User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Alexandra Arms, Rugby

James Street
Rugby
CV21 2SL
Phone: 01788578660

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Alexandra Arms

Bizarre pub sign - showing the end of the world.

The door that I entered through led to an empty snug, with an unmanned bar. There was the sign of life from the other room but not immediately obvious on how you get in there.

A sign saying ring the bell. No obvious sign of a bell. When I asked the barman, he didnt know where the bell was.

A poor pint of Hook Norton Hookey - on the turn, and hazy. Disappointing for a GBG 2019 Pub.

On 11th December 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 691 recommendations about 685 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Alexandra Arms

Traditional side-street pub, now the Atomic Brewery tap. Retains a two-bar layout, although shortage of time before catching a train meant that I didn't have time to investigate the seemingly larger back bar (which you could see through the dividing window contains a pool table). However, I did have time to take in the compact 'L'-shaped front bar which features plain but tidy furniture. A row of six handpumps can be found on the main counter, with a mix of national and regional beers (e.g. Pride, Oakham Citra, Nethergate Umbel and Abbeydale Deception), a cider and - surprisingly - just one in-house offering: Half Life (£1.50, half).

On 30th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Alexandra Arms

A pleasant little pub. A front L-shaped room is where you will find the main servery. 6 handpumps on the bar with beers from Abbeydale, Nethergate, Fuller's and Atomic. A cider and a perry were also on. To the rear is a largish GE's room with a pool table, darts and fruity. Beyond that is a beer garden.

On 16th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Alexandra Arms

As noted below this is a pub with an L shaped room at the front that was clearly once two bars. This room is comfy and has been well refurbished.
On my Thursday midday visit unusually and a first for me, there was a union meeting going on in the area to the left. I felt like standing up and cheering when they were banging on about what the current government are up to and especially as they were not voted in by the majority of British people just 36% of them. At the rear is a large games room and further on a proper pub garden. These only seemed to be accessible from a door where the union meeting was taking place into a corridor. it looked like the games room had it's own bar with a bank of hand pumps but there was nobody about.
The bar here has six hand pumps that on my visit had one unused, London Pride, Atomic Dark Matter, Abbeydale Deception, Nethergate Growler Bitter and Oakham Inferno. Given that this pub bills itself as the home of Atomic brewery I found this choice rather disappointing in that all the guest ales were from older long established brewers. I ordered a Dark Matter (£2.50) and sadly it smelled and tasted of vinegar. It was replaced with good grace for the Deception which was fine.
I have to say I found this one to be rather disappointing.

On 11th November 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Alexandra Arms

Well presented 2 roomed pub which has been the home of Atomic brewery since 2011. The front room has some decent seating and is the lounge area. The room at the rear is bigger and is effectively the games room with pool & darts plus a rock jukebox which claims to be the best in Warwickshire, they could be right. There's a good sized beer garden at the rear. The brewery is housed in an old store to the left in the garden. The brewer was in the process of finishing off a brew and was kind enough to let us have a look around. 8 handpumps on the bar serving London Pride & Abbeydale Deception which are the regular beers. Three beers from the in house brewery plus 3 guests. I had 3 different halves in here and all were in very good condition. I'll be back here agian very soon.

On 25th August 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Alexandra Arms

Just around the corner from the Seven Stars, this is another fine back street boozer, complete with its own microbrewery in the beer garden. Presenting itself as a classic, down to earth, two bar pub, you enter through doors denoted 'Lounge' or 'Bar' into the main front bar, via a porch with some nice decorative glasswork. The lounge is carpeted and forms an L shape with a servery running around the corner. Sturdy banquettes furnish the right hand wall, whilst pew and standard chairs fill the front and left sections. Two tiled fireplaces create some nice visual distraction, with one stood underneath an elaborately mounted mirror. A corridor down the left hand side of the pub is lined with some interesting old photos of the town and leads to the rear bar which is something of a recreation room, thanks to pool and skittles tables, a dartboard, Wurlitzer juke box, slot machines and a TV screen. Standard tables and chairs run around the perimeter of the room, allowing plenty of standing space elsewhere. A large garden can be found at the far end of the corridor, where you can enjoy the sun from one of the numerous picnic benches or spy on the brewer who operates out of a small building to one side.
Numerous CAMRA awards line the walls, bearing testament to the pub's fine ale policy. Three of the in house Atomic Brewery beers were available on this visit - Strike, Spectrum and Reactor, as well as Abbeydale Deception, Fullers London Pride and Blakemere Freshly Squeezed. I gave the Spectrum a try and thought it was in very good shape. I tried another Atomic brew on a return visit after the main crawl, but failed to note what it was, although I do remember it was in similarly good condition.
This place might not have the polished appearance of the Seven Stars and it can't match their extensive ale range, but I thought it had a bit more character to it and got the impression that it would make a lively local. This is another must-visit pub in Rugby and worthy of its Good Beer Guide inclusion.

On 16th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Alexandra Arms

The Alexandra Arms is a back street pub that is a short walk from the town centre.
Once inside there is a nice L shaped lounge to the front,there was some comfy bench seating to the right,the room is carpeted.
There is a seperate bar to the rear which had a pool table and darts board,the seating was bench type.
There is a garden to the rear which had a beer festival on the go during my visit.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Abbeydale Deception which was a nice well kept beer,the other beers i noted were Keltec King,Sarah Hughs Dark Ruby Mild,Oldershaws Regal Blonde,Atomic Dark Matter and London Pride.
I quite liked this pub,it was very comfortable and had a good atmosphere on my Saturday afternoon visit.

Pub Visited 12/7/2014

On 12th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Alexandra Arms

A stone’s throw from the Seven Stars and home of the Atomic Brewery (who also own the Victoria in town). It says ‘lounge’ and ‘bar’ on the two doors at the pub’s front but they now lead to the same room. There is, however, a games room down the side corridor with pool and some sort of skittles. A grassed rear garden lies beyond, with some nice tree coverage and the brewery is located in a converted outbuilding here (the brewer was good enough to offer us a quick tour and take questions). A lived-in feel throughout, the rear room in particular could do with a spruce-up. Three Atomic beers on plus Blakemere Freshly Squeezeed – quality was good all-round and cheap too. Live music advertised. Enjoyable pub and well-worth a visit in conjunction with the Seven Stars down the road.

On 29th June 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Alexandra Arms

This traditional pub seemed very much a locals pub,two bars ,the rear bar being accessed via a passage way inside one end of the pub.I only noted 6 handpumps,but may have missed another one as 7 are reported below, however there were three from the very local Atomic Brewery available, I opted for the Spectrum,a well kept pale beer.
A nice enough pub and well worth stopping for a couple.

On 15th June 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Alexandra Arms

There are two doors to this traditional town centre boozer,the lounge is through the middle door while the side door leads to the rear games room and a hidden beer garden.The shed here is home to the Atomic Brewery but as the owners engage in a lot of barrel swapping,you may only find a limited selection of their beers at the bar,just one on my visit.The lounge is L shaped and the bench seating has been refreshed,but it still retains no TV or muzak.There was decent banter among the locals,although it was quiet and the Seven Stars nearby may have diverted some trade.The back bar with it's own bar access had some punters playing pool.
The seven handpumps include a real cider and judging by other recent reviews London Pride and Abbeydale Deception appear regulars.The guests rotate to whats been swapped with Atomic,so a beer ticker would appreciate the random nature of what may be available.Worth including on a crawl,but I felt that stopping in here for the one was sufficient for me.

On 13th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]

Page: 1 2