User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Orange Tree Hotel, Richmond

45 Kew Road
Richmond
TW9 2NQ
Phone: 02089400944

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about Orange Tree Hotel

A Youngs house,with a large open plan interior and a side door for hotel guests only.There is an L shaped bar with a big mix of furniture throughout,some high tables,some leather clad fitted bench seating some comfy chairs to the front.Around the back is a seperate restaurant.Two unused fireplace on opposite walls hints at a multi room past but the open plan leads to a loss of authentic atmosphere.Some rughy picture on the walls and a flatscreen turned off.
The bar has 5 handpumps offering Young's Original,Special and Winter Warmer with the single guest St Austell Proper Job probably a life saver.There is a heated front patio and the external leaded windows are a feature but I can see no reason to hurry back,it's quite ordinary.

On 18th December 2021 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2338 recommendations about 2338 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Orange Tree

A refurbed pub close to the station,five handpumps with three from Young's, Bitter,Special and Gold,along with Southwark Bermondsey Bitter and Twickenham Naked Ladies.
I was rather disappointed with this pub for a number of reasons, my half of the Naked ladies arrived as a short measure of more than an inch, which of course I had to get a top up,just as well as it cost £2.35 for the privilege and to top it off it was in poor condition and totally tasteless, by far the worst pub of my day,I don't intend to return.

On 29th December 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1559 recommendations about 1540 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Orange Tree

Young's pub with a U shaped interior and a drinking area out front when the rugby is on. 5 real ales which included 2 non Young's.

On 2nd May 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2824 recommendations about 2766 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about Orange Tree

January 2015:- "The Orange Tree" I am reliably informed (by a close source) serves 'Meantime Brewery' beers... I'm glad to report! Although I haven't confirmed this report, yet..! :o)

On 20th January 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about Orange Tree

ORANGE TREE: Yes, very handy for the train station, but I fear some of OT's custom may be taken by the newly re-furbished and re-opened 'Railway Tavern' on the other side of the main road (Kew Road). The OT does good lunches, etc, and is most definately a rugby pub on Twickenham rugby days! (You can't move in here when England are playing! So don't venture in on those days if you don't like rugby)! Pleasant enough bar area, and you can usually find a seat in the front bar area, the rear is all restaurant now, and at busy times you may even have to book a table there. I had the pleasure of meeting the manager here (oh, a couple of years ago now, so it may have all changed since then) and he was a bit of a colourful character, I couldn't work out if he was an old-time rugby player or a gangster! He was very polite tho', and helpful, in the circumstances. The 'Orange Tree' is the last pub in Richmond town centre, if your heading down the Kew Road towards Kew. And I'm sure many commuters use it while waiting those 25 minutes for the train :o) I do. TJ

On 3rd December 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Orange Tree

Not as large as I remember this place from many years ago, a U-shaped space with a central horseshoe bar in dark wood but with a contemporary tiled bar back. Wood flooring with a chequer tiled walkway from the entrance and around the bar perimeter. Mixed seating with some stools at a drinking ledge along the front windows, patterned armchairs at old dining tables and a high bench along one side which has bowler hat styled lamps above. The rear return area is a dedicated restaurant called "Fentons", possibly why the pub seems smaller than it used to. There is a separate hotel area with the reception off the bar, thirteen "boutique" rooms upstairs.
Three fireplaces hint at an original layout, décor includes tennis and rugby paraphernalia, cases of tobacco pipes, old maps then a pair of IKEA style shelving units form a sort of divide to the rear with the shelves housing books, pots and vases and a model bicycle.
Old leaded windows with the pub name, brewery and some coloured inserts have been retained/restored.
Young's beers, Bitter, Special, London Gold, guest Hog's Back TEA and cider from Aspall's, Ciderkyn. Obviously having a dedicated restaurant, food is served but the lunches had finished mid Saturday afternoon although a board listed a variety of bar snacks.
The TV was off and I also noticed a drop down screen, I imagine this gets used for big rugby games but I don't think this is a round ball pub. Outdoor seating to the frontage. Not a bad spot, maybe trying to cater for a number of types of customer but comfortable enough and handy for the train.

On 29th September 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1694 recommendations about 1668 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Orange Tree

This was my first visit for over 20 years, and it seems to have been opened up and modernised a bit, which seems to be the Young’s’ way. The horseshoe bar counter is on the left, with the large seating area on three sides of it. Furnishings consist mainly of normal tables and chairs, but there are a few sofas, armchairs and low tables, as well as some high stools and high tables. Some walls, pillars and the bar back are painted that grey/brown taupe colour – other walls are painted cream, and some have a sort of gold/green wallpaper. A bit of a mixed bag then. This is one of those places where the menus on the tables are just one A4 sheet of paper. The sandwiches are between the £4 - £7 mark, and the mains around £10. Unusually, there was some blues being played (John Lee Hooker, Wee Willie Dixon et al) which seemed quite appropriate for Richmond as the place where that old blues group, the Rolling Stones, made their name. Overall this is a typical made-over Young’s pub – big open spaces and little character remaining, and is just a little too “corporate” for my taste, but it is clean and fairly comfortable.

On 7th May 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Noel Hawkins left this review about The Orange Tree

Handy for the station and theatre next door. Usually good mix of people and nice food too.

On 11th March 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 10 recommendations about 10 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Orange Tree

Refitted Youngs pub with plenty of pot plants, sofas and the contemporary choc n’ cream colour scheme. Saying that, I quite liked it in here - well the corner cubby-hole by the door anyway. I can’t recall what my pint was but it was acceptable enough. Nothing of note to keep you there beyond a pint but a pleasant enough stop if you’re in the town.

On 6th August 2006 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Orange Tree

This is a large looking pub on a very busy road close to Richmond station.
When i first visited this pub it had a couple of rooms,it has since been opened out and is now decked out in a more modern style.
This is a Youngs tied house and there were two beers on here i had a drink of Youngs bitter and this was a decent drink the other beer wa Youngs Special.

Pub visited 1/11/2001

On 1st November 2001 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]