User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

The Black Horse (JD Wetherspoon), Birmingham

Bristol Road South
Northfield
Postal town: Birmingham
B31 2QT
Phone: 01214771800

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Black Horse (JD Wetherspoon)

Hugely imposing brewer's Tudor roadhouse with one of the longest pub facades in Britain. Whilst given the Wetherspoon treatment inside, there is plenty of interest retained here too, including a fine feature fireplace. The elongated main bar mainly serves those just having a drink, but there is a further larger seating / dining area in a rear room and more tables hidden away behind the bar. Function room with another small bar (not in use) upstairs. Given the size of the building, there must be a good deal more unused space too, and there is also a rear patio area. Reasonable selection of real ales from seven of ten handpumps (allowing for duplicates), with the Backyard January Sale (£2.49) proving to be in good form.

On 4th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5940 recommendations about 5940 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Black Horse (JD Wetherspoon)

As mentioned below this is a huge original roadside pub that also gives its name to the busy A38 road junction where it stands. As also noted below it was a Davenport's house and did appear in the GBG under that guise. It's something of a labyrinth inside with a central bar area containing tall tables and chairs, a dining room off to the left, two further areas to the right and a narrow area with white tiles alongside the doors leading to the patio. Despite this being an expensive Spoons for the Midlands (standard guest ales £2.49) there was something of a daytime brigade contingent as well as an ignorant chavvy mother who was happy to allow her two kids to use the left side of the pub as a playground.
The bar has two sets of five hand pumps which on my visit had the JDW Trio Of Doom, one unused, London Pride, Prescott Grand Prix, Banks's Alpha 5 Pale, Brewster's Rutterkin, Ringwood Razor Back and Inveralmond Schiehallion. I had time to try the Grand Prix & Rutterkin (£2.65) which were in really good nick.
Overall I thought this was a good Spoons.

On 7th July 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2142 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Black Horse (JD Wetherspoon)

Large, spralling Wetherspoons, unusual due to its mock-tudor style and there is also a separation of space internally. Old tudor house interior makes it a nice design but there is also the standard Wetherspoons fittings that make it feel slightly 'chainy'.

There is a large pation and also a bowling green at the rear making a nice space.

The fact there is a good choice of very well kept beer and the service seems good makes this one of the better Wetherspoons.

On 14th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Black Horse (JD Wetherspoon)

A Spoon's pub/eatery with patio areas, bowling green and a car park (unusually for them). Built in 1929 due to the housing explosion in the area, it is irregular in shape and in a mock-Todor style - the white and beam look rather than stone. The interior has a plethora of old rooms (some now open plan) and function rooms uptairs. The main public bar faces you on entry, with a massive serving bar. Behind this is the old Assembly Room, now a more dining area. Off to the right are the old mixed, and behind this, the gent's smoke room. The decor has a mix of colours, with wood panel and some nice collared truss roof beams. Theusual mix of old photos and info boards are on the walls. There was no music and the silent TVs were showing Sky News. The service was fine and the usual mix of Spoons' clientele was in. Beer; usual taps and set real ales - 10 handpulls overall - and my Beowulf Dark Raven was very good, again emphasising to me that their consistency is getting better. Although at the end of the day, it is still a Spoons, i would return here.

On 20th February 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Black Horse (JD Wetherspoon)

Robert Davenport of Davenports Brewery commissioned the building of the Black Horse and it was completed in 1929. This pub features in Camra's National Inventory of Historic pub Interiors. Make sure you go upstairs and check out the stunning function rooms. Ten ales on handpump on our visit. It was a hot day, so I went for the Gwynt-y-Ddraig Haymaker Cider. To get here, we got the Redditch train from New Street station and it's six stops.

On 21st July 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2947 recommendations about 2947 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve Higham left this review about The Black Horse (JD Wetherspoon)

Went here on October 12th. 2010. What areformation! Had a great night. Friendly barstaff, very accommodating-they had no peppermint and let us use our own bottle. Marvellous gardens, alot of thought gone into the presentation of them. Just wish they could get some heating out there- it was freezing! Very nice interior, and plenty of choice in the booze department, with plenty of special vouchers giving the customer offers on drinks. A real job well done in the uplift of a truly nice pub. Will visit again when they have some outdoor heat.

On 4th November 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5 recommendations about 5 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Black Horse (JD Wetherspoon)

Went in for the first time today, and I would say that I can't agree with anything the previous reviewer has said. Staff were friendly and polite, the building was a credit to Wetherspoons who must have spent a fortune to make such a beautiful building so welcoming and pleasant to be in. Had a walk round both downstairs and upstairs. Lots of different seating areas and a great outside drinking area too at the back. A brilliant building. The ales were superb. There was a festival on, and we did try 7 of those on offer and there was nothing wrong with them at all. In fact, they were better than most JDW's serve as they were not super chilled to the point where they lose flavour. Toilets were clean and I found no fault with it at all, and will be back. One of the customers told me the food is better than most so we will try the food next visit.

On 2nd November 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Candy Me left this review about The Black Horse (JD Wetherspoon)

I visited this pub as a family we decided to give it a go mean as it is now a wetherspoons, I have to be honest it is disgusting flys all over the place (really annoying when eating and they flying above your drink or in my partners case one landed on the side of his plate!), the food well the steak was black and tasted sour because they had failed to clean the grill from when they have previously cooked on it, the brunch was cold, egg yolks were crunchy how did they manage that?!!beans had a skin of its own and sausages were like chewing leather. The roast dinner was dry and over cooked, we enlarged it yet they failed to tell us on ordering that 2 out of the 3 items when you enlarge had ran out. The table was filthy and there was a 20 min wait in between the first person getting their meal and the last person!
I visit wetherspoons often and I have to say this is the worst it has the worst food ever and even walking in to the place it is uncomfortable, ppl staring if your face dont fit then you have no chance. I do not think they can do anything with this pub it has the worst food and the wrong type of people drink in there, it will never have a good reputation which is a shame...I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT AND WILL DEFINATELY NOT BE GOING BACK!!!!!!

On 2nd August 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]