User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th September 2019) with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Jewellers Arms, Birmingham

23 Hockley Street
Hockley
Postal town: Birmingham
B18 6BW
Phone: 01212364402

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


paulof horsham left this review about The Jewellers Arms

Nicely refurbished by the people at Black Country Ales with 10 ales on the bar - 3 of their own. Cider as well, if you like that sort of thing. A good buzz in the pub on our visit (including West Brom fans in pre-match) and the pints we had were in good nick.

Recommended if you're visiting this part of town.

On 13th May 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 267 recommendations about 258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Jewellers Arms

Revisit: Now part of the Black Country Ales chain, opened up into one room following the bar round. Comfortable and still in a traditional style with BCA's standard fittings. Good choice of real ale.

17/10/2010: 2 roomed small local in the heart of the Jewellery Quarter. Its still very traditional, usual pub carpets, tables etc.

I was hoping for good things with the advertisement for Hobsons bitter on the door, but they only had one real ale - an average Hobgoblin.

A very friendly, nice pub - improve the beer and for me this would be great.

On 10th April 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1225 recommendations about 1202 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Jewellers Arms

What a find this one was today while wandering around Hockley. It is a recently refurbed bar by Black Country Ales and like the others in the chain it has 3 of their own beers and a selection of 7 other ales from a variety of breweries. I was spoiled for choice but enjoyed my Salcombe Seahorse beer.

On 3rd April 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Jewellers Arms

Black Country Ales have done a great job with this pub. Now boasting a large selection of ales. The 2 we tried were in fine form.

On 24th December 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 866 recommendations about 837 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about The Jewellers Arms

After a closure, this pub has been refurbed and taken over by Black Country Ales. It is due to reopen December 2017.

On 11th December 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Jewellers Arms

As Mr Hondo says this is a good old style locals local. 2 roomed with just the one real ale, Hobson's best, though there are 2 handpumps in the lounge bar. I liked it cos its unspoilt without being a dive.

On 25th February 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3347 recommendations about 3263 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Jewellers Arms

An old style bar and lounge with 2 real taps(both off on my visit).

On 1st August 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2580 recommendations about 2524 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Jewellers Arms

This is the one boozer in the area that hasn't been taken over by the Hipsters.

Very traditional inside - one real ale - Hobsons Best - which was in good nick.

Mixed crowd of football fans (football was on), old guys drinking away the afternoon, pre-wedding crowds and interested pub tourists. That was me.

Some photos at my blog - http://mappiman.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/020515-jewellery-quarter-pub-crawl.html

On 4th May 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 558 recommendations about 553 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Jewellers Arms

Traditional-looking pub, with an unusual mural sign on one side. The pool table is the main feature of the basic bar at the front, with a larger lounge and old-fashioned dining room at the rear. Fairly plain furniture and decor throughout. Background music rather annoyingly competing with the football being shown on various TVs. Function room upstairs (not visited). Also has a few wooden benches out front. Just Hobsons Best (£2.90) available from two handpumps, but at least this was in good form.

On 17th December 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5639 recommendations about 5639 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Jewellers Arms

A two bar traditional pub and the most oriented to locals that I tried in the area with the possible exception of the Brown Lion. It still has a high food/drinks ratio although the food is more homely than say the Drop Forge or Clifden and is ordered and served at a kitchen hatch in the right hand lounge. This room is split down the middle with the counter across one end, benches with stools at Britannia tables the rule here. The public in tongue and groove has a pool table and I think a big screen as well as in the lounge but I didn't tarry long in the public. There are two pulls on the counter in the lounge but only Hobsons Bitter was on and it wasn't a bad pint, OK as part of a Jewellery Quarter crawl but not a destination in its own right.

On 16th September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2070 recommendations about 1926 pubs]

Page: 1 2