User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How much? with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Windmill Inn, Stratford Central, Stratford-Upon-Avon

Church Street
Stratford-Upon-Avon
CV37 6HD
Phone: 01789297687

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Greene King

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Windmill Inn

Attractive old Greene King inn, which draws one's attention from some distance. The interior, although considerably refurbished in a relatively light style, doesn't disappoint either as the three main rooms (forming an overall 'T' shape) retain a fair amount of character. This is particularly the case in the rear room housing the bar which has a distinctly low ceiling. Four handpumps on the counter, dispensing IPA and Abbot plus Doom Bar and Purity Pure UBU (£3.60) as guests.

On 17th September 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5636 recommendations about 5636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Windmill Inn

A traditional looking pub on the periphery of the town centre, this probably isn’t quite so much of a tourist trap as many in the vicinity and there seemed to be a good crowd of locals in on a recent Saturday evening visit.

Internally it consists of three different rooms. The main bar is at the back of the pub and this was a bit of a mixture of traditional and contemporary in style. There was certainly some very old timberwork in evidence such as beams on the (very low) ceiling and supporting pillars, but other than that it’s clearly had some refurbishment with a modern wood strip floor, for example. A large stone fire-place was at the rear, although it was unfortunate that this had been largely obscured by a large TV screen. I assume though that as this was on a wheeled stand, it was perhaps a temporary fixture for the Six Nations. A smaller snug was at the front of the pub and this looked to be a cosy spot with carpet on the floor and a small fire blazing away, although this rather looked as though it may have been gas rather than anything more traditional. There is also another room off to the right, but this looked to be more geared up for dining.

Beers on tap were predominantly from Greene King with their St Edmunds, IPA and Abbot Ale and these were joined by Purity Saddle Black. Ciders meanwhile were Strongbow and Stowford Press.

On 1st March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1677 recommendations about 1614 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Windmill Inn

A very attractive looking pub indeed, with powers to draw in any curious aler. The pub is situated next to Stratford old town, so it was our first port of call after visiting the New Bulls Head. The pub was busy, with mostly diners, so to sit out back in the patio garden was a bit easier. On the bar GK IPA and two from Purity, we went for the Purity Mad Goose, which was good.

On 21st June 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Windmill Inn

The Windmill Inn is another of Stratford’s fine historic pubs, built in 1599 and converted to a public house the following year. It is, perhaps inevitably, thought to have been frequented by Shakespeare, as he bought a property just around the corner a couple of years before the pub opened and lived there until his death in 1616. The pub apparently has the longest continuous license in Stratford. Inside, there is an odd, multiple room layout, with wooden floors and lots of beams and pillars, some of which look ancient whilst others are clearly fake. The main bar area is to the rear left and has an enormous open fireplace on the back wall with an old set of bellows on the hearth and a lit fire in the middle. To our disbelief, there was a free table opposite the fireplace, so we quickly grabbed it and were able to warm ourselves up after a bracing walk around town in the morning. The front of the pub has two carpeted dining rooms either side of the entrance with fairly standard seating options and a single TV screen. By weaving your way through the pillars, you can access a paved garden to the rear and side of the pub which has a few smart benches.
This is now a Greene King house, so beer choice included their Abbot Ale and Old Speckled Hen plus a local guest in the shape of Purity Ubu. The Ubu was in excellent shape and went down very well. Unfortunately the same couldn’t be said for the food, which we found to be quite sloppy and overpriced, which was a shame, as we enjoyed spending a bit of time in here. Maybe they’ve got complacent with the guaranteed tourist trade or perhaps we just got unlucky.
Although it seems to have been knocked about a bit inside, this place still retains enough of an historic feel to make it worth a look. The beer, whilst not the most exciting, was at least in great shape and for a tourist driven pub, it’s pretty good and worth adding to your itinerary.

On 8th December 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2290 recommendations about 2290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Windmill Inn

Nice old building, lots of beams that have been cleaned and light coloured, not sure if all the ceiling ones are original though.

A couple of real ales and a brief menu, but the quality of the food is good, the beer as well was decent.

Worth a visit, especially as it seems less busy than others, probably because its slightly off the main tourist drag.

On 15th October 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1207 recommendations about 1184 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BEN UNSWORTH left this review about Windmill Inn

I liked this pub. and the atmosphere was great. I tried a pint of UBU which i didnt like, the beer looked in good condition and was bright and clear but not for me i had flowers instead which was good.

On 10th October 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 69 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Windmill Inn

A fantastic white rendered terraced pub and eatery with dormer windows and a nice beer garden. It sports the name of the Flower's Brewery, once of Stratford and claims to have had a licence since 1600.

The interior is a T-shape, with the bar on the left at the stem of the T, when entering from the central main entrance. The decor is mainly white, with ceiling and support beams. I stood at the bar and there was a nice large brick fireplace in this room. There were some slightly arty black & white photos of Stratford buildings on the walls. The service was really good, as were the locals, several of which i ended up chatting to about Stratford and Shakey - i enjoyed it here so much, i missed my train and had to get the next one. There was no TV that i saw and the background music was general and at a good level.

Beer; tap stuff with GK IPA, Purity Ubu and a really good Flowere Original on handpull - guzzled a couple of these.

Along with the Bear (for beer range), the Windmill is for me now is a not to be missed pub in Stratford. I will be back here.

On 5th October 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Windmill Inn

The best pub in Stratford? Probably. It’s got a nicely kept white painted exterior with subdued lighting in the windows, which makes it look very welcoming at night. Once inside you’ll find that it is indeed welcoming. The room to the right as you enter is set up for dining, they serve food until 8 during the week. Very good it was too, Suffolk sausage & mash and a Hunters Chicken for £10, great value and very efficient service. On the wall there is a plaque listing all the landlords of the pub since the mid 1700s. Very interesting, everyone in the right hand room commented on it at some point during the evening. The area to the left has comfy chairs and a sofa and an interesting chest instead of a table. The whole pub is quite spacious as they haven’t crammed in loads of tables and chairs, well done. There’s also a fireplace in each room and old pictures of Stratford all over the walls.

The bar is straight ahead and hits you with a double whammy of a step down and very low beams. Concentrate on one and you get caught by the other. Luckily the low beams are all padded. Three handpumps on the bar serving GK IPA and Flowers IPA plus the rather better quality Purity UBU (pronounced Ooo-Boo). I had several pints of the UBU over 2 days and they were all good. There’s also a good varied wine list so the other half was in her element. Low volume background music and unobtrusive Fruit and Quiz machines and a paved garden area to the rear. It’s got it all really.

On 23rd April 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2698 recommendations about 2627 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Windmill Inn

A pub for 400 years although the current building appears to be a combination of various neighbouring buildings knocked through and extended over the years as a resul it has a rather rambling feel to it. The dimly lit interior is divided into 3 separate drinking areas, all fairly cosy and comfortable as you would expect from a building of this era. To the right of the entrance is a quite spacious carpeted bar with the usual low beams and ye olde worlde feel. The main bar has bare floors and rugs, a lovely old fireplace, lots of pillars and very low beams (that are fortunately padded). A former passage runs down the centre of the pub but this has been roofed over and makes the pub interior look a lot larger than it would have done previously. The front area offers some nice views into the historic street. There is a fairly decent beers including Flowers, Ruddles and (the not so exciting) Green King IPA and a decent looking beer garden for the summer months. Low piped music, unobtrusive fruit machines, quiz nights. A very pleasant, attractive and historic pub and well worth a few hours sauntering away some idle time.

On 21st December 2006 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]