User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

The Coach & Horses, Birmingham

Weatheroak Hill
Weatheroak
Postal town: Birmingham
B48 7EA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Coach & Horses

Lovely big pub with 2 bars and a restaurant. We chose to sit in the left hand bar which is very dog friendly and enjoyed our 2 Weatheroak Hill beers from the 4 available, Icknield Pale Ale and Impossible Pale Ale. Other beers from Wye Valley, Hook Norton, St Austell, Shropshire, Holdens or Hobsons, Love this pub in the summer in the lovely big garden.

On 16th April 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Coach & Horses

An excellent freehouse with its own Microbrewery. I really enjoyed our visit here, I thought their Weatheroak Icknield Pale Ale was superb and had to go for a second pint along with trying their Weatheroak Gold and Sticklebrackt Hoppy pale. They also had some excellent cobs, which were served with sliced onions, which were sliced up in a bowl on the bar where you helped yourself.
I found the staff and the locals all to be friendly and chatty, and the young brewer took me on a tour around the small brewhouse at the front of the pub. The interior of the pub consists of two traditional rooms, with bars either side of the entrance and a new extended restaurant area. The pub had ten ales on handpump on our visit, four from Weatheroak Hill and six guest, Woods Shropshire Lad, Holdens Golden Glow, Old Hooky, St Austell Proper Job, and two from Hobsons. Mrs A also had one of their homemade pizzas, which was very good.

On 10th October 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Redwolves Dog left this review about The Coach & Horses

We called in last night; I hope I'm not the driver next time I visit here. There was good selection of real ales on, I noticed that they had "Proper Job" on. A very comfortable relaxed place. The cheese cobs went down well too.

On 18th September 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 48 recommendations about 47 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Coach & Horses

Top pub - been here a couple of times now.

Very isolated. Obviously the M42 has made the old coaching route between BRM and LDN obsolete. And no need for the Roman Road of Ryknild Street.

Does everything right - the old building is for drinkers and unchanged for years. There is a smart restaurant to the side. There is a converted stable where they brew their own beer. Also, guest ales on.

Even do Cheese Cobs on a Sunday.

Recommended.

Some photos at my walking blog - http://mappiman.blogspot.co.uk/2016/07/100716-coach-and-horses-at-weatheroak.html

On 10th July 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 276 recommendations about 275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Helen Iwanczuk left this review about The Coach & Horses

There's not much more I can add to Soup Dragon's description of The Coach and Horses, other than they do good "pub grub" at very reasonable prices. We did not use the restaurant, but ate al fresco, very pleasant.

On 31st March 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 207 recommendations about 153 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Coach & Horses

This is a detached pub and restaurant, with beer garden area. It is in the GBG and home to the Weatheroak Brewery. The pub became a beerhouse sometime after 1830, likely to serve the passing coach trade. It is a multi-building site, with the main part of the pub being in white render, although the windows are a little modern and the brick restaurant extension looks a little incongruous. The interior has a couple of rooms - I didn't see the restaurant. The bar is in two parts, off to the left there is a room, in white and green, with a black and red tile floor, a red fireplace, prints on the walls and settles and stools for seating. The front bar has a red tile floor, is in white, with a few brasses, high stools and old radios as speakers. The bar is of brick. Up a few steps is the lounge (people were eating here too). It is in white, with a wood floor and a red and beam open roof. It is a brick fireplace and chimney, mirrors and prints, as well as tables and chairs and the odd pouffe for seating. There was no music and I didn't see a TV. The service was fine and the place was busy with a mixed clientele. Beer; usual tap stuff with Woods Shropshire Lass, Hook Norton Old Hookey, Holden's Special and Golden Glow, Hobson's MILD and Best, Weatheroak IPA, Gold and Dark Horse. I tried several of the drinks and they were very good. Something for everyone here - a traditional bit for me and the modern bit for the, well, moderny people. Definitely worth a visit - a place you can stay for hours.

On 18th September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Coach & Horses

A rather nice country pub not from from M42.

Nice modernised country inn with a bar an lounge which are quite small and a restaurant extension, though what possessed them to build the extension in modern brick is beyond me. The seating is quite modern, a number of sofas and the like, not always my kind of thing but here I found it comfortable and relaxing.

I think they still brew there own beer here and there is a choice of 8 real ales, tasting great and kept very well.

A very pleasant visit.

On 16th March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Anonymous User left this review about The Coach & Horses

Further to the earlier comment, the pub may be difficult to find if you go by the address stated! It may have a 'B' post code, but Alvechurch has its own identity and is a good 12 miles from Brum!

On 12th June 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 0 recommendations about 0 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Horton left this review about The Coach & Horses

Superb free house. Has own brewery & beers. Several other real ales, good food. Large car park. Difficult to find as nowhere near a main road.

On 14th July 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 148 recommendations about 148 pubs]