User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Lord Clifden, Birmingham

Great Hampton Street
Birmingham
B18 6AA
Phone: 01215237515

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Lord Clifden

Another good Jewellery Quarter pub with a choice of ales. I didn't eat but the breakfast served looked very good - I will give one a go another time!

On 24th December 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1078 recommendations about 1036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Lord Clifden

Top notch Jewellery Quarter pub which is well known for it's collection of urban street art and has a fair selection of quirky wall prints.This is a long linear pub with a likewise bar. The tap room is on the right as you enter the pub down the corridor which is followed by the main room and beyond that is an outstanding beer garden which must be one of the largest in Birmingham.There was 4 well kept casks on offer plus lots of TV sports screens.This pub has also a fine reputation for good food and has won several awards over the years. The pub opens at 10am till 12pm Sunday to Thursday and 10 till late Fri and Sat.
Without doubt worth a visit if you are in the area.

On 12th January 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2115 recommendations about 2079 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Lord Clifden

A nice pub that's better described elsewhere. There were 4 real ales on offer and I had the one with the Sid Vicious pump clip which I've forgotten was called.

On 26th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Lord Clifden

Interior as described below by pub signman with an additional bar open in the patio area on my visit. 4 real ale taps(2 on ) and food served. Wiff waff table.

On 1st August 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2706 recommendations about 2649 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Lord Clifden

I've walked past here once before and I admit to being a bit put off and too scared to go in.

Don't let the exterior put you off - this is a gem of a boozer.

Much nicer inside - great jukebox - superb real ales (I had the unfortunately named "Teddy Bear" from Canon Royal Brewery - which is 8 miles away from me in Worcestershire.

The food looked amazing as well.

Will definitely come back - best in the area.

Some photos at http://mappiman.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/020515-jewellery-quarter-pub-crawl.html

On 4th May 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 688 recommendations about 682 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Lord Clifden

On approach, this place looks like a pretty shabby local's boozer, but in reality this is a smart, well presented, two bar pub that attracted a good mix of drinkers and diners on my Sunday lunchtime visit. You enter into a corridor that runs down the left hand side of the pub, with two doors to the right leading into each bar. The first door takes you into the smaller public bar which has smart floorboards and bare brick walls. A lovely stained glass arched window on the front wall bears the pub's name and looks quite spectacular when backlit. Banquette seating to the front and left looks very comfortable, especially in comparison to the high butcher's block tables and stools in the middle of the room. A couple of TV screens were showing Sky Sports News with music playing over the top and the walls were adorned with Banksy style artwork, which apparently is part of the pub's art theme. Following the corridor towards the rear, you pass a large selection of framed press cuttings about the pub, where you can learn a bit more about their ethos. A second door leads into the rear lounge bar which has a small bare boarded area around the bar with a pub mirror and a collection of CAMRA awards on show. Further on, the room is carpeted and has a good mix of banquette, standard and low stool seating, again with pop art/Warhol style paintings on display. A large U-shaped banquette runs around the back of the room, serving several tables and giving views out to the decent looking beer garden. There were more TV screens in here, but these ones were turned off whilst music played instead, perhaps from the pub jukebox. Quite a lot of people in this room were eating, with the Sunday roasts seemingly very popular.
Most of the handpulls are found in the lounge and I couldn't see a board in the front bar, so probably best to head to the rear room to work out the full range. Options on this visit were Wye Valley HPA (£3.50), Morland Old Golden Hen, Fixed Wheel Single Mosaic and Church End Willie Brew'd. My pint of HPA was in great shape and slipped down very nicely after the walk out here from the city centre.
I thought this was a really nicely presented pub that worked well for diners and those just wanting a drink alike. The place is pretty comfortable, seemed to have a relaxed vibe and kept a good pint of ale, so I would be more than happy to return the next time I'm in the area.

On 13th February 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Lord Clifden

Not helped by an unattractive façade amongst a row of dreary shops, but things improve once inside. Small (quiet) front bar and a rather unnecessary (for a Monday night) DJ in the main bar behind. Semi-modern furniture and decor, with some bare brick walls. At the back, you find a partly covered courtyard bar (unsurprisingly, given the weather and time of year, not in use) featuring table football and a smoking area beyond. Six handpumps distributed between the two bar counters, with beers including Franklin's 1066 (£3.70), HPA and Sunny Republic Dune Raider.

On 17th December 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Lord Clifden

A two bar pub on a scruffy road, the small public bar at the front was a bit uninteresting until I realised there was a bigger room behind. The lounge behind is split level with the rear lower section being more of a dining area. The counter near the front has a good selection on four hand pumps plus some more interesting continental beers and a reasonable bottled range, none of which is very apparent in the front bar. A bell in the front bar attracts the ire of the bar staff when used by idiots. Neat if bland decor in the rear with some good posters where the comedy comes from a juxtaposition, for example grannies knitting punk clothing, apparently they are by Banksy. One of two pubs in the area owned by Urban Art Bar the other being the Red Lion. Both are GBG listed in the 2014 edition.

On 16th September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Lord Clifden

The Lord Clifden is a very short walk from the Church pub.
Once inside there was a square shaped room to the front,there were two pumps on the bar but both unclipped,so i decided to go into the rear lounge,this room was larger and oblong in shape,it was bare boarded to the front and had copper topped tables and bench seating with small stools,the rear area was carpeted and had bench seating and normal tables and chairs.
There were three real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Wye Valley HPA which was a very nice drink,the other beers were Kelham Pale Rider and kelham Summer Breeze.
The pub was quite busy and had a good lively atmosphere.
I quite liked this one.

Pub visited 17/8/2013

On 17th August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Lord Clifden

Called in as part of our crawl round Brum. Several decent beers on in the back room, including 2 from Blue Monkey. the weather was decent for once and we stood outside on the patio area watching the test match on one of several outdoor screens and taking in the many pieces of art on display. Excellent beer pub, don't let the exterior and the tag as "Art Pub" put you off, well worth a visit.

On 23rd July 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]

Page: 1 2