User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Three Pigeons, Guildford Central, Guildford

169 High Street
Guildford
GU1 3AJ
Phone: 01483575728

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


BRUMMIE STEVE left this review about The Three Pigeons

Enjoyed my visit to The Three Pigeons, comfortable friendly town centre pub which had a good selection of real ales. very busy on the Friday evening I was in Guildford. The pub also as a upstairs bar reached by a spiral staircase, of the 4 pubs I visited that evening this was my favourite.

On 6th March 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 39 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Three Pigeons

The three Pigeons is a nice looking pub that is on Guildford's nice looking High Street.
Once inside there is a narrow room which runs the the rear,the bar is to the front left,the room is bare boarded,the seating is normal tables and chairs and one tall table and stools,there is more seating upstairs.
There were two real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Surrey Hills Ranmoor,which went down well,the other real ale was Doom Bar.
There was background music playing and the pub was fairly busy on my late Saturday afternoon visit.
I was happy enough having a drink in this pub.

Pub visited 13/5/2017

On 1st August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Three Pigeons

Nice looking ornate pub,a long narrow bar with seating to the rear plus upstairs seating by way of a semi spiral staircase.Six hand pumps on the bar with five in use on my visit,there was a poster on one of the bar columns proclaiming the pub to be proud to offer "Locale" beers,the five on though were far from local,Blacksheep Bitter,Wychwood Hobgoblin Gold,Adnams Southwold Bitter,Doombar and Tribute, all a rather pedestrian selection in my book.
Nice pub but very average beer,could do better.

On 30th August 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1307 recommendations about 1294 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Three Pigeons

A long and narrow pub with an upstairs seating area reached by a spiral staircase. Up to six real ales on with a couple being from local breweries

On 9th July 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2040 recommendations about 2021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Three Pigeons

The attractive frontage belies the building's age, the look is late middle ages however the pub was rebuilt in 1916 following fire damage in the style of a 17th century building somewhere in Oxford. I was surprised to learn this, that such an ornate detailed structure could be built during the Great War, when most of the nation's menfolk were in France and Belgium. The interior is long and narrow with the bar to the front along one side. Boarded floor with rugs away from the serving area, wood panelling and a low moulded ceiling with a flowery design. Lots of framed prints, high tables along one side, standard issue along the other. A stair curves its way upwards to another room with good views of the pedestrianized street from the bay window which cantilevers out over the pavement. There is a further bar up here but with a lesser choice to that downstairs.
Six handpumps, Taylor's Landlord, Black Sheep Bitter, Doom Bar, Hogs Back TEA, Dorking No 1 and Cottage Galaxy (£3.30). I have to say the Galaxy although clear was tired, initially with a head but this soon disappeared. I did wonder if my glass had been "topped up" with fresh into old beer as the pint was filled very quickly but I cannot be sure of this as I didn't see. If so however a poor do from a GBG 2014 pub with cask marque accreditation.
Food is served, standard pub fare, 50% off advertised all day Tuesdays. A smallish TV was showing the Winter Olympics while background music played.
Not a bad pub, could do with a bit of a more adventurous selection with six on but I can't help wondering about that pint.

On 18th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Three Pigeons

A pretty black-framed listed building, this is actually a Stonegate pub despite still having the Nicholsons branding. A shame Nicholson’s didn’t stick around as the beer quality (from a choice of Pride, Doom Bar, TT Landlord, Dorking Gold, and Wychwood Bountiful) was poor. The interior retains the Nicholsons catalogue makeover with dark wood décor over two floors. The ground floor bar (as observed elsewhere) is mainly for vertical drinking with the upstairs more a regular sit-down refuge. A disappointing visit and I hope it’s a one-off in terms of beer quality seeing as it’s listed in GBG 2014.

On 8th October 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Three Pigeons

Nice pub situated at the top of Guildford High Street in front of the Holy Trinity Church well described by John below. Despite the fact that it hasn’t been part of the Nicholson chain for a fair while now it’s still has that Nicholson feel, and from what I could tell a food offering very similar to the Nicholson standard fare. So much so that I had to finally asked the barman, who confirmed that it isn’t, and is now owned by the Stonegate Group.
Good 18th Century period exterior, although it’s not original as reported below, and inside the dark wood décor and layout remains from the Nicholson days.
Five hand pumps still remain and the policy seems to be a couple of standards (TT Landlord and GK IPA on my visit) and then others from small regional and Microbreweries.
I too liked this one and would certainly return when next in town.

On 9th April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1698 recommendations about 1647 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Three Pigeons

At the top end of the cobbled High Street is The Three Pigeons, an attractive looking black timber framed pub. Outside, a plaque tells us that a pub called The Three Pigeons has stood here since the middle of the 18th Century. The building was badly damaged by fire in 1916 and rebuilt 2 years later. It’s now a listed building. Next door is The George Abbot Hospital, a series of almshouses for elderly local residents.

A traditional interior features a longish narrow wood panelled room with low ceilings, part of which has decorative plasterwork. One side of this room has long high tables and stools, which I always detest in pubs, particularly so in low ceilinged traditional pubs. At the back is a small smokers courtyard. A curved staircase leads to an upstairs dining room.

Despite the Nicholson’s door mat in the entrance, it’s now part of the Stonegate Group, according to a loyalty card on the bar, promising me one free pint for every 5 stamps collected. I imagine that The Three Pigeons must have been one of the tranche of pubs offloaded by Mitchell and Butlers in recent months. The usual cheap meal deals advertised contributed to something of a chainy feel. On my recent Saturday lunchtime visit, a few regulars and weary shoppers made for a welcoming atmosphere. The pub was advertising an early opening for the Rugby World Cup Final the next morning.

6 pumps were offering Hogs Back Autumn Ale, Hobgoblin, London Pride, Doombar, TT Landlord and Ringwood Best, which is a reasonable selection, if perhaps somewhat less interesting than Nicholsons would have offered. The Autumn Ale - £ 2.70p – was pretty good. A CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2012 sticker is displayed. Looking back over earlier editions, this would appear to be its first listing for some time.

By the standards of town centre high street pubs, I thought this one was pretty reasonable and I’d be happy to return when next in the area

On 5th April 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about Three Pigeons

The menu changed a few weeks ago. The beef burger here was pretty good. The lady working in the bar was nice and friendly. Plenty of real ales on tap as well. Ok - no more reviews this year.

On 4th April 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about Three Pigeons

The Smoked Haddock Fishcakes served with chips is pretty nice here. Although they can get busy at lunch the staff are a helpful bunch. (Ok - better not make anymore reviews for a while it shall look like I love the pub or something)

On 5th February 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]

Page: 1 2