User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th September 2019) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Wheelwrights Arms, Kingston Upon Thames

60 Clarence Street
Kingston Town
Postal town: Kingston Upon Thames
KT1 1NP
Phone: 02085472990

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Wheelwrights Arms

A narrow wedge-shaped pub of little distinction by the station, rammed with Chelsea polyesters watching the football. Off-hand and haphazard service, as well as Olympic level bar-blocking. Two ales on, Youngs Bitter and St Austell Tribute, the latter of which was a pretty lacklustre half and emptied my pockets of £2.20. 4.5

On 1st December 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3904 recommendations about 3892 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Wheelwrights Arms

Nice-ish little locals pub with Sky sports football dominating the bar.Two beers on handpump one was Deuchars the other was equally dull if I went for Deuchars which was okay.

On 29th March 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 887 recommendations about 875 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about Wheelwrights Arms

The Wheelwrights is alright with me! Located right in the centre of Kingston town, a very useful 'haven' when deep in the midst of winter shopping, and you need some respite..! Ideally located. Small, but in it's own way quite beautiful, especially for weary, thirsty travellers from afar, seeking solace from the hoards of busy shoppers racing all over the place, with no time to stop, and sip a favourite tipple! But you have deserved a break, rest your limbs awhile, eat drink & be merry for a time, because Christmas is almost upon us....! Ho-hum. God-speed all merry gentlemen! :o) 6/10 TJ

On 5th December 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Wheelwrights Arms

This is a small one-room pub, which is bare-boarded with modern replacement boarding, and furnished with basic normal tables and chairs. There are several TVs around the place, but all on and muted when I was in during Monday afternoon. I spotted a couple of modern art style prints which were presumably there just to fill some otherwise empty space on the wall, as their artistic merit eluded me (but what do I know?). They only had Deuchars IPA on (£1.80 a half), with a clip reversed on a second pump. I saw no sign of food or menus, but I was in there after lunchtime.

This pub is OK if you happen to be in this part of Kingston town centre and don't really have time to walk to any of Kingston's good pubs. This probably means that I will visit again.

On 25th October 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2513 recommendations about 2431 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about Wheelwrights Arms

My visit this week largely echoed Pub SignMan’s from two months ago, to the extent that the Tribute was still twice clipped and drinkable, and the Pride clip was (still/again) reversed. However the quieter music and cracking barmaid on my visit were meritorious of an extra point. I find this pub is a relaxing place for a pint or two if I’m in the area, don’t fancy any of the larger venues locally, and don't have time to go further afield.

On 27th November 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 270 recommendations about 269 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Wheelwrights Arms

This is a very simple single room pub in the centre of Kingston. The bar counter runs along the back wall of what is a fairly narrow room, with seating provided throughout, especially in the slightly wider right hand end. The room has bare floorboards except at one end of the room, which is tiled. There's not much concession to tradition in this place, with the partitioning wall clearly having been removed some time ago and the place now full of 3D TV screens showing Sky Sports News, but there was at least one cartwheel, propped against a wall near the toilets, to remind us of the pub's name, if nothing else.
There were only a handful of customers in on my weekday evening visit, but the staff still deemed it necessary to start playing music at a surprisingly loud volume. Some of the punters were eating and I managed to check out the menu which was comprised of pub classics, with mains priced around the £7 mark.
Three handpulls at the bar offered St Austell’s Tribute (twice) and a turned London Pride clip. I went for the Hobson's choice of Tribute and found it was probably past its best, although certainly still drinkable. The barman was friendly enough and the staff in general seemed to be happy to chat away to their regulars.
Not the total disaster that Kingston town centre brings to mind, but not exactly an inspiring venue either. Worth a try if you're on a crawl or tight for time after a day of wandering round the shops, but there are better options near the river or in the suburbs.

On 29th September 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2313 recommendations about 2313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Wheelwrights Arms

The Wheelwrights is a small single room town pub at the bottom end of the town centre. Once two very small rooms I recall, and you can still see the divide where the floor covering changes. Friendly service whenever I've been in. Light coloured walls, 3 TV's dotted around, and despite the size plenty of places to sit especially at the end facing Clarence St.
Three handpumps, two reversed late on last night. Adnams Broadside on, the two others were Adnams Bitter, although I've seen Pride and GK IPA in here previously.
Fairly loud music but it was late on a Friday and you are not far from the nightclub area here so a few pre-club punters in. Much quieter at other times. A rare ordinary pub in Kingston town centre.

On 18th September 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1681 recommendations about 1658 pubs]