User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 23rd January 2022) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Zetland Arms Hotel, Warwick

11 Church Street
Warwick
CV34 4AB

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Zetland Arms Hotel

A fairly average pub with a few locals in, all looking bored. The place is nice enough decor wise but sadly the beer selection was poor today with just one real ale on and with that being Doom Bore it was Guinness for me. Pleasant enough beer garden to the rear but its doubtful I'd be back should I ever be in Warwick again.

On 14th July 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3436 recommendations about 3346 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about Zetland Arms Hotel

Well described by Q below, and not as actively unpleasant as some of these refurbishments can be, and certainly trumps the dismal offerings in the square. The best bit is the large beer garden, and though I wouldn't bother with the pub most of the time it's worth seeking out on a nice day.

A Sharp's win double (Doom and Atlantic) when we called, other clips turned. I stuck to ambitiously priced eurofizz.

On 13th May 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 544 recommendations about 536 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Zetland Arms Hotel

Recently refurbished and reopened. An upmarket light and airy look over the two and a half rooms. Corridor walk to the main bar, with a nice bow windowed room to the left. Main bar is ‘rustic chic’ with few obvious features outside the wood burning stove and outsize skeletal iron clock. Beyond here is a small conservatory and well done patio garden with plenty of flora and fauna. Four ales on; Doom Bar, Marstons New World, Hooky Bitter and local Slaughterhouse Saddleback (warm and bland, clearly the first one for a while). Music and Sky Sports competing for an audience of five. I guess this is aimed at the upmarket students but I struggled to really enjoy it. If the inside was as good as the garden, perhaps I may have done.

On 19th July 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4219 recommendations about 4206 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Zetland Arms

Strangely shaped pub well described below. It was fairly quiet on our lunchtime visit with only a couple of people eating, but the front snug had a few people in it, so we joined them. Same beers on the bar as when RAR called and again the Hooky was in good shape. It was raining, so the beer garden was empty, it looked like a nice place to sit on a sunny day. It's a decent enough pub without really excelling in either decor or beer.

On 11th December 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2939 recommendations about 2856 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Zetland Arms

A traditional pub that is well supported from the locals. The pub had a good jolly atmosphere on our visit and the bar hosted four ales on handpump. Which consisted of Sharps Doombar, Hobgoblin, Pedigree and Old Hooky. The Old Hooky was in good condition and reasonably priced.

On 3rd November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3036 recommendations about 3036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Zetland Arms

I visited the Zetland Arms on Monday last week for a spot of lunch with the family. The menu consisted of standard pub food and we went for burger and chips and a jacket potato with tuna and cheese. The latter had no cheese and the burgers were slightly burnt and came with crisps. A bit misleading if you ask me, but as we only had an hours parking on the motor we made do as we fought off the wasps and the begging pub cat in the large beer garden at the rear.
The pub’s interior consists of a small bar area to the left of the entrance with seating and a plasma screen that was switched off. There was one gentleman in here reading a newspaper at the bar and I must admit to feeling a little jealous. The main bar is located on the left hand wall beyond where there is seating opposite. There is another plasma screen on the wall in this area that was also switched off, but I did note that Sky Sports is advertised. There was some background music playing off the jukebox, but it was at an unobtrusive volume. At the rear before some steps that ascend to the aforementioned beer garden is a lean-to conservatory.
The bar is stocked with standard draught alongside San Miguel and I counted four hand pumps. These were drawing Adnams Broadside, Hook Norton’s Hooky, Marston’s Pedigree and Sharp’s Doom Bar.
Dogs are permitted in the garden and the small front bar area.

I’m not sure that I would go here to eat again, but I would certainly pop in for another pint if passing.

On 14th August 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3633 recommendations about 3612 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Zetland Arms

A brick Georgian style terrace town centre pub, with black paintwork and with beer garden

The interior had two rooms. The first was a smaller bar room, to the left of the entrance, in wood panel and white, with bar stools and Sky TV in the corner, with Cheltenham races on. The second, and a larger room, was a lounge/dining room at the back and in cream and light green, with wood beams and a wood floor, which had ‘food’ tables in. There were a number of prints of what looked mainly as 19th century paintings, along with a small fireplace. The service was fine and the clientele a few older local chaps.

Beer; tap stuff, with a decent enough Adnams Broadside and an untried Marston’s Pedigree and Black Sheep bitter.

I liked this place, I found it friendly and the early afternoon seemed the right time to visit – I would return

On 10th April 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]