User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
What are you drinking RIGHT NOW with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Bacchus, Newcastle Central, Newcastle Upon Tyne

High Bridge
Newcastle Upon Tyne
NE1 6BX
Phone: 01912611008

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Brainy Pool left this review about Bacchus

another gorgeous ornate pub in Newcastle serving a fine selection of ales in a relaxed environment- no background music, just Geordie chit chat. one decent sized room plus a separate area with a fireplace. Not sure it needs the games machines really, and beware the Wetherspoons style Everest climb for the toilets, but it’s an excellent place otherwise.

On 11th March 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Bacchus

Like the sister pub around the corner this Fitzgersld pub looks like it's a conversion from something else. There was a music track playing quietly but no sign of any TVs or other unwanted distractions. As mentioned below it's a roughly square room with an island bar. One of the staff was putting up posters for a tap takeover by Stewarts of Edinburgh, a great choice from Scotland.
I didn't note all the beers on the nine hand pumps because as soon as I saw Allendale Bison (£4.55) I went for that. It was expensive but is a 6.0% abv beer and was in superb condition. This one and Fitzgeralds were the best visited in the City on the day.

On 24th August 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Bacchus

I initially attempted to visit this rather fancy city centre pub straight after watching a match at St James' Park, only to find the place bursting at the seams with eager punters, creating what appeared to be never-ending queues for the bar, so I sloped off elsewhere and returned late on Sunday evening to find just a handful of other customers and plenty of room for me to have a good nose around. You enter into a large, open-plan, bare boarded main bar with an angular U-shaped servery through the centre. The room wraps around the bar which has a wooden counter under some immense pillars and a smart and stylish bar back. There is a great deal of vertical drinking space around the bar area (clearly very much needed on match days) and banquette seating down the right hand side under the front windows, supplemented by some high backed chairs which had patterned backs with a playing card motif. To the left of the bar there is a raised space, partitioned by a dark wood wall with a ledge and high stools. More banquette and standard seating can be found here under nice dark wood panelling. At one end of the room is a carpeted snug with space for a few more tables and some button backed banquettes. A model warship has been placed on the pediment above the front porch, the shape of which suggests that the bar used to have a revolving door for an entrance. Music played quietly throughout this late evening visit.
The pub is part of the Fitzgerald pub chain and so, as expected, there were plenty of interesting ales to chose from - Bandwagon American Red, Brewsmith Admiral Porter, Hadrian Borders Ouseburn Porter, Cullercoats Jester, Two by Two Sitting Duck Stout, Anarchy Blonde Star, Fyne Ales Jarl, Allendale Yakima Pale and Great Corby Ale. A cheery barmaid poured a decent pint of the Admiral Porter which I enjoyed whilst propping up the bar watching the last stragglers come and go.
This is a very pleasant and evidently popular pub that deserves to be doing well. The place has an opulent feel to it, yet it also seems very inclusive in a way that not all bars of this type do. Whilst I didn't find it as easy to settle here as I did in similar pubs such as Lady Greys, I nonetheless enjoyed my time here and would put this near the top of my revisit list.

On 16th May 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Bacchus

Large open-plan place that nonetheless has had some real character injected into it by quality refurbishment, apparently the inside is meant to resemble a first class lounge on an old ocean liner. The large island bar with polished dark wood column supports is cracking and the art deco style curved entrance lobby is lovely. To the rear is a raised seating area with a small intimate button sofa area to left. Clean and tidy throughout. On a sweltering hot day the aircon was turned up to Arctic level, so much so I had to put my jumper on. A quick mention of the gents, which were A1. Eight pumps with six ales and a couple of ciders. A good selection and my Two By Two Lapsong Souchong was in good form and yes did indeed taste as the name suggested! Also a good selection of craft keg on and prices generally not too bad, plus clearly marked that all are served as Schooner unless requested otherwise. Why can't other places do this? Enjoyable stop and would happily have stayed longer - this is one to definitely seek out in the city.

On 6th July 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Bacchus

Sumptuous and expensively decorated bar-restaurant with a fine range of cask ales, craft keg and bottled beers, very much with a continental feel. Lots of dark polished wood set off by touches of chrome and a bit of leather. Pretty good looking food is also served. There are eight pulls in two banks of four, all from local micros plus seven craft keg fonts and the usual national tap stuff. There's a small back sitting room which is rather elegant with leather sofas and decorated with black and white pictures of the Tyne, usual facilities are upstairs. Deservedly popular and classy.

On 13th October 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Bacchus

Bacchus is well known to me from my student days in Newcastle when it used to be the main spot for meeting up and pre-loading before hitting "The Toon". Nowadays it is a smart, well appointed pub which has been awarded CAMRA Tyneside Pub of the Year for the last consecutive four years. An accolade that needs no further embellishment.
A squarish room with a central U shaped bar, wooden flooring, mixed but mostly standard type seating. There is a very small carpeted side room off the main area with a row of comfy looking bench seats. Loads of dark polished wood, circular columns and a slightly raised area to one side, together with the porthole windows internally en route to the toilets plus the photos of ships and shipbuilding, the effect is of a first class lounge in an ocean going liner. A large rooflight lets in light.
There are nine handpumps, two from Wellington Inn, Minister and Commander in Chief, Jarrow Rivet Catcher, Manchester Marble Physics IPA, Hadrian Border Twelve Hops of Christmas, two from Tiny Rebel, Dirty Stop out Stout and one I really couldn't make out the clip on, plus Thistly Cross cider. An extensive range of bottled world beers are listed on a chalkboard and amongst the keg fonts I spotted Brodies London Pale Ale and Jarrow VI Wheat. In addition there is an impressive range of malt whiskies.
Food is served and is good value, Haddock and chips £7.25, Rump steak and the trimmings £8.95, sandwiches served with crisps from £3.95.
This really is a very good pub and an all rounder, deservedly popular.

On 4th December 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Bacchus

Called into this 2010 Good Beer Guide pub today, and it is well worth the visit and had the best ale choice of all the pubs I called in. Chose Derventio Julius, Bird Brain Nightjar and Fyfe Fidra, and found all in good condition. Deserves the CAMRA awards it gets.

The above related to my visit in August 2010, and I revisited yesterday.

Can't believe this superb pub has had no reviews in around 18 months, as it has to be one of if not THE best pub in Newcastle. It is in the 2012 Good Beer Guide, and deserves it's place. It has an array of handpulls with a great selection of ales, plus I found out yesterday (as I was with someone who knows) there is a totem pole on one side of the bar showing beers tapped in the cellar and if they are not busy, they will do a cellar run to bring the beer up for you. Great. We enjoyed Castle Rock House Sparrow, Highland Orkney IPA, Black Isle Coffee Porter and Tempest Unforgiven Ale.
Above was March 2012, and we visited again yesterday. A must visit pub for Newcastle. We really enjoyed 6 Tiny Rebel brewery beers at this visit. Tiny Rebel were being showcased from a mini festival, but there were other beers on tap too.

On 29th August 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Bacchus

This well run Fitzgerald pub is well worth a visit. Has won Tyneside Pub of Year 2009, 10, 11 and 12. Staff are friendly and helpful. I found this upmarket pub very comfortable and relaxing. Eight handpumps on our visit, the Mordue Summer Tyne was excellent.

On 13th August 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Bacchus

More of a bar than a pub with many pictures of ships around the walls celebrating Newcastles shipbuilding past. To be honest it does feel like a ships lounge when sat in the seating area at the back. Has a decent range of ever changing guests on the bar, a little pricier than most around the area, but all well kept. The staff are friendly and helpful as well which is always a plus. It's been Newcastle CAMRA's Pub Of The Year for the last 2 years (2009 & 2010). I quite like this place and the other half loves it, so we visit every time we're in Newcastle. Last week Rob the brewer from Yorkshire Dales was sat at the bar having a chat. (He brews the house beer for them). It's well worth a visit when around the Grey Street area.

On 23rd April 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Inshearah left this review about The Bacchus

I have fond memories of the old Bacchus. This new one is a totally differant kettle of fish, not that it is bad.....just differant. Indeed the new version, is a great place (though I can't get help that it has a hotel recieption feel about it)

On 9th October 2006 - rating: 8
[User has posted 40 recommendations about 40 pubs]

Page: 1 2