User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Seven Stars, Rugby

40 Albert Square
Rugby
CV21 2SH
Phone: 01788546611

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Seven Stars

Final pub of the night in Rugby - a solid, traditional local with staff that care about their beer.

A good example of a well run pub - Castle Rock Midnight Owl in good condition.

On 11th December 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 691 recommendations about 685 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Seven Stars

A cracking pub. 3 rooms with two rooms served by a central bar. A total of 14 handpumps with 10 beers on today. An excellent selection of beers from Grain store, Gun Dog, Everards, Morgan, Oakham, Prospect, Hopback and Brunswick breweries. Very traditional inside and very pleasant. Lots of Rugby Union bumpf dotted around.

On 16th February 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Seven Stars

The Seven Stars has had it's different managers and ups and downs since my original review below. It's always offered a fair selection of ales but the quality hasn't always been of the highest even if I've always found them to be well kept.
Things have now changed as B&T have decided to retreat back towards Bedford with this having been considered too far north to be practical for them. The Seven Stars is therefore no longer a Project William pub but has reverted to being an Everards establishment. It is now managed by the former landlord of the Free Trade Inn, Sileby, which has a very good reputation for decent beer, as a freehouse effectively with the only obligation to Everards being that one of his ten handpumps must be Tiger.
The new guvnor has an obvious and endearing enthusiasm for quality ale which he was quite happy to discuss in between cleaning old pipes and fitting new ones. He now has a dual dispense arrangement with each handpump having two pipes which allows either a frothy or a flat head. A new one on me but it works.
Beers on when I visited were: Gun Dog Yankee Poodle 4.7% and Booze Hound 4.2%, Oakham Green Devil IPA 6% and Mark VII 3.9%, Naylors Pacific Pale 5%, Saltaire Pride 3.9%, Grainstore 1050 5% (the original Ruddles County) and Rutland Panther 3.4%, Sarah Hughes Dark Ruby Mild 6%, Orkney Brew Nimbo's Blonde 5% and Everards Tiger 4.2%. That's a very good selection which demonstrates a willingness to include some stronger beers. Everything I tried was in great shape. It seems that Oakham JHB, Tiger and Grainstore 1050 are to be regulars and the guvnor knows many of the brewers whose ales he stocks.
The Seven Stars is now back to it's very best and is a must visit in this well served town.

ORIGINAL REVIEW - 10th April 2013
The Seven Stars, which used to be a slightly dodgy Charles Wells pub, has been taken over by Everards and Banks and Taylor, another Bedford brewer, as a Project William pub. It has been significantly refurbished and opened just under 12 months ago, managed by Banks and Taylor. It recently won Rugby Camra Pub of the Year.
The pub is an attractive red brick building, Victorian I'd guess, which has been tidied up outside and now boasts a few benches around the front door. Inside, there's a small room to the right with a wood burning stove and the only television in the pub - switched on on request only. To the left is the main bar area behind which is another reasonable size room with a smaller serving area. To the back is a covered conservatory as well as a small courtyard with bench seats for al fresco drinking.
The whole is decorated in a Victorian style with plenty of wood - floors, panelled walls, furniture and a black and terracotta tiled floor area around the bar. The pictures are in keeping and the shelves are full of bottled beers. There are also a number of glazed cabinets containing a wide selection of spirit miniatures. Inevitably it's noticeable that much of this has been done recently but it does fit the character of the pub and makes it feel like a very comfortable place to be. This is aided by the group of regulars and ale drinkers it attracts. The landlord isn't 'hail fellow well met' especially but engage him in a beer related conversation and he becomes animated and is clearly very knowledgable.
I don't know if the pub serves food but given the lack of menus I'd guess not and it feels like decent beer pub in the best sense.
There are 14 handpumps with 9 beers on when I visited: Banks and Taylor Dragon Slayer, Shefford Bitter, Edwin Taylor's Extra Stout and Golden Fox, Titanic Lifeboat, Salopian Matrix, Everards Tiger, York First Light and Great Oakley Welland Valley Mild. That's a fine selection across styles and it's clear that B&T have decided to aim for quality breweries and beers rather than bring in those which will make their own beers appear better. In fact everything we tried was in good nick and very drinkable including those by B&T.
The Seven Stars is a fine addition to Rugby's, already healthy, real ale pubs and will, I'm sure, provide competition. A must visit on any crawl and, being easy to reach from the station, the problem here will be leaving. I could easily spend a day or two here.

On 22nd June 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Seven Stars

Reinvigorated as a Banks & Taylor house under the Everard's 'Project William' scheme. The refurbished three-bar layout now features a pleasantly traditional alehouse feel, with furniture and decor to match. Also has some further seating in a covered rear passageway and out in the patio beer garden. I found 11 different real ales from the 14 handpumps, and opted for the B&T Shefford dark mild (£2.90, and in good form).

On 13th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Seven Stars

This is rather an odd shaped pub externally that seems to be in an area of redevelopment. Inside it's a more conventional layout, open plan with distinct public and saloon areas plus a snug as described below.
I'm not sure if I caught all the beers available but there were four from B&T, Everard's Tiger, two from Wickwar, Great Orme Ghost Train, Merrie City Cascadian, Flying Monk Elmers Gold, Derventio Gold and Wood Street Devil's Walking Street. I had time for two here so went for the Ghost Train from Wales and the Wickwar Witchcraft both at £3.00 and in excellent condition.
This is undoubtedly one of the better pubs in Rugby and all credit to Everard's for their innovative partnership scheme.

On 11th November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Seven Stars

This is a "Project William" pub and is a joint venture between Everards and B & T brewery who between them spent 200K on refubishing the pub. A fine job they have made of it as well. This multi roomed pub has a lounge, a snug and a more traditional bar area, there's also a conservatory. No electronic games of any kind give this pub a more "olde worlde" atmosphere. There is however a TV for sports. Main meals aren't served but there is a selection of pies & sausage rolls. A friendly and efficient barmaid added to the attractions. 14 handpumps serving Everards Tiger, three beers from B & T, two real ciders and 8 changing guests. I tried two of them and both were in excellent condition. It's quite rightly listed in the CAMRA GBG 2014. It's a must visit pub for me if you come to Rugby.

On 26th August 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Seven Stars

The back streets of Rugby are a source of some cracking pubs and perhaps none more so than this excellent ale house, recently refitted by the B&T brewery. Despite the makeover, the pub retains a traditional layout centred around an angular main bar set in a bare boarded front room with modern B&T frosted windows. There are some comfortable seating options to the left, with overspill into a small snug at the front of the pub, which is nicely carpeted and has a TV screen in one corner. The entire pub has a fine display of spirit miniatures, which can be found neatly presented in each room and complimented by high shelves lines with all sorts of vintage beer bottles. To the rear, behind the servery, there is another carpeted room with bench and standard seating, some modern panelling and a fireplace with a small stove inside. There is also a small conservatory out the back which in turn leads out to a decent sized courtyard.
The beer is the undoubted star of this place and a helpful board lists the extensive options, split across both halves of the servery. Options on our visit comprised B&T Dragon Slayer, Sherford Bitter and Golden Fox, Everards Tiger, RCH Steamed Flames, Ilkley Summer, Adnams Fat Sprat, Thwaites Magic Sponge, Triple fff Pressed Rat and Warthog, Wickwar Cotswold Way, Green Jack Rising Sun and Three Castles Summer Daze - a fine selection from which I enjoyed an excellent drop of the Golden Fox as well as a pint of the Rising Sun on a return visit before heading back to the station.
This was a great place to kick off a crawl around town and is another success story for Everards excellent Project William programme. One of the highlights from a day of good drinking and one that I wouldn't hesitate to revisit the next time I'm in town.

On 16th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Seven Stars

The Seven Stars is a bare brick built back street pub.
Once inside there was a decent sized bar to the front right which was oblong shaped,the floor was part tiled and bare boarded,there were some comfy bench seating to the front and rear right,there is a seperate lounge to the rear left which was carpeted and had bench seating.
There was a very good choice of real ales on the bar,i failed to note all beers,i had a drink of Banks & Taylor Shefford Bitter,this was a very nice well kept beer,the other beers i noted were Banks & Taylor Dragon Slayer,Everards Tiger Bitter and a beer i think was called Cotedale Rail Ale.
This is a really nice pub to sit and while a way some time over a decent drink.

Pub Visited 12/7/2014

On 12th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Seven Stars

Recently renovated in a very nice and sympathetic manner as part of the Project William initiative. Appealing internal layout, two rooms in a semi hexagonal shape with a small lounge and TV room down a couple of stairs to the right. A conservatory area is to the rear. Wood varnished third-length panelling and a mix of chequerboard tiled flooring and carpet. The frosted Banks and Taylor signs on the windows are a nice touch. A restrained collection of ephemera including a collection of beer bottles, cased miniatures and cigarette cards. Plenty of CAMRA certificates adorn the walls. Nine (I think) ales and a cider available and all tried were good-to-superb. The brusque barmaid could have cracked a smile though. Returned here after the main crawl for a couple more ales and when I come back to Rugby I’d happily stay here for half the day. Lovely pub and a must-visit in my book.

On 29th June 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Seven Stars

I liked this pub very much and was very pleased to find 14 handpumps all working on my mid-day visit on a Friday,I found the beer range to decent and varied ,a very comfortable pub with as previously mentioned two bar areas and a couple of little corners tucked away along with an outside courtyard seating area to the rear.This is certainly worth a visit and indeed I returned here for a second visit later on in the day

On 15th June 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]

Page: 1 2