User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Old Library, Leamington Spa

11-13 Bath Street
Leamington Spa
CV31 3AF

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Old Library

I'm no Wetherspoons fanboy so I smiled (not so) inwardly at the howls of anguish from some when it was flogged to Stonegate in JDW's recent rationalisation, assuming Stonegate's operation would be more or less business as usual. How wrong I was. They managed to take an admittedly classy JDW outlet resolutely down-market. Carpet has been removed, decoration is minimal. An hour with a mop and bucket would help. TVs silently showing sport interrupt every eye-line. Daytime clientele consists largely of working age blokes self-medicating on Wifebeater, bringing an odour of stale fags and neglected personal hygeine to the party.

The beer selection is usual Stonegate stuff, Doombar, Pride et al, I joined the regulars with a lager. There are some things which will keep the old JDW customers content - food service menu, and dismal service. The table I sat a remained filthy for the half hour I could stand being there.

Stonegate can be OK when they try. They don't give a toss here. Avoid.

On 27th February 2018 - rating: 2
[User has posted 463 recommendations about 455 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Jug & Jester (JD Wetherspoon)

Reported to having been sold to Stonegate in February 2017.

Review as Spoons Apr 2016

As mentioned below this is quite a classy Spoons although it didn't seem that large.
One set of five hand pumps had Abbot, Doom Bore and three festival ales while the other had Ruddles, Upham Punter and three other festival ales. Some of these were ones that I hadn't seen before. I went for the Inveralmond Amber Bead (£2.15) which was in excellent nick. This Spoons is GBG 2016 listed and deservedly so on the basis of my brief visit. However, given the current climate of outlets closing at a few days notice you have to wonder how safe this one is as the larger but inferior outlet is not far away.

On 15th February 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Jug & Jester (JD Wetherspoon)

Imposing building on the Old Town (station) side of the river, and not obviously a pub until you get close up. Two bars, with two more rooms down few steps beyond. Quite a traditional feel, and a real log fire can be lit. Patio beer garden at the back. A total of just six real ales from a bank of five handpumps in each bar on this visit, of which the Tring Tea Pot Stout (£2.20) appeared to be the pick but it turned out to be slightly out of condition. NB - Currently 'To Let' so future uncertain...

On 13th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Jug & Jester (JD Wetherspoon)

As others have noted, this is a cut above your standard 'spoons and you could easily fool yourself into believing that this is a standard boozer. Helped by the imposing exterior, wood panelling inside and the pub being split into three distinct areas it isn't the usual open plan drinking barn.
Unlike previous reviewers we found service to be reasonably swift and efficient with a polite "be with you shortly" when busy serving others.
We were fortunate to visit during a 'spoons beer festival so found a wide range available on the 10 hand pumps: Thwaites Coiled Spring, Burton Top Dog Stout, Wharf Black Geld, Acorn Black Oak, Hildegards Solange, Caledonian Leith IPA, Tring Colleys Dog and Ruddles Best. We tried a few and it was all in good condition.
I'd always have a look in if in Leamington to see what's on.

On 15th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Jug & Jester (JD Wetherspoon)

A very good conversion to a 'spoons incorporating two adjoining building and the interior space splits over four gently rising levels.The wood panelling gives a classy feel ,there is some interesting furniture and a definite pub atmosphere.The bar is quite modest and there are two ranks of five handpumps in two rooms so it is worth wandering to both sets to see what's on.My trip coincided with a 'spoons beer festival and both my Acorn Black Oak,Port Leith IPA and Hildegard's Solange were well kept.
Over two visits to the Royal borough,this place produced some of the most interesting real ale,so it's should always be on the list for a visit.One of the better 'spoons and deserving of it's 2014 GBG listing.

On 6th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2015 recommendations about 2015 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Jug & Jester (JD Wetherspoon)

This was our first port of call after a short walk from the railway station. They call Leamington, Royal Leamington Spa, so this Spoons definitely fitted the bill. The interior consisted of lots of oak panelling finished in a rich walnut colour. The walls were a mix of exposed brick and painted walls finished in pastel blues. We sat in the small lounge on the left of the main entrance, which was comfortable and bright. The service at the main bar was slow and the staff didn't seem to notice who was in turn to be served. Beer wise, I went for the White Horse Brewery Cheval Blanc and Purity Longhorn.

On 12th November 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2898 recommendations about 2898 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Jug & Jester (JD Wetherspoon)

Very nice building tastefully converted from the Theatre Royal by JDW. It was obviously once 4 rooms with the small front room being used as a snug by several of the regulars on our 2 visits. The rear room has an eclectic mix of furniture with the rest being standard JDW tables & chairs. The beer festival was on during our visits and there were 5 of the festival beers on although there were a couple of "coming soon" clips as well. Service was a bit patchy, whenever the duty manager got involved everything slowed down! We had breakfast here on one day as well which was decent, but once again the service was slow (the manager was there). It's a good JDW that due to the smaller than normal areas has a good atmosphere.

On 7th November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2745 recommendations about 2673 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Jug & Jester (JD Wetherspoon)

Attractive whitewashed building containing a modern, tastefully decorated multi-roomed JDW within. Décor points of note include wood panelling, exposed brick and an attractive bar back. The room to the left was nice and light due to plenty of glazing, whilst the others were darker (too dark I thought). Two bars with different ales on each and all pumps were working. My Butcombe Haka was decent, though a sparkler took the edge off it somewhat. Efficient and friendly bar service, always a rarity in Spoons. Decided to eat and my Mexican dog was in good order. All-in-all it’s a good example of when Wetherspoons Get It Right. Would definitely drop in again if in town.

On 1st November 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Jug & Jester (JD Wetherspoon)

The better of the two Wetherspoons in town. Pleasant and cosy, friendly service. Seems to attract a slightly older, better-off clientele than the usual JDW suspects. Beer range leaves room for improvement. Now the best option by far near the station.

On 18th November 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 463 recommendations about 455 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Jug & Jester (JD Wetherspoon)

Clean tidy Wetherspoon pub. Service was quick enough and the Warwickshire Jester IPA good. Handy to call in before catching a train.

On 4th September 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]

Page: 1 2