User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Cricketers, Richmond

79 Kew Green
Kew
Postal town: Richmond
TW9 3AH
Phone: 02089402078

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Cricketers

Overlooking Kew Green and the cricket pitch there,this is an good looking pub with a food orientation but with a drinking area around the bar.There are lots of beams,lightly coloured in a gastro theme with some comfy chairs,high backed chairs,pooves while further around the interior there are dining tables set with cutlery.There are some nooks and crannies creating discrete areas and a fine rear walled beer garden.
Service was very attentive with table service once you have said you are dining,although drinkers will be left alone.The food is really pub grub at a slight premium price but not exorbitant.Mains were hovering between £10-15 .
There are 4 handpumps with GK IPA,Hogs Back TEA and Surrey Nirvana (good nick,nice drop) on my trip.Overall decent place for something to eat with good views over the Green and close to an entrance to Kew Gardens.Unresticted car parking is an added bonus ,and a rareity in this neighbourhood.

On 27th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Cricketers

Although there are various original and interesting features on view here, the overall feel is rather corporate and even clinical with uniformed staff and a definite lean towards the gastro route. The bar is ahead on entering, against a back wall, then the area expands to the right and runs back with a slight return at the far end, all this area being set for formal dining. There is a distressed beamed ceiling, exposed brick fireplace with stacked logs and some remaining leaded windows with the occasional bullnose. The cricketing theme runs through, there are a pair of wall murals of a game in the days of yore plus bats and stumps on the window cills, framed prints and even a table lamp with a series of cricket balls forming the base. There is just about every form of seating you can imagine but enough regular style to suit the likes of myself, the flooring is similarly varied. To the rear is a walled garden and there is a tiered terrace facing the green to the frontage.
The TV had some kind of game show on, thankfully muted while a strange woozy ambient music played.
There are four handpumps but just two were clipped, Hook Norton Greedy Goose (£4.13) and Plain Ales Innspiration. It doesn't really feel like a drinkers pub based on my mid-afternoon visit, in fact I was the only customer sitting with a pint, a few were eating and one lady came in for a pot of tea. I didn't feel awkward or unwelcome but I didn't really settle in here.

On 28th January 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Cricketers

I liked the interior of this pub, with lots of large exposed original oak beams. The pub was comfortable and felt quite homely and relaxing. Probably the best on Kew Green on this visit. There were four pumps on the bar, so we went for the Twickenham Grandstand. The staff were friendly and service was fast, even though a lot of people had called in for lunch.

On 6th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Cricketers

Completely changed from my previous visit five years ago, when this was a Chef & Brewer chain bar / restaurant called the Rose & Crown. It has been thoroughly refurbished inside the 'L'-shaped bar with light gastro-pub furniture and decor. Pleasant enough atmosphere, although the music seemed a bit louder than strictly necessary. One thing that hasn't changed, though, is the front patio terrace overlooking Kew Green. Four real ales available on handpump: Otter Bitter, Broadside, Hobgoblin and the seasonal Twickenham Christmas Cheer (£3.89). Various keg offerings too, with useful signs indicating what beers are available elsewhere in the Sports Bar and restaurant (neither visited).

On 1st January 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Cricketers

They had four ales on in here when I dropped in last week - Otter Amber, Rockin' Rudolph, Adnam's Broadside, and Twickenham Grandstand (£1.95 a half). I was in on Friday morning, and the only menu on display was the "Festive Fayre" menu which offered two courses for 23 and three for 26. Nowhere on this menu, which included a wine list, were there any "£" signs, which I guess must be some sort of marketing ploy to make prices look less expensive. Maybe £23 or £26 is reasonable for a Christmas celebration meal, and possibly had I stayed until lunchtime a less extravagant menu might have appeared for those just wanting a bite to eat.

This pub is now quite a plush affair with loads of bucket armchairs and sumptuous banquettes with cushions scattered (or perhaps precisely placed) on them. But there are the inevitable tall tables/tall stools by the entrance, and in front of one of the windows is a long solid wooden table with a similarly long backless upholstered bench along one side of it. Flooring is mainly parquet squares, but with an area with inlaid matting, as well as tiled squares near the bar counter. All quite unusual really. There's a fair bit of gastro grey around the place; some exposed brickwork; and false beams decorating the ceiling. Other features worth mentioning are the couple of murals on one of the walls depicting ancient cricket matches (appropriately given the cricket pitch on the green opposite), and the real log fire that was alight. An area to back on the right had all tables laid for diners, but the majority of the pub is available to those just wanting to drink. There's some seating at the front looking out over the green, as well as a garden at the back.

This is quite a comfortable pub in a sort of hotel lounge way. I quite liked it, but of course it was very quite when I was in, and I enjoyed having a quiet leasurely drink. I don't hink I would make it a destination pub though.

On 7th December 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about The Cricketers

THE CRICKETERS - I fear I have to remark on this pub, in order to counter-balance some of the remarks reported below (..mind you, those are OLD remarks now, going back 3 and more years!) I like The Cricketers pub, on Kew Green, near Kew Bridge (over the River Thames). Its a lovely location for a pub. Especially when the sun is shining, the sound of 'ball off bat' can be heard, the pints are flowing, and ALL is right with the world! Lets get real here folks, if this was YOUR local pub, you'd LUVVIT and you'd be down here every week....day.....week-day, whenever you could! I would :o) 6/10 (...but that rating could go up, & I expect it will)! TJ

On 15th November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Rose & Crown

Calling the place mediocre would be doing it a favour - relies on passing trade visiting Kew Gardens and has consequently stopped making any effort at customer relations - ignorant and downright bloody rude staff (directed at someone in the queue in front of me) was enough to put me off completely! Below average.

On 16th July 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Rose & Crown

This is a dark and dingy Chef & Brewer pub with the emphasise on chef. There is a patio garden at the rear, but I think that the seating at the front of the pub would be much nicer, especially if there was a cricket match on.

Once I had been redirected to the side door to gain entry I was confronted with a dark bar full of dining pensioners and potpourri. I searched out the lone barman who was doubling as a waiter and stood for a while at the bar. I then drank my drink and left before all of the life was sucked out of me.

Butcombe Blonde, Abbot Ale and Outlaw Wildmule were the beers on offer alongside Fosters etc.

I think that I'll stick to the Greyhound in future.

On 1st May 2008 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]