User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Going with a bang! with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Cannon, Guildford

Portsmouth Road
Guildford
GU2 4BL
Phone: 01483575089

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Keystone

Quite a modern "happening" feel to the place, slightly on the edge of the main town but was fairly well attended early on a Sunday evening.The art work on the walls was quite interesting and led to a slight bohemian feel. Three of the four pumps were in action,Otter Bitter, Tribute and Hop Art Rose, the latter of the trio I tried but it wasn't to my particular taste.I did like the pub though but would be a lot better if they could raise the beer stakes.

On 18th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1344 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Keystone

A small L-shaped room with the bar situated in the crook. Parquet flooring, a few tall tables painted grey, four shabby old sofas face each other in pairs either side of a fireplace with a copper hood, no signs of a real fire though, just large candles on the hearth. Towards the rear the room steps down slightly, there are pallets fixed to the walls here that act as supports for a range of paintings by local artists, many of which were priced for sale. A shelf contained a selection of board games, two TVs were showing the 6 Nations rugby. There was a bit of a trendy feel to the place I thought, reinforced by the graffiti wall to the rear entrance beyond the outdoor terrace. By the front door is a piano, furnished with a sign "If you can play me, please do" suggesting to me that many who can't try anyway.
Four handpumps, Brain's Bread of Heaven, Otter Bitter, Firebird Heritage (£3.50) with Tribute being reversed.
Quite a relaxed feel to the place I thought with a what may or may not be intentional shabby chic vibe, one end of the bar had a stack of old doors leaning against it while for reasons unknown there were little clusters of camera tripods lying around.
I liked it here, well located near the busy shopping centre but out of sight from the passing trade.

On 15th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Keystone

This was originally an Ind Coope (Friary Meux?) pub called the Cannon. It's only a small place with wooden floors and a modern decor. On my visit there seemed to be stuff lying around in the corner I went to sit. On the bar there were just four pumps with St Austell Tribute, Otter Ale, Firebird Paleface and Doom Bore which had gone off. As I understand it the Otter and Tribute are regular beers so really the beer choice wasn't that great. I can't say I was that bothered by the fact that the Doom Bore had finished. Inevitably I went for the Paleface (£3.65) which wasn't too clear but tasted OK and the barman was quite enthusiastic about it. If I returned to Guildford I would probably give it another go but I fear on this occasion I was a bit unlucky with the beer selection.

On 7th December 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Keystone

Housed in a funny little building it felt quite posh inside here, with a modern décor and furniture though it does perhaps lack a bit of character. Four ales available and a decent choice of Otter Bitter, Brains Young Rev, St Austell Tribute and one called Redhead from a brewer I forgot to note. Plenty of things to keep punters interested including darts and bar billiards (though beware the BB table swallowed our initial pound coin; though we got a replacement at the bar without hassle so presume this must be a semi-regular occurrence?). The decked rear patio looked nice but it was getting too dark and cold to sample. Quite big on food by the looks of it. One of Guildford's better outlets on this showing and I'd put it on top of the revisit list for next time.

On 8th October 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Keystone

Pub still looks the same 3 years on! On the plus side there are even more ales available - on the negative side the atmosphere is a little plain and the pub is pretty empty, but you wont find a queue here which is handy.

On 13th March 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Keystone

Looks (both inside and out) like a gastro-emporium, but thankfully the atmosphere feels more like a proper pub. With its modern decor and furniture, the split-level bar area is a bit more spacious than it first appears. There is also some patio seating along the frontage and a pleasant and reasonably secluded terrace to the rear. Friendly and efficient service, and good to see a traditional bar billiards table too. Four real ales on handpumps, offering the regular Altons Pride (£3.10) and 6X plus guests such as Summer Lightning and Hogs Back TEA. Overall, well worth seeking out.

On 13th August 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Keystone

This is a neat find on the Guildford pub trail. At least 2 or 3 ales on at most visits, including the likes of Black Sheep and 6X, plenty of sitting room which is surprising as it looks small from the outside.

On 20th June 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Keystone

Bitter&Twisted was good ystdy, but the studo bar'man' passed some snide remark when my friend sent back 2/3 pint of summat else which was cloudy. The mgr said we couldn't play darts coz he was about to set up for a band, then promptly put on his coat & went out! Tosser.

22 February 2008
Empty late afternoon and Daleside Legover not great.

20 February 2008
Quite modern feel & young vibe, but it does have a refurbed inglenook to the right of the bar, even if the adjacent sofa detracts from this nod to tradition. Beyond the bar to the left/rear is a tabled area which probably accommodates both dining and just drinking. Antipodean service was polite & friendly, the handpumps offered Black Sheep, 6X, and Wood's Quaff from Shropshire which was very nice. They advertise £20 deal Mon nt for 2 rump steaks + btl wine.

On 1st June 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]