User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Folly, Rugby

Folly Lane
Napton
Postal town: Rugby
CV47 8NZ
Phone: 01926815185

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Folly

The main part of the pub is as described below, though there is now a large wooden bungalow adjacent, part of the same business, called The Potting Shed, which has a very pleasant veranda overlooking the large garden. On our first visit there was no hot food available in the pub so we just sat there and enjoyed the beers, while on our second visit the pub was closed and all service was in the Potting Shed. None of that mattered – the same helpful staff, decent beer and good value food was had. Ales on were Shagweaver, Old Hookey and Hookey, all in superb condition and very much appreciated. One of the best canalside options we found this trip and worth a revisit.

On 11th September 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3338 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Folly

Rambling ex farm house with a wonderful beer garden.

Catering for diners, canal user and ramblers.

Food looked great and three real ales - 2 from Hook Norton and 1 from North Cotswold (chosen) were in excellent condition.

Recommended to seek out.

Photos at my blog - http://bit.ly/28NjLEB

On 22nd June 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1386 recommendations about 1371 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Folly

Very much as described in the previous two reviews, with a great old-fashioned feel. Beers (from Hook Norton, North Cotswold and a house beer of unknown origin) were in excellent condition and the home made food was also superb. Do reserve in advance if eating however. Strongly recommended.

On 4th June 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3353 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Folly

The Folly has improved immeasurably over the last few years under the management of the characterful, friendly, welcoming and extravagantly moustachioed governor.
It has been well described already so I'll simply add that it is a cosy three roomed pub which is comfortably full of clutter with an attractive and welcoming staff who all seem to get along and enjoy working there. A winning recipe.
Food is reasonably priced (mains around £10) pub grub with both a home-cooked section on the menu and a specials board. All that we had was substantial and decent. Food is the main draw during the early evening with many of the tables on our Friday evening visit laid and reserved. Last food orders are at 8.30 though after which the pub becomes more of a local drinkers haunt and it's very easy to be drawn into friendly chat and banter with both staff and locals.
Beers available were mainly from Hook Norton - Hooky, Old Hooky and First Light with North Cotswold Shag Weaver being the only exception. The Shag Weaver was in good shape, went down well and was a welcome alternative to the malty Hook Norton beers.
A delightful pub to visit and with some decent beer to boot.

On 17th April 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 680 recommendations about 679 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Folly

ORIGINAL REVIEW Dec 2014
This former farmhouse is now a freehouse,although the interior of this attractive Georgian building does have the feel of walking into somebody's house.There are two distinct rooms with ,to the left,a longish room which was set for diners.To the right is more of a drinking bar with a generous banquette to one side and a couple of rustic tables.There is a fine fireplace in here,and framed pictures on the walls of county life and country folk.A couple of small saddles and any array of brass pots and pans hanging from a beam complete the decor,it's all very genuine.Down a step was another dining area with a log fire roaring.Both rooms are served by an island bar with three handpumps on both sides drawing Hooky as a regular with guests Vale Good King Senseless and a very good North Cotswold Shagweaver (£3.40) which produced a charming smirk from the attractive barmaid on ordering.A further handpump was dedicated to Olde Rosie cider.
My visit was close to Christmas ,and food was doing a roaring trade which dominated proceedings,and not eating I cant comment on quality.However given that this freehouse is now stocking some interesting ale,and with an unusual interior IMHO this is the best pub in Napton ,and the best canalside pub for many a mile.There is also a canal stores in a seperate building to the side ,and at the rear chalets to let,so despite it's secluded location the pub attract custom from villagers,holiday makers and boaters.Well worth a visit ,I'll be back on my return voyage.

UPDATE
....and so I did,this time to sample the food from a short menu containing pub classics which were very well cooked.The short wine list also contained some great bottles at reasonable prices.Although the pub is busy with diners (it's worth reserving a table due to popularity) and tables will be marked as such ,just ask at the bar where you can sit down and drink and they will direct you to unreserved tables.Once food service has finished,generally after 9pm,locals starts arriving treating it as a boozer with a very lively ,friendly atmophere from a wide age range of punters.The guv'nor is a real character who engages with customers and the female chef will also be seen chatting at the bar after her shift.I really warmed to this pub,the interior is charming with real fireplaces in all section and we had a fun experience extending late into the night.

On 16th April 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2796 recommendations about 2796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ga Andrews left this review about The Folly

The Folly Inn – Free house
A very short walk from the Oxford canal near the beginning of the Napton flight of locks and bridge 113. It is an old-fashioned country pub, and very boater friendly, an ideal stop for your last night mooring if you were to return your boat to Napton marina. We had some great local real ale and home cooked food back in 2007 but sadly the pub was closed on lunch time we went to revisit it in September 2009. Next to the pub is a small canal shop selling gifts and essentials for boaters. They also have holiday homes for hire. 21/09/09

On 4th October 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 64 recommendations about 58 pubs]