User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th September 2019) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The White House, Guildford Central, Guildford

8 High Street
Guildford
GU2 4AJ
Phone: 01483302006

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The White House

The White House is a decent looking pub that is at the side of the main bridge in Guildford that goes over the River Wey.
Once inside there is an oblong shaped room which runs to the rear,the bar is to the rear,the floor is bare boarded,there are tall tables and chairs and one normal table and chairs in this room,there is a conservatory to the right which gives good views of the River Wey,this room has a tiled floor and normal tables and chairs.
The pub is a Fullers tied house,there were four Fullers real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Fullers Olivers Island,which went down well,the other beers were Southern Star,London Pride and ESB.
Quiet background music was playing.
The pub no where as busy as the Britannia which is a short walk along the river.
I thought this was a decent enough pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 13/5/2017

On 21st July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The White House

This Fullers pub is an office conversion set on the western bank of the River Wey, next to the Town Bridge. You enter through an impressive portico which has seemingly been styled to imitate that of the pub's more famous American namesake, emerging into a large bare boarded main bar area with the servery in the far right corner. The room has some coloured wooden-plank cladded walls to the right, with a green and cream colour scheme through much of the rest of the room. As you enter, you pass a nice little nook to the left where some tub chairs have been arranged around a bright green fireplace with a higgledy-piggledy collection of mirrors arranged above and paintings of fruit to the side. High tables and stools are down the right side of the room and opposite the bar, with long, low benches elsewhere and some black and white photos of people showing off their tattoos. The servery is an angular shape with a dark wood counter and bare brick bar back, whilst on the canopy you can see some old 7" records arranged in a line, each detailing a beer from the pub's range on their sleeve. To the left, the room opens into a good sized conservatory which was seemingly reserved for diners, as someone prevented us from taking a seat here. Tables were formal affairs with good views out to the garden and river beyond. Stairs near the entrance lead up to a small first floor function room with several tables served by comfy seating options. This leads out to a first floor terrace with limited seating, but excellent views of the river and a nearby car park, depending on which way you're facing. A few excellent retro movie posters along the staircase make the trek to the toilets much more enjoyable.
The usual Fullers trio of London Pride, ESB and Oliver's Island were available along with Gales Redwood and a few keg Fullers products. I had a pint of the Redwood, which I was pleased to find was in very good condition. We also stopped here for a bite to eat, opting to try a few bits from the starters/sharers menu. The food was pretty good but for the price we paid, we felt that the portions were pretty stingy.
This is a nice, attractive pub with a slightly incongruous modernised interior - the result of a 2015 refit. The place is popular thanks to its location, although thankfully much more peaceful on a Sunday afternoon than the previous reviewer experienced, and it is the riverside location that dazzles the most here. I was happy enough spending an hour or so relaxing in this pub and if I was returning to Guildford with others, I'd happily suggest it as a good spot for a pleasant drink or two.

On 31st May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2307 recommendations about 2307 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about The White House

A lively modern set up to this pub ,a little too lively on my visit to appreciate the pub properly, they had a bank holiday caribbean event on and the music was at such a level it could be heard right across the town.The place was rammed but I managed to spot four beers on, all Fullers, Pride, ESB, Olivers Island and Quintessential Pale Ale. I would probably give it another go at a quieter time.

On 31st August 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1257 recommendations about 1245 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The White House

Guildford’s premier destination pub based on its pretty whitewashed townhouse appearance (including the aforementioned portico), well-tended flora and its enviable location overlooking the River Wey. Apparently it was a solicitors office until converted to pub use. Inside has a fairly modern but bland Fullers-by-numbers feel over the two floors with a lot of the tables set up for dining, it didn’t really feel like a place to have a few drinks for the most part. The big selling point is the conservatory and outside terrace seating area with views of the river and large weeping willow. Three Fullers ales available, my Summer Ale was fair. Clientèle were of the better-heeled variety and there was no sign of any TV sports and the like. It’s well-worth dropping here if you can get a riverside seat but it isn’t really a stand-out otherwise.

On 8th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3904 recommendations about 3892 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The White House

We missed this one on our visit to Guildford earlier in the year, but spotted it when back in town this weekend whilst floating down the Wey on a boat from the NT owned Dapdune Wharf further upstream, and decided to visit as it looks good from the outside.
And as others have reported this is a pretty good pub from the inside as well, and as we had a fine weather day we were able to utilise the ground floor outside decking area and get a seat where our view of the navigation was not completely obscured by the Womping Willow.
Pride , ESB and Seafarers seem to be permanent beers but the seasonal Fullers Summer Ale was still available and that hit the spot on a fine weather early evening..

On 13th August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1663 recommendations about 1612 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The White House

This is a riverside Fuller's house on the edge of the town centre just off the town bridge. The ground floor area has been opened out incorporating the airy conservatory however the room meanders about a bit so a feeling of subdivision remains. This area has a wooden floor and mixed seating including some leather benches and armchairs, lots of pot plants and vases on ledges. An area to the end nearest the entrance has a fireplace. A fancy staircase rises to a small L-shaped mezzanine with sofas and a couple of regular tables. Curious décor up here with small framed photos of such individuals as Ken Livingstone, Delia Smith, Fanny Craddock, Ant and Dec and David Beckham amongst others. I doubt there is any relevance or significance but if there is I missed it. There are two separate riverside outdoor terraces, one up here off the mezzanine plus a larger ground floor one. Both only have partial river views however due to the presence of a huge weeping willow tree on the bank directly in front of the seating areas.
Food is served eg pork and apple sausages, mash and cider gravy £9, regular burger with chips and salad £9, pizzas from £11 to £15.
Fullers beers, reasonably priced by this brewery's standards, Pride, ESB, Seafarers plus seasonal Sticky Wicket (£3.75). Another was being pulled through, the clip from the back looked like it may have been HSB.
A pleasant riverside spot, probably a good bolt hole from the nearby shops, worth a look in.

On 28th July 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1681 recommendations about 1658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The White House

Currently very good in terms of atmosphere and beer quality. One of the towns best pubs now.

On 6th December 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The White House

Curious-looking white building at the bottom end of Guildford's High Street, with a small portico having a passing resemblance to its Washington namesake - should one have a vivid imagination and no sense of scale - as illustrated on the pub sign. However, it benefits from a fine location next to the bridge over the River Wey, and the terrace is a fine place to sit on a sunny day (if one can find a seat). There is also an upstairs balcony (not visited). Inside, the bar area has been opened out from several rooms and a conservatory. Choice of four Fullers beers from the six handpumps - Pride, ESB, Seafarers and Discovery (£3.30).

On 13th August 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5639 recommendations about 5639 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The White House

I think the pub allows both children and dogs outside. The outside section is quite large.

On 30th October 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Kelly Shea left this review about The White House

Is the garden region of the White House dog-friendly? If not, I am looking for one that accepts young children and dogs, thanks.

On 13th September 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]

Page: 1 2