User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

The Bulls Head, Birmingham Central, Birmingham

38 Bishopsgate Street
Birmingham
B15 1EJ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Al Bundy left this review about The Bulls Head

An excellent pub and by far the best by the Broad St drag. A good looking exterior and a pleasant interior make for a very good 2 roomed pub. Davenport beers to the fore on the 5 handpulls. There are 8 taps for crafty lager-a-likes but I have limited interest in them. Definitely the pub to seek out if you're down Broad St way.

On 25th July 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3348 recommendations about 3264 pubs]


Quinno _ left this review about The Bulls Head

Lovely terracotta building located off the party strip. Retains a smattering of traditional old features such as the dark wood and stained glass porch. The main bar has been modernised but manages a cosy feel; mushroom coloured banquettes, embossed ceiling moulds, exposed brick walls, battleship grey painted wood and white metro tiled bar back - nice. Five pumps with four Davenports branded ales on. I went for the Mild which was warm, pump tired and had begun to suffer as a result. That none of the three under-worked staff had poured a little through said a lot to me about the state of cask in 2019. In short; nice pub, poor beer, staff and cellar skills.

On 21st July 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3899 recommendations about 3887 pubs]


Gill Smith left this review about The Bulls Head

This pub was very busy when we called in today and has a delightful old fashioned pub charm about it. Highgate Davenports ales were on the bar and we enjoyed the Davenports Pumpkin Toffee Stout.

On 26th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Bulls Head

First re-visit since the City Tavern was taken over by Davenports and his its original name restored. The bold brick façade housing a traditional two-bar layout still remains, but the previously tatty interior has been attractively refurbished to highlight the heritage features. Now features five handpumps, with beers including the brewery's Original Bitter, IPA and the 7.2 % Atlantic plus a cider. Also has six craft keg taps. Overall, hugely improved and rating upped accordingly.

On 30th July 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5639 recommendations about 5639 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Bulls Head

What a transformation! From the very rough City Tavern to the well appointed Bulls Head. The Davenports beers I tried were in great nick and the staff were very friendly. I have been in twice in the last week which is as many times as I went in the City Tavern in the last 20 years!

On 15th February 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 866 recommendations about 837 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Bulls Head

Further revisit: One of the first investments by the revitalised Highgate Davenports company/brand, they have done a lovely job transforming the interior of this building, smartly drawn back to the exposed brick in places but supplemented with fine fittings. Vary close to what was once the large Davenports brewery on Bath Place.

Thin rectangular front bar with long bar, with traditional Victorian Back Street bar look, smaller lounge at rear with wooden floor, fire place & gentlemens club seating & chandelier and book case. Very small, one-tabled further snug space.

Real ale, still needs a little work but fine 2 Highgate & 2 Davenports choice.

Grill menu & various craft ales & cocktails.

29/07/2013 A revisit finds the interior here changed - still a fine building outside its a bit rough and ready inside & now there is no real ale. Has gone downhill in the last 3 years, maybe too close to Broad Street & Five Ways whilst not accommodating to that modern crowd?

27/09/2009: One of Birmingham latest real ale pubs, this place is ok and close to the garish Broad Street.

A well done Victorian boozer, Davenports beers if you like that kind of thing & a few guests.

I would say a typical Brum corner pub with good beer. Three stars for the beer.

On 9th February 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1225 recommendations about 1202 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The City Tavern

Recently refurbished by Davenports and has reverted back to its original name - The Bulls Head.

On 6th January 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 866 recommendations about 837 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The City Tavern

Old style pub with a central bar serving the bar and lounge. 4 real ale taps but all off on my visit. A bit rough round the edges but good to hear locals enjoying their pub.

On 2nd August 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2580 recommendations about 2524 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about The City Tavern

A fine 1901 Birmingham Corporation red terracotta exterior.

Two real ales on, Pedigree and Highgate Dark Mild. A third tap showed a 'Coming Soon' sign, but did not say what was 'Coming Soon' and a fourth 'dead' tap. I had the Mild which was fine, and for £2.00 a pint, I can't complain.

There are two rooms, a bar, entered from Bishopsgate St and a 'Lounge' tucked away behind the bar. I don't know if it has a separate entrance.

There is a 'stage' area in the gap you need to go through to get to the lounge or the Gents, so I assume, if they have live music or discos, there must be another way through.

The interior was rough and ready, but the customers and staff were very friendly.

There was an altercation in the pub when I visited when someone who had been banned tried to buy a drink and was refused. Needless to say, he wasn't happy.

However, I would be happy to pop in again.

On 24th April 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Ven left this review about The City Tavern

Popped in at lunchtime today, hoping to find some Highgate Mild but all I found was a row of empty handpulls and a choice of lager. The City Tavern is not currently serving cask ale, much to my disappointment. I saw one other customer which doesn't bode well if today was a typical lunchtime. I will pop back and update my review to see if cask ales have made a return.

On 30th October 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 240 pubs]

Page: 1 2