User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Reviewing milestone with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

Canbury Arms, Kingston Upon Thames

49 Canbury Park Road
Kingston Upon Thames
KT2 6LQ
Phone: 02082559129

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Moby Duck left this review about Canbury Arms

A modernised opened out pub rather smart and swishly decorated inside, the walls were hung with various modern artworks. Gastro Orientated as Graham indicates in the previous review, despite this it still felt comfortable as a drinking only venture. Four handpumps featuring Sharps Coaster, Harveys Sussex Best,Park Gallows and Surrey Hills Shere Drop at £2.05 for the half. Nice enough for a quick drink but I would struggle to stay for a session.

On 26th June 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1295 recommendations about 1282 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Canbury Arms

Very much a foodies' pub, with lots of bare wood, old church seats etc but with several good ales on, a couple from local breweries and a couple of national brands. I sampled the Autumn Amber from the Park brewery just up the road, and it was in very good condition (Cask Marque listing). One for eating at rather than a drinking session perhaps, but fine to stop by for a pint or two.

On 16th October 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2047 recommendations about 2002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Canbury Arms

For a gastropub this one had on a decent range of ales, with Surrey Hills Ranmore, St Austell Tribute, Sharp's Doom Bar, Timothy Taylor Landlord, and Ascot Alligator all available. My half of Tribute came in a dimpled mug, and was at the top end of gastropub pricing at £2. I didn't bother to look fo a menu (they weren't on the tables) as I had no intention of eating here, but I have no doubt of the sort of food on offer judging by the overwhelming smell of fishy and other assorted upper class food wafting around the place.

The furnishings are essentially scrubbed wooden tables and hard little wooden chairs - mainly re-cycled school chairs by the look of them. I would say that that particular novelty has long worn off by now. They can't believe that people prefer to sit on too small hard wooden chairs can they? Anyway, enough of such moaning. The walls are painted a light pastel shade, have some photographs tastefully arranged on them, all with little labels under them to inform you of the subject. Nothing wrong with that of course. The floor's bare-boarded of course, and the bar counter's full of clutter - a large floral display in a vase (OK, not clutter I suppose), ice bucket, glasses, lemons & limes, etc. But there were a couple of stools at the bar so they must be happy for drinkers to sit there. As well as the main room in the original pub, additional seating is provided in a large conservatory on the right, plus a garden and picnic benches at the front of the pub.

This is nothing like the traditional pub it no doubt once was. It's now an everyday gastropub. On the plus side it has a decent range of ales, but the big minus for me is the uncomfortable chairs.

On 30th March 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2543 recommendations about 2461 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Canbury Arms

Located down a reasonably prominent side street, not too far from Kingston train station, initial impressions of this pub suggested that I'd made a poor choice, thanks to its full-on gastro stylings, but I was pleased to find a healthy beer selection at the bar which certainly helped to sway my opinion back in favour of the place. The U shaped room has scrubbed wooden flooring and furniture, with formal table arrangements mostly set up in anticipation of diners. The area to the left of the bar in particular seemed designated for food and there were one or two couples enjoying their dinner from the interesting, if somewhat pricey menu and specials board. The decor isn't up to much, with a few art prints breaking up the dull cream coloured walls and only a fireplace and upright piano to distract the eye. The area to the right of the bar is a bit more open and although there is a lot less seating this side, it is probably the best spot to enjoy a pint. A doorway from here leads to the conservatory and garden at the rear and there are further benches located on the paved area at the front.
There were five beers on the bar - Twickenham Naked Ladies (£3.80), Hogs Back TEA, Sharps Doom Bar, Surrey Hills Ranmore Ale and St Austell Tribute. The barmaid tried to serve me a short measure of the Naked Ladies (which at £3.80 a pint, was not going to happen), but before I could pull her up on this, she contrived to spill it whilst putting in down on the bar, therefore obliging her to top it up anyway. The beer was in great shape, but I still think it's very steep to pay that much for a low strength beer that's made just down the road.
There wasn't much atmosphere in this place when I visited and judging by the layout, I'm not sure it ever would get that lively. Having said that, the beer was in top condition and if you don't mind splashing out a bit, this would be a pretty decent place to try if you fancy having a meal.

On 29th September 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2342 recommendations about 2342 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about Canbury Arms

Was here early evening yesterday with about 10 people to catch a drink between events elsewhere - I had an excellent pint of Otter from the five real ales available. The pub clearly goes heavily on the gastro side, but I certainly didn't feel that drinkers were unwelcome. I'd happily come back here when in the area

On 19th June 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 270 recommendations about 269 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Canbury Arms

In for an office do for 20+ people. Decent food and service and 5 well kept ales, Surrey Hills Ranmore, Taylors Landlord, Harveys Sussex, Sharps Doombar and Hook Norton Old Hooky. Its a foody pub, not a drinking place but it does what it does reasonably well. Gripe today was despite the fact we put over £800 quid into the place, the lad who requested an extra scoop of ice cream on his pud was denied unless he paid more! Not acceptable, perhaps we should have withdrawn the non compulsory service charge of over £80 in protest.
Rating dropped a point.

19 December 2007
Not sure if I'd call this a pub or a restaurant, certainly a gastropub anyway, but with a decent selection of beer. The food is excellent, and the beer line up the other day was Twickenham Best, Harveys Best, Hook Norton Old Hooky plus something else I don't recall, so there clearly is an interest in serving proper beer not just food. I just felt that if we were to arrive at lunchtime or evening peak with the intention of just drinking we may feel uncomfortable as it seemed all other customers were there essentially for meals. The main room has a horseshoe bar, with the seating winding around, however as suggested, all set for eating. An adjoining conservatory space can be used but it is cold or hot, depending on the weather.

On 18th December 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


D K left this review about Canbury Arms

What a beautiful pub, every aspect of it seems to be carefully planned out. It offers good food but at qite high prices. Recently though it seems to be dropping. I used to be a regular there , only living just up the road but i have now moved to where the action is really happening!! -- Just on the outskirts of Kingston, at pubs such as The Honest Cabbage and the Tup!!!

On 2nd February 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5 recommendations about 5 pubs]