User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Harborne Stores, Birmingham

109 High Street
Harborne
Postal town: Birmingham
B17 9NP
Phone: 01214283121

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Harborne Stores

Still very good prices and friendly service. This is a good down to earth pub in an area where there are a few more upmarket places. Pedigree, Greene King IPA and Hobgoblin amongst the usual lagers etc...Six enormous breakfasts were served to a large group while I was in and they looked (and smelt) very good.

On 22nd October 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 949 recommendations about 918 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Harborne Stores

A traditional pub and much more down to earth than the Plough and the Green Man a bit further up. The pub is split into 2 with a longish lounge to the right with the room to the left acting as the bar. The servery is also split in 2. Both areas have 3 handpumps and there were 2 ales available, GK IPA and Pedigree.

On 26th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3374 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Harborne Stores

A change of pace, having been with the hipsters at the New Inn and the Junction.

Noticed it was packed at 11:30am. What's the reason? Is it the football? Is it the horse racing? Well, they were both on but no - the reason had to be the prices.

This is 2015 and a pint of IPA was £1.75. I commented to the barman that this is the cheapest pint I have seen since the mid nineties. He said I should come back on Tuesday, when its £1.50.

Blimey.

Very lively. I wouldn't bring Mrs Mappiman. Well, I probably would, but she would want to go back to the New Inn.

Some photos at bit.ly/1OLHiaR

On 16th November 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 594 recommendations about 589 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Harborne Stores

Only created as a pub from a licenced shop in 1958, and extended into an adjacent unit at some stage to create a second bar. Further lounge-style seating areas at the back on both sides, and a beer garden also advertised. Typical pubco furniture and decor, and a standard Stonegate menu. Music at slightly more than background level. Greene King IPA (remarkably priced at just £1.75) and Pedigree (£1.99) available from total of six handpumps.

On 16th March 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve Higham left this review about Harborne Stores

A friendly but down to earth pub. The lager is always consistently good, service can be sparse at times. A variety of characters use this pub, old and young. Crowd tends to switch to the young at night-time. £2.10 for Carling, one of the cheapest prices about. Pain at the back for parking, as the High St. shoppers tend to steal the spaces. Overall a very busy pub and good banter to be had here.

On 3rd November 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5 recommendations about 5 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Harborne Stores

A large end terrace pub in pink, with black paintwork

The interior is open plan 'U' shaped around the central bar, with a few fireplaces to add some character a place that makes A JDW's look classy. The decor is a mix of light and dark grey, with some black and gold wallpaper. The music was mixed, the service fine. The clientele are clearly happy with cheap food, cheap beer - £1.49 for John Smith's Cask, so i stuck to a coke. It has lots of Sky TVs, ornate mirrors that look out of place in an unkempt place.

Beer; tap stuff, with an M&B MILD, with Pedigree and John Smiths Cask on handpull.

I wanted to walk out, i fear a curiosity overtook me, to see just how dreadful it was. I did see and won't be back. Even the Varsity and Vine beat this.

On 26th February 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Taylor left this review about Harborne Stores

Unkept pub.. full of jobless, OAPs and hardened drinkers. Used be getting good reviews but somehow getting worse by day. I visited it for the first time in middle of Jan 2010, I was hit by smell of stale urine. Also smell of bad bo waffing around the room. No proper real ales so I opted for pint of Worthingtons which is rather bland. Very poor choices of beers. Lager seems most popular in here. Wont be returning. Go to White Horse nearby.

On 4th February 2010 - rating: 2
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 75 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Barry Barcrest left this review about Harbone Stores

This pub is a traditional down to earth boozer. No fancy food or the like just some good old beer. One of the few pubs left to serve mild.

It has a small pool table, dart board, 3 fruit machines, touchscreen and jukebox.

On 10th January 2005 - rating: 8
[User has posted 21 recommendations about 20 pubs]