User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 20th September 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Eagle & Tun, Birmingham

46 New Canal Street
Birmingham
B5 5RB

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Delboy 20 left this review about The Eagle & Tun

Shame to see Eagle & Tun is to be demolished. The pub was made slightly famous by being used in the "Red Red Wine" video by UB40. It was also known as "The Cauliflower Ear" for a short time due to its connection with the local boxing scene. I used it a couple of times many years ago. You just can't replace this sort of pub.

On 6th January 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1070 recommendations about 1028 pubs]


hondo . left this review about The Eagle & Tun

will be demolished as part of HS2

On 6th January 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2700 recommendations about 2644 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Eagle & Tun

A fairly standard pub with friendly staff. A single L-shaped room with about 5 handpulls. Reasonably nice beer. It had emptied just as I entered and if it wasn't for Birmingham City being home I might of had a complex. The pub was apparently featured in UB40s Red Red Wine video, hence the UB40 stuff dotted on the walls.

On 11th August 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3388 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Eagle & Tun

We received a good welcome in this family run pub. Six handpumps with four in operation, so we went for the Green Duck Brewery Duck and Cover from Stourbridge and the Salopian Oracle, both were in excellent shape. They also make sure that your pint is filled to the top, as they use a small glass and keep toping your pint up.
We also tried their homemade vegetable samosas, which were excellent. Maybe on a next visit we will go for one of their curries at £6 each with rice, homemade by the landlord's wife.

On 28th February 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Eagle & Tun

Traditional corner local in area blighted by future HS2 development.

Pub tiles and leaded windows, some musical references around the walls, due to its association with the band UB40. Lino floor, green padded benches around the outer walls. There is an attached off licence in the adjoining room.

Very traditional, as with the nearby Woodman.

5 real ales, well kept

On 14th April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Eagle and Tun

Thankfully now open again after many years of closure, and very much still a work in progress, but the landlord and his son are obviously very keen to make a go of things. Like its reopened near-neighbour, the Woodman, it suffered some dispiriting vandalism and theft in the interim, but there are still a few features of interest (including the tiled back wall). The remainder of the 'L'-shaped bar is fairly simply furnished, but it retains a separate pool room at the back and the former side room has been transformed into a specialist off-licence. On the beer front, the regular Wye Valley HPA (£3.50) has been supplemented by Oakham Bishops Farewell and a changing selection of other guests to see what goes well. Definitely planning to go back when next in the area to see how things develop.

On 21st February 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Carl Baker left this review about Cauliflower Ear

Now reverted to the Eagle and Tun.

On 24th March 2007 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 86 recommendations about 86 pubs]