User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Robin Hood, Guildford

Sydenham Road
Guildford
GU1 3RH
Phone: 01483826044

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Robin Hood

The Robin Hood is a standard looking corner pub.
There is a smallish L shaped room inside which is bare boarded,there is bench seating and chairs and some uncomfy looking backless bench seating on the left side with small stools,there was also 1 tall table with stools.
There were four real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Weetwood Best,which was a decent drink but very expensive at £4.60 a pint,my most expensive drink of the day,the other beers were Sharps Sea Farer,Sharps Atlantic and Courage Best.
There were lots of model lorries above the bar which looked a bit different.
A shame about the uncomfortable seating and expensive beer.

Pub visited 13/5/2017

On 1st August 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Robin Hood

Update.
I made a point of calling in again having heard of recent improvements in the pub. It has been smartened up a bit inside since my previous visit, but not to its detriment as a pub,the beer range has definitely improved, now with six handpumps all were in use and with some interesting choices for the area, St Austell Cousin Jack ,Whitstable Bay Red IPA,Moles Dark,Goddards Starboard,Woods Hopping Mad and Timothy Taylors Knowle Spring. Although it was on the quiet side early evening on the Thursday before Good Friday, a few were drifting in as I left. I would say the pub is now worth seeking out.
Upgraded to 7/10.

23rd June 2013
A nice enough ,albeit unremarkable backstreet pub,small and traditional inside with an L shaped bar,stools at the bar and basic tables and chairs filling up the remaining space. Rock music was playing via the jukebox with some interesting choices from the predominantly young crowd.Four ales on ,one slips my mind but also on were St Austell Tribute, Otter Bitter and Upham Punter, which was in good condition.A decent pub I would call into again if passing which is unlikely , but wouldn't go out of my way to visit. Its current rating of 6/10 I think is a fair one.

On 15th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1344 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Robin Hood

I found this to be a pleasant little pub situated up the hill behind the church off the main shopping street and beyond the also very good Royal Oak. Inside there is a single J-shaped I suppose room, the bar is opposite on entering. Polished boarded flooring, leaded windows, there are a series of framed montages to various musicians and bands on the walls as well as a plethora of beer mats indicating the changing range across the pumps. Six handpumps, two were reversed ( Tribute and fff Alton's Pride ), on were Bowman Bier de Noel, Doom Bar plus two from local Guildford micro, The Little Beer Corporation, Little Smooth (a stout) and Little Vienna (a light lager style ale-which was rather good). Apparently the pub is a regular outlet for LBC beers. Food is served, a decent looking and fairly priced menu was on a chalkboard, Monday and Tuesday are "steak nights" with steak and a pint at an attractive and JDW challenging £7.50.
They have live music now and again, the return area beyond the bar has a raised section which would serve as a stage but make toilet access a bit tricky and likely to result in heckling I'd guess. There was football on the telly on Sunday afternoon.
There is a bit of outside seating to the front, not with especially inspiring views however but it will serve the smokers.
A nice pub, the barman was friendly and there is a local regulars feel despite being a short uphill stroll from the shops.

On 12th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Robin Hood

A basic locals pub a short walk from the town centre. Five pumps holding three ales (Bowmans, Altons Pride and Tribute) plus a proper cider (Westons). My Bowmans was good. Well-worth looking in if the beer range and quality is usually this consistent? Reviews elsewhere indicate this is a perennial ‘open-then-closed’ kind of place. Perhaps that has changed for the better now. I'll be generous and give it a 7, seeing as 6.5 isn't available...

On 8th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about Robin Hood

The Robin Hood was opened again earlier in 2011 after being closed for a while due to the pub being in a very poor condition. The pub was better on a more recent visit with decent real ale. The crowd is more or less the same but they appear to hold things like quiz nights and curry nights on a regular basis.

On 12th October 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about Robin Hood Public House

Sorry the photo's a bit dark, new camera. Anyway, a small square pub, with a green tartan carpet. Has real ale. Serves food all day, on the special board had vegetarian haggis.

On 14th February 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]