User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 24th October 2021) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Forth Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne

Pink Lane
Newcastle Upon Tyne
NE1 5DW
Phone: 01912326478

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Brainy Pool left this review about The Forth Hotel

trendy but rather boring side street pub, with just a few couples in on my midweek early afternoon visit. On this occasion all of the real ale was 'coming soon' leaving just a Lilleys cider. I personally think there are better pubs in the vicinity, but maybe I caught it on a bad day.

On 22nd August 2021 - rating: 5
[User has posted 826 recommendations about 801 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Forth Hotel

Arty farty food and drink one roomed pub up nice back street near station. Slightly on the small side, stools overlook the street and there is farm kithched tables at one side. Dimmed lighting, middle of the road arty music. All in all its a nice place if you like these trendy type places.

5 real ales, including one from Durham on my visit.

On 25th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Forth Hotel

Effectively a one roomed pub, but all broken out into several distinct areas, including a seating area at the rear of the bar. It's full of people who are trying to be trendy, but they're just wannabees. A decent range of cask ales on the bar, but the girl who served us was clueless. She passed me a pint with a 2 inch head and walked away, I called her back. She topped it up with a bit of a grump. I tasted the beer, it was off. I called her back, she ignored me. Despite several "excuse me's" she continued to ignore me and pretended to be doing something really important. At this point another girl appeared and tried the pint, pronounced it "gone" and proceeded to change it with good grace. We sat on the stools in the window and watched the world go by on Pink Lane. A decent pub, let down by a useless staff member. She's cost the pub a couple of points.

On 16th May 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2905 recommendations about 2823 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Forth Hotel

Interior as described by Malden man below. 5 real ales and food served.

On 23rd February 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2784 recommendations about 2726 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Forth Hotel

I remember this pub as a traditional two roomed Tetley house from the 1980s, it has however changed a bit since then. Now effectively opened out, the main area wraps around to behind the bar and returns around to the rear up a couple of steps. This layout allows for a small island room behind the bar, totally screened off and only big enough for three smallish tables. Stained wooden flooring, a couple of fireplaces, dark olive green decor. Seating is mostly traditional at tables for four or more, and there are drinking shelves along the front windows to the narrow lane outside. Ceiling fans whirr away, there are twisted brown paper lampshades over the bar and to the rear are some arty Warholesque pictures of the Queen, crowns and suchlike. Up the stairs beyond the toilets there is a roof terrace with some cover for the smokers (outdoor street drinking is not permitted here). This area is a bit trendy and arty too with a graffiti wall. Five handpumps, Adnams Explorer, Doom Bar, XT8, Durham Brewery White Gold and Kelham Island Pale Rider, this went unfortunately but quickly reappeared, nice to see a pub that still changes barrels right away. There were menus on the tables, mains £7.50-11.00 with steaks at £13.50, upmarket sandwiches served with "french fries" £5.50 -6.75.
I enjoyed my quick visit here, a nice relaxed laid back feel, an antidote to the more frenetic Newcastle drinking areas.

On 3rd September 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1689 recommendations about 1664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Forth Hotel

Straight across from the Town Wall and just as busy. This trendy corner pub serves five ales, American craft beers, German lagers, Czech pilsners and fine wines. The main section of the pub is taken up with diners. The front bar area is narrow so gets difficult moving around only when there's a few people stood there. Still there is a sun terrace, out the back. The Roosters Yankee was a bit on the chilled side.

On 14th August 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3012 recommendations about 3012 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Forth Hotel

Pleasant suprise to be taken along a side road to this bar. Would not of known of it's existance, but it was worth the visit as there were decent real ales on. Chose Red Rat Hadley's Blonde and Adnams Sole Star. The Adnams was a bit pricey at £3 for a 2.7% beer though.

On 21st March 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


jimi allen left this review about Forth Hotel

Good atmosphere with smoking place upstairs. Wide range of beers and bottles(don't bother going if you're counting the pennies ...you get what you pay for)It's different but it could do with a good clean. Nachos are well worth the visit!

On 19th September 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 8 recommendations about 6 pubs]