User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

The Duke, Richmond

2 Duke Street
Richmond
TW9 1HP
Phone: 02089404067

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Duke

Been here numerous times so thought I should review it.Nice busy pub.Young night time crowd .Good food.Good atmosphere.My son likes this pub.3 cask beers from Trumans,5 Points and By The Horns.Keg beer selection has improve since the last review inc a great beer from the new Breakwater brewery (dover).

On 9th December 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Duke

You enter into a wooden floored bar area with wooden tables and chairs and a large banquette to the front,further back opposite the bar there is a rank of high tables by a mirrored wall,with a seperate square dining room to the side.The open kitchen is in one corner ,with the chef turning out decent food.There are lunchtime specials at £6.50 which seemed great value,there is a shortish menu with small bite and main meals (£10-£15) and the lunch I had was very decent,it deserves it's gastro label.
On the ale front there are 3 handpumps drawing on my trip Doom Bar,Sambrooks Wandle and Twickenham Grandstand (murky but drinkable).An unexciting range.The 10 keg taps had a lot of the usdual dross,but some craft beers from the likes of Siren Craft and Harviestoun but I wasnt convinced that much care was being taken here on the beer front.
Not a natural for a real ale visit,but decent food if that's your market.My lunchtime visit did not allow the views that previous reviewers enjoyed.

On 23rd February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2090 recommendations about 2090 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Duke

More gastrobar than gastropub. Notes and memory sketchy but there was a mirrored right hand side plus some jockey prints. A dining room was off to the right side. Lots of posh mature local totty amongst the clientèle - Desmond, Jimbo and my good self were copping an eyeful of the pins and cleavages on display. Three ales on; Doom Bar, West Berks Mr Chubbs and an excellent Twickenham Grandstand. Also a selection of ‘craft’ wotnottery. Surprisingly not as dire as I thought it would be on first entering.

On 4th July 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about The Duke

January 2015:- "The Duke" serves 'Meantime Brewery' beers, I'm glad to report! :o)

On 20th January 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about The Duke

THE DUKE: an old traditional pub, with a funny extra restauranty bit added on the side, if you like that sort of thing. Quite empty some afternoons, but patrons seem to crawl out of their office woodwork at the magical 5 o'clock hour, and the place springs to life. The sort of pub that you might ignore, or wander passed on your way elsewhere to some more pressing engagement! But could I just mention, one time, "Meantime"..!! The very reason to re-route, re-schedule, and call in on the DUKE, and sup some real London ale for a change. And ask for a taster of the London Pale Ale, or the London Lager, or even the Meantime Pilsner (if you're a lager fan). And even if you're a real ale fanatic, you may like to try the "London Lager" by way of a pleasant change. Not all pubs along the River Thames provide the 'Meantime Brewery' fare, but Richmond Green does, and I'm rather glad they do! I'm going to have to upgrade my rating now... 6/10 :o) TJ

On 18th November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about The Duke

"The Duke" - the nearest pub to Richmond Theatre, so some nights (especially weekends) you may find a lot of "luvvies" in the bar, or the place full of theatre-goers. At other times, ie:lunchtime, the place may be deserted, and you might feel lonely as you stroll up to the bar. Until a couple of years ago this pub was known as "The Racing Page", and you could watch the horse racing 'live' on a couple of t.v. screens, or other live sport. But the 'life+soul' of the place seems to have gone now, and its less a traditional pub and more a soul-less restaurant with a bar beside it! Sorry staff, you do a good job, but this is just a strange pub now, and there are SO MANY other good pubs nearby that sap you of custom. I will still drop in from time to time, en route to those better pubs! Competition is tough. :o)

On 20th April 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Duke

Not really my sort of place, but this is a tastefully done and well-located gastro-pub in the town centre near the green. The bar seems like quite a relaxed place, once you've convinced the staff that you really, really don't want to eat in the larger dining area. Three beers on handpump, including a reasonable pint of Purbeck IPA at £3.50.

On 7th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]