User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Kings Head, Guildford

27 Kings Road
Guildford
GU1 4JW

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Kings Head

The Kings Head is a decent looking pub that is set sideways onto the road.
Once inside the bar faces in a decent sized L shaped room which is bare boarded,the room extends to the rear left,there is bench seating and chairs and some tall tables and chairs to the front left.
The pub is a Fullers tied house,there were three real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Fullers Olivers Island,which went down well,the other Fullers beers were London Pride and ESB.
The pub was quite busy with locals on my Saturday afternoon visit.
I quite liked this pub.
A shame about the scaffolding outside on my photo though.

Pub visited 13/5/2017

On 1st August 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Kings Head

Large Fullers pub split into different areas, real fire, sadly devoid off any serving staff and makes a Wetherspoon look extremely efficient in comparison!

On 13th December 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Kings Head

Located a short walk out from the town centre and nearer to London Rd station, this attractive looking pub is deceptively larger inside than it looks. On entering an island bar is straight ahead, this has several banks of handpumps, mostly but not all doubled up. The range from Fullers was Pride, ESB, Oliver's Island plus guest Tillingbourne Hop Troll (£4) and a cider from Cornish Orchards. This smallish front area has a few high tables, dictionary themed wallpaper, framed oversize facsimile stamps of King George VI, and a boarded floor which continues through most of the pub. The area then leads through to a larger space behind which has butchers' block high tables then continues on again ramping down slightly to a rear area with tables set up for eating. A side room off here is the only carpeted bit I saw and is named "The Mad Hatters Tea Room". Back around and to the right, we find another room with the Alice in Wonderland theme, "Alice's Rest Room". A decked garden with some cover is beyond. The full circuit back to the front bar then leads to a snug-like area with a single table and a clutch of armchairs, the walls in here are covered with clocks and framed book covers by PG Wodehouse. There is also a brown glazed tiled fireplace. This is where I settled with my pint, away from the family groups to the rear and side and the rather boorish set of blokes in the front bar.
They do food obviously, being Sunday a large bowl of roast potatoes in gravy was set on the bar counter which initially looked appealing until I saw a bloke take one, bite it, then dip in the gravy again and repeat until finished. Hmmm.
Football was on TV, live music advertised Tues and Thurs.
I quite liked the pub in so far as its size allows somewhere for everyone to sit and enjoy but the lack of thought about what is an obvious issue with the food on the bar counter put me off a bit.

On 20th May 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Kings Head

A Fullers corner pub that looks from the exterior a typical run of the mill pub, however once inside we find a fairly modern makeover,and in my opinion this works very well.A central bar as you walk in is surrounded by several interconnecting bars, although they are relatively small spaces the light internal decor gives an airy open feel. There did seem to be a slight Alice in Wonderland theme running through part of the pub in the form of mounted drawings and prints as well as some wall inscriptions.
On the bar itself I was surprised to see a total of 14 modern metallic hand pulls,only one was unclipped although a few were doubled up, there was around 7 Fullers/Gales beers on,and I was delighted to spot their latest release Oliver's Island alongside my favourite Fullers beer Wild River alongside it, one of the pumps had on Cornish Orchard Cider,there was one guest beer on cask,Tillingbourne Hop Troll. There was some Craft beer offerings I didn't note though I remember one from Beavertown which rather surprised me.Prices were not to bad given this is a Fullers pub ,The Oliver's Island set me back £3.74 and a half Wild River £1.90. I really quite liked this pub and have in mind for a return visit despite being a little out of the town centre.

On 2nd May 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1356 recommendations about 1342 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Kings Head

Packed out on a Spring day I tell you.. packed right out!!

On 23rd March 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Kings Head

Yeah - went since the refurbishment and surprise surprise this is now mostly a Gastro Pub - not necessarily a bad thing as the drinks choice is even wider including most of the Fullers range of beers. Expensive Belgian beers are also available. Not sure its a good place to watch the football anymore though.

On 3rd February 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Kings Head

Currently being refurbished in a big way and shall be opening again sometime in August. I expect it shall be even better.

On 1st August 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Kings Head

This is an excellent Fullers pub and one of the best pubs in the town of Guildford. There is a quiz night every Thursday which can be entertaining, but this pub is worth a visit whenever, there is a unique charm about the place and a feeling of history. Unspoilt pub.

On 24th July 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]