User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

The Star Inn, Guildford Central, Guildford

2 Quarry Street
Guildford
GU1 3TY
Phone: 01483532887

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about The Star Inn

A splendidly aged building spread over several levels. The entrance is through a lounge area with sofas, with the bar behind. To one side you can go down to a drawing room sort of area, while up a level is a further lounge with a corridor leading through to the noted music venue, famed for bands such as The Stranglers in their early days. This was under threat of noise control and closure by an adjoining development but seems to have survived for now. The whole pub has a nice historic feel, with lots of woodwork, beams and old fashioned wall lights and is generally very pleasant. As a Shepherd Neame house, the beer range is restrained, with Spitfire, Whitstable bay and Rudolf's Reward, a disappointingly light seasonal ale.

On 17th January 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2120 recommendations about 2074 pubs]


BRUMMIE STEVE left this review about The Star Inn

Really nice looking pub even though I didn't go the real ale as I'M not a fan of Shepherds Neame so had to pay well over the odds for a pint of premium lager, a little quieter then the other pubs in town.

On 6th March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 39 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Star Inn

The Star Inn is a really nice looking pub that is on a narrow street just off the busy High Street.
The pub is a Shepherd Neame tied house so i was well pleased.
Once inside there is a T shaped room which is bare boarded,the bar is to the rear left,the seating is normal tables and chairs,there is a separate room down steps to the rear right,this room looked quite smart with it being carpeted and having normal tables and chairs for seating.
There were three Shepherd Neame real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Spitfire Gold,which went down well,the other beers were Spitfire and Whitstable Bay Pale Ale.
A very pleasant pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 13/5/2017

On 1st August 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Star Inn

It certainly seems and looks an authentic ancient pub ,split on three levels with some uneven floors and walls adding to the effect,very busy with the young/slightly hip early Friday evening crowd, two banks of three pumps, and as mentioned previously doubled up,beers available all from the Sheps stable were Master Brew, Whitstable Bay and Bishops Finger,I am not a huge Shepherd Neame fan but unlike the previous reviewer, I found the Whitstable Bay to be top notch and very enjoyable. If you enjoy or can tolerate Sheps beers I think most people would enjoy this pub,I did and for me one of the better pubs in Guildford I have tried to date.

On 6th December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1307 recommendations about 1294 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Star Inn

A Shepherd Neame pub with separate seating areas that are all over the the place and at different levels. Unless you are a Sheps fan you will not find much in the way of a real ale selection. The Whitstable Bay that I tried was in pretty bad form.

On 9th July 2014 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2039 recommendations about 2020 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Star Inn

Claiming to date from the 16th century, this clearly looks and feels like an old building. Although not really separate rooms in so much as they are interconnected, there are five distinctly separate areas over three levels, plus upstairs to the rear, "the back room" where regular live music and stand-up takes place. Unusually the corridor leading to this area has a single tiny separate two seater booth, certainly a good spot for a bit of privacy. Boarded floors, mixed seating including sofas in front of the wood burning fire, the bar is in a back room along one side. Shepherd Neame beers from two sets of three handpumps, doubled up at the time with Spitfire, Masterbrew and Late Red, my first sighting this year (£3.65). Food is served and helped introduce me to a new pub annoyance, the kitchen door was propped right open to the pub resulting in consequent food smells and the clanging and bashing noises associated with catering. Décor included the usual SN stuff, framed local photos plus old brewery nostalgia with black and white photos of brewery staff, dray vehicles and suchlike. Plenty of dark wood remains, board games and newspapers available. I spotted one TV in a back room down the stairs but this was off on Saturday afternoon leading me to believe that this probably isn't your routine sports pub.
I liked the pub a fair bit, especially as a winter venue with the fire going, it felt warm, homely and welcoming and despite it's location in the town centre there wasn't a transient feel but please, just keep the kitchen door closed in future.

On 3rd December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Star Inn

A Shepherd Neame pub. Looks the ticket from the outside - clearly an aged building (300-odd years old?) and the interior, despite modernisation, still has various walls and floors at startlingly erratic angles along with a low ceiling and a multi-level/multi-roomed layout. Six pumps but shockingly for a SN pub only two were on and my Goldings was decidedly so-so. As with its sister pub the Britannia there were board games available as well as hot food (the smell of which pervaded). Live music advertised in the back room. Overall, a real disappointment.

On 8th October 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3960 recommendations about 3948 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Star Inn

Popped in to complete a mini crawl of the pubs around Guildford shopping thoroughfare whist the better half was off spending my money and was also surprised to find a multilevel pub spread out over 3 levels with a variety of different seating and drinking / dining areas well described by previous reviewers.
Nothing going on in the function room at the back for my mid- afternoon visit so could enjoy a quiet pint of Spitfire.
Also not sure I’d make a special trip just to come to this one , but perfectly fine to include for a visit if you like the Sheps Ales.

On 12th April 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1697 recommendations about 1646 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Star Inn

Now just about the top pub in Surrey, currently specialising in cakes! Other than that the pub is warm and friendly with at least 3 Shepherd Neame ales on.

On 12th March 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Star Inn

Went today, great pub, divided into 3 sections, this is in many ways a live music pub, but there is much real ale to be sampled including Masterbrew, Bishops Finger and the Late Red was good.

On 24th January 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]

Page: 1 2