User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Scores with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Lamp Tavern, Birmingham

157 Barford Street
Highgate
Postal town: Birmingham
B5 6AH

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about The Lamp Tavern

A must visit - as these sorts of pubs won't be around forever.

0.5 miles out of the City Centre - but a world apart. Increasing levels of destitution of dilapidated light industrial units and you find this pub in a most unlikely location.

Good Beer Guide 2019 entry and the Goffs Cheltenham Gold was perfect.

Single roomed - bar decorated with knick knacks and awards going back 25 years.... possibly my favourite thing was the completely empty three bottle white wine chiller

On 14th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Lamp Tavern

Looking more like a run down working mans club from the outside, the Lamp tavern opens into a small, slightly shabby bar with 3 handpulls, serving Tiger, Harvest Pale and another on my visit. Really well kept beer, served by the chatty Irish landlord. Toilets were a bit stinky on a Saturday afternoon, for no good reason.

On 28th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Lamp Tavern

Hidden away in the backstreets of a semi-industrial area, you are unlikely to come across this old-fashioned (in a good way) single-room pub by chance. However, many beer-lovers make the effort and it has won plenty of local Camra awards. Comfortable, if fairly basic, furniture. Various items of memorabilia on the walls. The associated Lillie Langtry's lounge and music venue at the back has a separate entrance but can also be accessed from the compact bar. Three of six handpumps operational when I visited, dispensing Lamplight from the in-house Rock & Roll Brewhouse, Everards Tiger and Mallinsons SPA (£2.90). Well worth seeking out.

On 24th January 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Lamp Tavern

Situated in a fairly inauspicious part of town, the Lamp Tavern is a charming local's pub that you're unlikely to stumble across without knowing about it. The pub initially appears to be a very compact single room affair. You enter through a small porch into the main bar, with the servery running down the left hand wall and a long, curved banquette wrapping itself around the front, right and rear walls. The room is carpeted throughout and has red and cream walls decorated with lots of old photos, pictures, brewery mirrors and newspaper articles. A lengthy history of the pub hangs in a large frame opposite the bar, although frustratingly, I couldn't read it without leaning over other punters. Local radio was playing very quietly in the background and I noticed an old wireless set in the front window. Seating is at a premium here and despite not being that busy when I visited, the only seat I could find was on a bar stool at the far end of the bar and it was already becoming a little tricky to squeeze between the seating and bar when people were stood there ordering. Just when I thought that's all there was to the pub, music struck up through a door to the rear, so I went and explored, only to find a lounge bar in a sizeable rear room. There are some comfy looking padded button backed banquettes in here, as well as a short servery and a nice stained glass cupola. A stage at the rear explained where the music was coming from, as a band were there tuning up for their gig later in the evening. The corridor between the two rooms boasts some nice art prints and there was an upright piano stood in one corner.
The pub is home to the Rock and Roll Brewery, who apparently operate from the pub's roof. Their Misty Mountain Hops was available and in decent condition, alongside Stanway Stanney Bitter and Cotteswold Gold, Everards Tiger and Hobson's Mild. The pub is also the only in the West Midlands to stock Stanway beers from Gloucestershire. I was served by a charming barman who has apparently been manning the pumps here for over 20 years.
I found this to be a very friendly and relaxing spot for a pint and imagine it would be a good place to settle down for an evening. It's certainly worth a look, especially if you want to try some beers you're unlikely to find elsewhere in the city, and I will definitely call in again the next time I'm in the area.

On 10th May 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2408 recommendations about 2408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Dafydd Williams left this review about The Lamp Tavern

The Lamp was recently voted into 2nd place in CAMRA's Birmingham pub of the year 2013. Had it won it would have been fully deserved.

On 25th January 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 13 recommendations about 12 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Stobbs left this review about The Lamp Tavern

Found this pub for the first time while on a visit to Birmingham and what a place. Good choice of beer and a locals local. Made welcome and felt like I have been drinking all my life in this pub. A real gem.

On 19th June 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 17 recommendations about 14 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Lamp Tavern

This pub is now the tap for Rock & Roll brewery, and when we called there during our visit to Birmingham beer fewstival last month there were 3 of their beers on. We enjoyed E.F.F.O.F.F. , Equinox and Lamplight PA.

On 11th November 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Lamp Tavern

Tiny pub, in the industrial back streets going south of the City, it is walkwable from the Markets area and close enough to The Anchor as well, but not the most picturesque setting.

Some seating available but limited (as is the standing!). There are various certifcates/awards hanging above the bar servery.

Its a plain, small boozer but a fine example of such with excellent choice of ales, including Stanway's Stannie Bitter., making it a great place to pop in for a good real ale.

Was popular on my early evening visit.

On 12th July 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Lamp Tavern

An unassuming exterior in an unappealing area disguises an intimate, friendly local within. The narrow front room has comfy red-covered wall seating along with some small tables and accompanying stools, with wood panelling above the bar – very 1950’s! There is a large back room used for live music and private functions, which was closed on my visit, making the front room rather ‘cosy’. Six pumps serving four ales were available during my visit, I recall seeing Stanway Bitter, Everards Tiger, a Beartown beer and an Acorn one, with one clip turned (Church End Mild, I think) – no complaints on the quality of mine. This is a comfy beer drinkers pub and worth popping into if in Digbeth – around 10 minutes walk from New Street as well.

On 12th November 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Lamp Tavern

A small back street pub forming the third and plainer boozer of a trio of well regarded pubs in Digbeth. It is small and corridor like with the counter down one side and seating down the other, there is a room for live music at the back apparently, plainly decorated with some nice pictures. Very quiet when I called in but the beer was in fine form, most coming from microbreweries and apart from the Everards and Wadworths none were familiar to me.

On 22nd June 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]

Page: 1 2