User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Lockdown 3 with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Keep, Guildford

30 Castle Street
Guildford
GU1 3UW
Phone: 01483450600

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Keep

The Keep is a small pub that is situated on a decent looking street.
Once inside there is a smallish single square shaped room with the bar on the right side,the floor is bare boarded,the seating is settees and puff stools to the front and pew seats and normal tables and chairs elsewhere.
There were two real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Hogs Back TEA,which went down well,the other real ale was St Austell Tribute.
The pub was fairly busy on my Saturday afternoon visit.
Quiet background music was playing.
I thought this was a decent enough pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 13/5/2017

On 26th July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Keep

On my visit I would describe The Keep as a cosy bar, a late afternoon/early evening Sunday visit found upon entry a modern Jazz band in full swing, sorry if I got the musical genera wrong but it was along those lines,the place was rammed with appreciative punters and all though not my particular thing it made for a good vibe. A fairly small,square single bar full of tables chairs and sofas, with some room to vertical drink at the bar if desired or as on the night required, I didn't manage to investigate the previously reported upstairs bar or rear courtyard. Four pumps on the bar with one not in use, Firebird Old English Ale XXXX and First Gold by Brains and on the third active pump a real Cider (I assume) which unfortunatley I failed to note. I did quite warm to the place if not my usual kind of hangout , would I call in again? Yes.

On 19th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1356 recommendations about 1342 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Keep

Located just outside the old castle, this is a very middle class outlet that has been chocolate-coloured modernised to the point of comedy. Less of a pub and more of a bistro/coffee shop affair. Two ales – Tribute and Ringwood Boondoggle plus the (unreal) Addlestones cider. My Tribute was served in a little handled mug and was in decent form. There were fresh flowers on the tables but, oddly, candles in Relentless energy drink glasses. A small rear patio available for the higher class of smoker. I didn’t notice any signs to the upstairs bar mentioned elsewhere. I felt a bit out of place here but was glad I had look; it serves a niche.

On 8th October 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Keep

Recently had a nice meal here. The food is all home prepared and has its unique style. The beer was TEA and St Austell Ale. I'd of liked a Surrey Hills but did not see it here. Pretty empty in general but don't mind that.

On 8th June 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Keep

The Keep is a very nice little pub hidden away off the main high street in Guildford, opposite the Castle grounds.
In essence it’s a single room pub but does have an upstairs room with a smaller separate bar. Downstairs the interior has a modern feel with a wooden floor, bare brick walls and leather sofa seating. And then there is a small courtyard garden beyond this room. The bar here supports three hand pumps and one of these was dispensing a very good Surry Hills Shere Drop.
Well worth searching out when in Guildford.

On 12th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Keep

I was a little harsh there - its still definitely one of the towns best pubs.

On 30th December 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Keep

On a recent visit to the Keep in early October 2011 the pub was found to be in a rundown state. The pub furniture looks pretty messy and the place looked a fairly sad state. The Surrey Hills beer was reasonable but the beer was someway off being topped upto a full pint which was strange. The food was edible but the menu has not changed in over 3 years. Needs to improve.

On 12th October 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jane Lyons left this review about The Keep

The upstairs bar has reopened as the Castle Lounge with stunning views of Guildford Castle, both bars have been refurbished with the aim of creating a relaxed contemporary atmosphere in a traditional Pub. The Keep still serves Surrey Hills & other local ales eg Otter,Hogs Back TEA plus Addlestones & has a wide range of quality wines from a local supplier or you could sample the wide selection of malt whiskies & boubons. We are proud of our homecooked menu & have just put on our Summer Menu which includes a good selection of freshly prepared Salads.I take Maiden man's point about the entrance door & its on our list . We love our Pub , so if you are looking for somewhere slightly off the main drag where you can relax when you are in Guildford, Please come & see us.

On 2nd May 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Diana Roberts left this review about The Keep

The friendliest pub in Guildford - with the best chilli !!!

On 2nd May 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Keep

There is also a room upstairs, so more than just the one room in this pub. It is excellent for local ale, since they often sell the Surrey Hills beers here. It is slightly hidden away and thus often seems to be quieter than most pubs. Definitely a good real ale find.

On 20th June 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]

Page: 1 2