User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Woodies, Malden Manor, New Malden

Thetford Road
New Malden
KT3 5DX

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Woodies

Excellent watering hole in one-tine sports pavilion, now much extended with a verandah, pool room and kitchen added across the front. Inside retains the several different areas packed in around the bar. A good range of ales and ciders is always available, along with the craft and keg stuff and the food is quite dependable, although not as cheap as it once was. Despite being less than a minute off the A3 (northbound), there is no signing whatever until you reach the gate, so check the map carefully, but it is well worth finding.

On 12th June 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2271 recommendations about 2218 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Woodies

I was in here the other day for their beer festival, and as usual it was a well run event. But what struck me were the improvements that had been made to the place since my previous visit. The interior is unchanged as far as I could see (which is no bad thing) but outside they’ve now extended the building to add two large covered drinking areas, one of which is non-smoking, and other for smokers. They’ve also moved the road to the car park further from the building so that one no longer has to cross the road to get to the outside picnic benches. All in all I reckon it’s an improvement.

On 17th August 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Woodies

Set in a quiet location this sports pavilion is a great place for a quiet drink.Up to 8 real ales with the Redemption Trinity being in great form and there were plenty of real ales to suit all tastes.Nice outside seating area which would be very nice if we ever get a summer.This pub is a bit off the beaten track but is very well worth seeking out.I found that the easiest way to get there is by 265 bus and get off at Manor Road North/South lane and walk up the footpath that comes off the A3.(takes about 5 mins)

On 4th May 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Woodies

The first things that strikes you as you enter this converted sports pavilion is the staggering array of sporting memorabilia that covers every inch of the pub's interior. Programmes, tickets, pendants, photos, t-shirts, signs, flags and paintings from sporting events of yesteryear hang from every beam and cover every bit of wall, ceiling, pillar and bar. You can move table after every pint and have a whole new world of nostalgia to explore.
The room itself is surprisingly large, with a raised section at the front and a serving hatch to the side for those wanting food. There's stacks of seating throughout the pub and they had a big screen up showing the cricket when I visited recently. There are plenty of benches out the back and more on the grassy area in front of the pub, giving lovely views across the fields. A brick fire place inside would be ideal for warming the place up on a winter's night, although I'm not sure that a naked flame would be a good idea given all the stuff hanging off the walls!
Ales were a mix of popular standards and a few less common ones. My visit saw Adnams Broadside, Young's Ordinary, Fullers London Pride and ESB, Ascot Posh Pooch, Stonehenge Sign of Spring, Isle of Purbeck Best Bitter and Thatcher's Cider on the pumps. I tried the Purbeck and Ascot and thought they were both very well kept.
The pub is a bit of a nightmare to reach by public transport and I found myself enduring a long bus journey followed by a lengthy walk through some fairly posh suburban back roads. That would be my only gripe with the place and having finally arrived I felt that the journey had certainly been worthwhile. A hidden treat - I will no doubt be returning - perhaps for their summer beer festival.

On 21st June 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Woodies

This is a rather quirky pub in a former sports pavilion. The first thing you notice on entering is that the walls and ceiling are literally festooned with all sorts of sports programmes, postcards, pictures, flags and pennants and so forth, it must be a fire officer's worst nightmare! The bar is ahead on entering and there is a food servery to the left. Both counters have cricket badges mounted on the front, from the counties and national side. There are eight handpumps with a few changing guests. The recent selection was Adnam's Broadside, Pride, ESB, Young's Bitter, Cottage Concorde, Downton Elderquad, Stonehenge Spire Ale plus a Thatcher's Cider. The food is simple stuff like pies etc, and they do an excellent Sunday roast, good value too. Traditional seating inside, really one main area, slightly raised to the right and with a quieter section to the left and round a bit. A large screen shows sports. There is further seating outside facing the sports pitches. Well worth a look in, not least for the beer selection, but it is a little off the beaten track.

On 30th March 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Woodies

How to turn an old sports pavilion into a superb pub. Quite amazing - tucked away but only 2 mins off the A3 if you know where you are going. Excellent range of beers and home-made food, but most notable for the vast assortment of, well, stuff nailed to the ceiling.

On 9th December 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2271 recommendations about 2218 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Woodies

Dropped into this excellent pub for the first day of their beer festival yesterday afternoon. The festival continues until Sunday. Rather an agreeable afternoon actually. I had a half-dozen of the 50 or so ales they had on, and all were in good nick, and were made all the more enjoyable by being able to watch England demolish the Aussies at The Oval. The festival itself was well organised, with a beer marquee set up on the playing fields adjoining the pub, serving most of the festival ales on offer, with a handful more being available in the pub itself. Almost all of the ales were priced at £3 per pint. I also had a very good plate of chilli con carne and rice for £3.50, although I have to say that the portions sizes were more like a snack than a meal, and could have been a bit bigger. Good day nonetheless, all the better for meeting up with Maldenman and Trainman again.The pub itself has remained pretty well unchanged for at least the last 20 or so years, apart from the outside area which seems to be better laid out than it was before. You used to be able to walk onto the field, but this is now fenced off. Every available inch of wall and celing is covered with all manner of sports programmes and the like. Some people have said to me that it ought to be cleaned up a bit, but I like it the way it is. Its main drawback in my opinion is that it is nowhere near any form of public transport.

On 22nd August 2009 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


geremy snodgrass left this review about Woodies

best pub in new malden...... iff you can find it!

if your having an affair, or seeing someone you shouldn't, then this is the ideal location for a drink. highly unlikely you'll find anyone in here that knows you.

On 9th May 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]