little miserable, but we had a nice goodbye when we left, so we soon fitted in.

Beer; tap stuff; a good Banks's MILD on
handpull, with untried Pedigree, Banks's Bitter and Usher's Ale.

A nice enough place, well worth a vist. I shall go back.

On 19th February 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]