User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Green Man, Birmingham

2 High Street
Harborne
Postal town: Birmingham
B17 9NE

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Ember Inns (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Green Man

Still a good selection of ales on. The pale ale was fine. Camra discount too!

On 14th March 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1049 recommendations about 1010 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Green Man

A large Ember Inns pub. Open plan inside and due to its size there are plenty of areas to sit. 11 handpumps in total on the bar with a bank of 8 and a bank of 3. There were 7 ales on offer today with beers from Brains, Cotleigh and Purity amongst others. If you know Ember Inns pubs you'll know what to expect. A beer patio is to the rear, as is a car park.

On 26th January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Green Man

Located at the east end of Harborne High Street, this is a substantial 1930s food-led pub with a variety of seating areas around the 'L'-shaped bar counter. Mixture of modern dining tables, with decor mostly in pastel shades and anonymous background music. Standard Ember Inns menu. Surprisingly, it had a good selection of eight real ales from a total of 11 handpumps, including standard offerings like Brakspear, Pride and Landlord plus some less-common beers such as Bateman's Silver Hare (£3.00).

On 16th March 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Green Man

Comfortable Ember Inns pub with several drinking areas and a good selection of real ales.

On 24th June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Green Man

Ember Inn with good selection of 6 real ales in good condition. Pleasant decor and furnishings. Reasonable prices eg £2.75 for pint of beer.

On 16th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about The Green Man

A single storey mock Tudor building with sandstone mullioned bay windows, dual Jacobean style gable ends either side of the entrance and dormer windows in the roof, the current pub was built in 1939 to replace a lovely Georgian pub on the same spot, it is now owned by Ember Inns. The interior has a fairly modern décor with various pastel colours and some fake traditional features such as exposed rustic brick walls and artificially weathered beams, the layout is generally open plan around a central island bar counter. On the left of the entrance is a small area with most of the beams, a basic coal grate in the back wall and leather bench seats. To the right of the entrance is a more spacious area with a large open fire place in the right hand wall and high booths with leather bench seating. In the back right corner of the building is another area with a contemporary tiled floor and a double sided fire place with brick chimney breast and a cast grate. There were a couple of large flat screen TV’s dotted around that were showing a boxing match in the early afternoon, which I thought was a bit of a strange time to be showing that kind of thing.

Regular ales are currently M&B Brew XI and Purity Pure UBU with up to four changing guest beers, but on this occasion there was only two which were Double Maxim and Orkney Dark Island (GBG 2012 and Cask Marque). I tried both of the guest beers which were in good condition, it is the first time that I have had the chance to try the Double Maxim on hand pull and I’m pleased to say it did not disappoint.

Like many of the other reviewers on this site I am not a huge fan of the Ember Inns brand simply because their pubs always feel at least a little fake and naff. Saying that the place is clean, I thought the beer was well kept and an interesting selection. Not the first pub I would revisit in the area but I would pop in for one again.

On 20th February 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Green Man

I found the staff very welcoming here and the ales good. The cask ales were defo up to standard as a guy from Cask Marque was in testing to see if they were up to scatch and all five passed no prob. I went for the M+B bitter XI, White Horse Brewery Wayland Smithy and Purity UBU. Will call again.

On 1st November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Green Man

Large, comfortable, food biased large pub. It has a modern interior that is formula based as its an Ember Inn, but I found this more attractive than others I have been in, possibly because its a more traditional building, and I would prefer this one to something such as say a Toby, but you can't get away from the formula of a big chain.

Beer quality was actually good, which I wasn't expecting, and they have a choice of 5 real ales, and they do a pint of Brew 11 for £1.99 - not bad for this area!

On 14th June 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Green Man

A large detached corner 30s looking brick build in mock Tudor style with crow stepped gables. It is an Ember Inn. There is a patio.

The interior is like most Ember Inns but not to the same nauseating level. It is open plan with the familiar plain walls of differing colours; plum, clay and white etc. There were the usual vases and arty pictures, wood piles and such, but not so evident as other Embers and there were a few old photos of the pub to add some real interest. Sofas and high stools are present and there is a clear foody feel. There were open fires. The service was fine, the clientele mixed and it was busy.

Beer; tap stuff, with no MILD. There were 7 real ale handpulls with; Brew XI, Harvestoun Bitter & Twisted, Titanic Iceberg, Wadsworth Henry's IPA, Purity Ubu, Timothy Taylor Landlord and Slater's Top Totty.

Ember Inns are a partucular dislike personally, this is not the worst of them though. I just wouldn't return, not my thing.

On 27th February 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Taylor left this review about The Green Man

Rather average Ember Inn pub. Real ales are off so is Mild. I opted for only alternative, Brew XI and sat down front biggest log fire I ever seen in any Ember Inn! I had bitter experience with Green Man, Barmaid walked over and gave me good telling off for wearing hat. Come on it was cold outside! It was pretty empty and soulless on my visit.

On 4th February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 75 pubs]

Page: 1 2